We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mantarays

Mantarays
Novotel Ningaloo Resort | Novotel Ningaloo Resort, Lot 900 Madaffari Dve, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
+61 8 9949 0003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 18 Restaurants in Exmouth
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The "award winning" claim made Mantarays an easy choice for us given we were staying at the hotel. We had to wait a short time for a table, but that was fine since we hadn't made a reservation.

I ordered the feta soufflé for entrée - tasted ok but was tiny - was expecting much more given that the price tag was the same as the soufflé at Bistro Moncur (a hatted restaurant in Sydney), disappointing. For main" the barramundi was fine. Was disappointed with the deserts, they only had three of the ten or so gelato/sorbets stated on the menu, and the waitress had no clue about the menu when I asked her to describe certain things.

The most disappointing aspect of the night was the service. There was a massive lack of attention and we had to call the waitresses over for everything we wanted - another drink, the desert menu, the bill... As far as we could tell, the only people the waitresses were giving any attention to were the two single male diners in the restaurant, apparently all attention was focused here, standing obviously close to these me and being flirtatious.

With average main price tag of $40, the meal was very expensive and they did not deliver a $150+ meal (including only one glass of wine).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced and underfed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Poor service and mains over priced. We ordered our drinks which did not arrive until after our entree's despite being asked if we were ok by another waitress, and saying we were still waiting for our drinks. Our original waiter noticed that our drinks were still not served when the entrees arrived. Cocktails did taste great when they arrived and the Oysters were very tasty and fresh (despite being from Tassie!). Kids meals arrived with the entrees and were of a good size. Mains 200 g steak with 4 small bolied garlic potatoes minus the Garlic! and One sprig of Broccolini, the Burre Blanc sauce was very tasty though. Overall a long wait for average meals at a very high price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welshman
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not family friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

4 adults 2 children under 3,we did not book but arrived at 6 15pm and asked for a table at the almost empty resturaunt.The young lad looked the the book and said he could just fit us in and showed us to a table in the shadows saying it was all he had.We ordered drinks and food at the same time,starters arrived 20 mins later,he then noticed that our drinks had not arrived,he looked around at the bar staff who were stood around talking at the bar,drinks arrived soon after with no apology.
Now the food
Starters fish chowder OK
Oysters good
Children portions large and ok better than the adults
Mains Steak ok with 3 small potatoes and 1 sprig of broccolini for 42 dollars ?????????.
Bouillabaisse poor.
All in all a poor meal for the cost go elsewhere
Have been to Novotels all over the world THIS WAS THE WORST.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manilla, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced and undedelivered overcooked and cold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Group of 6 plus a toddler. Kids menu was better than any of the adult meals tha t come out possibly with the exception of the garlic cob loaf which was good. We had 1 risotto 1 salmon 2 pork belly and 2 boullabaise. The risotto was awful the boullabaise had little to no soup was cold and seafood was tuff. The pork belly were both overcooked tuff and stringy. All mains were $40-$44. We looked at t he dessert menu and were informed that half the gelato on the menu was unavailable so we didn't order anything. With the dismal main courses and not any simple gelato of after dinner flavours available we thought it best to cut our losses. Very disappointing at the exorbitant prices for food. Staff seemed like they were on holidays there not working there. Overall couldn't recommend anything about this place. It cured us of ever contemplating staying there over our usual family holiday spot in exmouth.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Typical of restaurants with great location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This retaurant probably has the best location and building in Exmouth, and that's about it. The service was friendly but very slow. It took 2 hours for my wife and I to have a main course and a coffee. The food was only average and is relatively expensive (by any standard). In our case $40 and $48 for mains. We also had breakfast here. Probably the most expensive and worst breakfast I have had for a while, think all the usual hot food only cold and over cooked. We won't be eating there again unless we have no alternative.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mantarays also viewed

Exmouth, Western Australia
Exmouth, Western Australia
 
Exmouth, Western Australia
Exmouth, Western Australia
 

Been to Mantarays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantarays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.