We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem in Kalamunda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cavern

The Cavern
20 Mead street, Kalamunda, Western Australia 6076, Australia
08 9293 3337
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Kalamunda
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Kalamunda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visited last Friday, for the second time within a month, this time with a group of 7. We had a great time. The staff were engaging and great fun. This is a busy, boisterous restaurant - being noisy, relaxed and unpretentious. It has good, robust food and the food service was prompt. The desserts are excellent, especially their take on the traditional Bread and Butter pudding! It is licensed and the wine list provides for. A range of tastes. Yet to try the cocktail menu, perhaps next visit.
We'll definitely visit again. Great to have an alternative eating place in Kalamunda

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    30
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful food, service was a little bland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great tapas style restaurant, the food was lovely but the staff were a little bland. We tried the homestyle mac and cheese, crispy polenta, truffle infused fries, italian sausage and a share platter. Although not authentic Spanish style tapas, the food was wonderful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good but not that good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Dined here recently and I'm sorry to say it doesn't rate a 5. The service was very good and the tapas dishes sampled were good but not outstanding. I thought the prices reasonable. For a mid-week night the atmosphere was quiet but that was fine by me.

Would I go again? Probably.

But why, oh why have they removed the chocolate moosse from the dessert menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Perfect Winter rendezvous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a lovely Tapas Bar/restaurant The Cavern is. It exudes a very relaxing social atmosphere. The food is wonderful and their is a long Bar to entice you as you enter. You can savour a tipple before being seated to an array of tapas Food. Kalamunda is a beautiful village in the hills of Perth. On a cold wintery night The Tapas is the best place to meet friends for a warm get-together.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“wow . . . . awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

As having grown up in the area and returning recently were recommended to visit the cavern, even for a drink....wow. I'm not going to drag this review down with chat. It's great, food is awesome and a top Perth dining experience that can mix it with the best. My only tip is ........ book.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cavern also viewed

Kalamunda, Perth Hills
Kalamunda, Perth Hills
 
Pickering Brook, Perth Hills
Kalamunda, Perth Hills
 

Been to The Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.