We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and Gluten free options!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cavern

The Cavern
20 Mead street, Kalamunda, Western Australia 6076, Australia
08 9293 3337
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Kalamunda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Perth
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Gluten free options!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Not sure what others are saying about it being expensive maybe they need to get out more. Such a relaxed place with outside and in dining, decor just suits the atmosphere of the place, a little retro with a hint of thongs are ok :) service was excellent and the waiters attentive without being in your face. For those who are gluten intolerant there is a stand alone menu which is just great!!! From the first tapa to the last the food was awesome, tasty, fresh and so many flavours. We have found our tapas heaven in the hills see you soon.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

It is so good to have such good quality food and professional service so close to home!

We would eat here every night if we could afford it!

The gnocci on the winter menu is delicious and I have not been able to fault a single dish yet.

Drinks are a bit pricey though and thats the reason I only give 4 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food, ambiance, location were all winners!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a group of 6 people on Saturday night, 4 adults and 2 teens and it was a very pleasant experience for each of us. I wouldn't say it is suitable for young children though.
Each tapas plate is made with two people in mind, but many of the dishes were enough for a few of us to split to enable us to try a bit of pretty much everything between us. It's decoration is slightly eclectic which made us feel comfortable and the lighting was not bright which made it feel more intimate. The staff were lovely and were happy to give suggestions and explain the dishes. The dishes averaged about $10 each so it can add up, but were delicious.
We were full by the end of the night and had a birthday cake at home so we did not eat dessert, but are looking forward to trying it next time. We were all happy with the variety of choices and will visit this cosy little restaurant again. Worth a visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindarie, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fab little tapas bar, which surprised us with its trendy, happening atmosphere and fantastic food. Service was attentive and happy. Funky, dim lighting and cool music added to the night. We had the salmon salad, cheese balls and chilli mussels all were awesome! Definitely need to come back and sample more of the menu! Book ahead, as it was very busy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Been here a few times now and we really have enjoyed it each time. Great Tapas as we love sharing our food. The polenta is really really good! We ordered the madras chicken curry this time and had great flavour but between 3 of us we got 2 bits of chicken and a whole lot of chick peas and potato. The Italian Sausages were a large portion and tacos were great!!

Lowlight: lack of chicken in the curry and the toilets...they really don't have any.

Great decor...love it in fact. Highlight: Decor and polenta.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cavern also viewed

Kalamunda, Perth Hills
Kalamunda, Perth Hills
 
Pickering Brook, Perth Hills
Mundaring, Perth Hills
 

Been to The Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.