We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place and will be back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Save
You added Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park to your Saves list
Lot 2 Yardie Creek Road, Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We love this place and will be back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We booked into the powered site for a tenting set up. As I had been here before and had stayed in a cabin I knew what to expect and was happy to pay the prices that were requested.
There are some dated showers in the place but the two unisex ensuite bathrooms are newer and nicer to use. Only there needs to be some kind of door or curtain on the shower as the water goes everywhere due to the absence of one. They were cleaned daily and I never found them to be in a mess. The camp kitchen was roomy and we were glad to have the use of a full sized fridge freezer as our esky wasn't too good. The Barbecue area behind our site was very clean and despite the fact that someone had stolen one of the hotplates the one that was left was clean and in good working order. I think being a rather slow time of year we were lucky in not having to line up for any of the amenities.
If you are tenting, bring a hammer to bash in your tent pegs, the ground is really hard.
We had campsite 10 and this was a perfect place for us as our tent could go under the 24 hour shade of a lovely big tree and we were between two lovely long term grey nomads who were chatty and ever so wonderful neighbours. The long termers were quick to find out who we were and are ever so social, inviting us to all their gatherings and parties and we loved their company and enjoyed joining in. As a childfree couple it was a wonderful place to stay as there were few families and many couples of all ages to socialise with. The resident dog is so cute and I enjoyed her visits every meal time hahaha. I only wish this was a pet friendly place as I feel that would draw many more people in and there is no reason for pets not to be here, it isn't a five star resort and there are already animals looming about. I hope the owners consider this as a future possibility.
We are still trying to sort out the matter of being charged for four days accommodation when there was a sign on the counter saying pay for 3 get the 4th free, but hopefully I will get a reply to that email soon :)
Thank you ever so much for a wonderful stay, we loved our site and hope to be back again soon. Hopefully we can stay longer next time. Going to sleep at night to the sound of the ocean is priceless in itself, I could feel all my tension knots relaxing. Cheaper than a visit to the chiro!
As with most camping ground experiences it is all about what you can make of it and we loved our holiday here. We have full intention on working towards one day being one of your 6 month a year residents. See you again in 2015. Tammy & Jayson.

Room Tip: Powered camp site 10 is great for tenting, it has shade most of the day and is close to the pool, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our park and your stay here.
You have certainly enjoyed your stay with us and taken in what the surrounding area has to offer.
Yes Delta (our Staffy) likes to visit everybody inn the park and I'm sure that she enjoys all the attention she receives
Our long termers are here for 3/6 months and some have been coming back for 30 years now and its great to get with them and have asocial drink in the afternoons.
Hope you get too that long term status when the time arrives and we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    25
    18
    18
See reviews for
38
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed in a cabin which was in need of a jolly good clean & refurb. The fridge was held together with duct tape. The overhead fans were filthy & kitchen cupboards & blind damaged & dirty.
If I thought the others would be any better I would have requested a move. Will not be back and will not recommend to anyone. The pic on the website was obviously not taken in the cabin we stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We are sorry that we did not provide you with an enjoyable stay and that you found our accommodation unsatisfactory.
Our housekeeping staff are very diligent in their duties and will be most concerned to read your comments when I have passed yours onto them.
Your review will be used to enable us to improve our services to our clientele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The "Bunglow" as they called it smelt, we first are vied it was full of flys. It's in need of a serious update. For the cost of this "Bunglow" it was very expensive. The gas bottle is well past the use by date. The air con smelt. No comfy chairs to sit in on the verandah. What the ??? Building noises early Sunday morning come on!! Update the bungalows and it would be better fill the pool put shade up again. No doubt the shade sail was damaged.

Room Tip: I'm sure the camp ground would be better. Don't use the air con musty moulds smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of us.
All our Bungalows except for two were built in 1999. Our two fisherman's Bungalow are the oldest and are 20 years old.
We do not perform construction work on weekends, so we are sorry if your Sunday morning was disturbed by your fellow campers.
The two swimming pools are full and utilized all year. The shade sails were taken down at the time due to Gale force wind warning for the Ningaloo coast and will go back up latter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

After booking this site a couple of months in advance I was really looking forward to my stay
The toilet facilities are very outdated,, and could do with an upgrade
My Camper trailer was situated opposite 2 sited that had 2 family groups,with so much camping equipment they had to park there 4WD in the road,i mentioned this to The park management on 2
occasions because it was difficult to park my car in the appropriate place next to my Trailer,both times I was told they would sort it,nothing changed,when I metioned it to the owner they said they would move but this didn't happen,the campers kitchen is too small ,1 sink and a basin plus 1 bbq and a gas plate,all I could see was backpackers coming in to the park and freeloading leaving it in a discgusting state again it was mentioned to the management and all they said was yeah freeloaders,now I paid to stay at this park and they were getting the facilities free (go figure)
also they made heaps of noise and quite honestly the staff at this caravan park didn't care
all in all I know it is near the fantastic Ningaloo reef and the many attractions but I think the management need to pull there socks up and sort the issues out and maybe as a suggestion enforce a possible 10pm noise rule
not a happy camper

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are sorry that you believe we have ignored your concerns regarding the noise complaint that you made to our office. We do take these matters seriously. The toilet block you refer to has had new tiles and showers installed in 2013.
Back packers are also paying to camp on the park and are utilizing the facilities, We don't believe they are all freeloading.
When camping and traveling large distances, campers do need to take a lot of gear with them, We apologize if you could not park where you wished to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this caravan park for a total of 4 nights in August 2013 at the end of a 7 month "around oz whirlwind".

We originally only booked for 2 nights in an unpowered camp site. When we reached our site, we saw one close by that we liked the look of better, so we approached the office and asked to swap. Even thought they already had somebody on there for the night, they still swapped us around with no worries. When we decided to extend our stay, they once again moved things around to make this happen for us. The customer service in this circumstance was terrific.

It was extremely crowded in the caravan park with not many sites available, but being August and one of their busiest times (especially for grey nomads) this did not surprise us and we were quite pleased to be away from most people in the non-powered section, despite the long walk to the bathrooms!

The amenities were a little on the unclean side, but once again, the park was extremely crowded so there is not much you can do about that. I would just try and get in there early for my shower to beat the crowds!

The location of the caravan park is terrific. Whilst it is not right in town near the restaurants etc, it is right on the lighthouse which offers awesome views over the ocean and many an opportunity to spot whales. It is also right next to the Ningaloo Reef where we did our whale shark dive and cruise which is hands down the best thing I have ever done.

Overall (whilst I am not a fan of crowds), the caravan park catered very well for its capacity and we had a really memorable time. Wouldn't hesitate to go back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place a review of your stay with us.

Thank you for pointing out how helpful and friendly our staff are with making your stay with us enjoyable and accommodating your needs. We do try to please everybody ,unfortunately this does not always occur, giving us room to improve.
It is disappointing to hear than your amenities were not always up to standard, they are cleaned daily and checked regularly during the day. We will endeavor to place a greater focus in this area during our busy times.
Once again thank you and may you return to this beautiful place in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We camped here for 4 nights over the Easter/Anzac holiday break. The camping ground was absolutely packed, but the facilities coped well and the staff are very friendly. The toilets and showers could have been cleaner but I guess they were seriously under the pump during this period. Good bang for buck. If you are doing the whale shark tour you can get picked up at the gate, but you will need to organise yourself so that you go into Exmouth the day before to get fitted and pay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean View camp sites. The trees are too big to offer such views, but it is a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you, we appreciate your review of us.
Easter is our second busiest time of the year and it can get crowed with so many people visiting the World Heritage listed coast line and the Ningaloo reef.
Sorry about the trees blocking your view of the ocean but no trees no shade.

Yes the whale shark tours pick up and drop off right at our office door. I'm sorry you thought that you needed to go to town to pay for your tour as our tour office can conduct all you tour bookings on site, including payment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We booked a site for the April School holidays and were so disappointed with the whole caravan park if there were sites available in another caravan park we would have moved. But then we wouldn't have been able to get a refund! The other reviews sum up everything about this park! Our site was opposite the main ablution block so with that came the sewerage smells at all hours and the staff unblocking the drains. The bins all lined up full to overflowing and instead of emptying them a staff member would jump in the bins. This did not fix the awful smell. Camp kitchen if you could call it that in this day and age was poor. Blocked toilets, overflowing urinal and leaking showers. No play equipment for kids. We weren't going to let this park spoil our holiday as Exmouth is fantastic so we spent all day away from the park. The owners need to spend some of the millions of tourist dollars they make and do a total overhaul of this park. We will not be recommending this park to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We are very disappointed to find you did not enjoy your stay with us.
It is a real shame that you did not bring your concerns to us as we would have made every opportunity to to rectify these issues for you.
Our maintenance log does not have any of the blockages and smell problems you mention.
If you had only bought theses concerns to us at the time they happened, we would have gladly returned your money as it is not our aim to have an unhappy customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park

Address: Lot 2 Yardie Creek Road, Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a 15 minute drive from the town of Exmouth on the tip of the North West Cape, nestled at the base of Vlaming Head Lighthouse. Protected by the Cape Range and just a stones throw from the world renowned Ningaloo Marine Park. Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park is close to surf beach, boat launching facilities on the West Coast and our magnificent Cape Range National Park. You will truly feel the peace and tranquility of an outback, costal experiences whilst enjoying your stay with us. During your stay in Exmouth you can discover first hand the migration of the playful humpback whales, maybe have a snorkel with the majestic whale shark, witness nesting turtles along our shores, dive the deep blue depths of the world famous 'Navy Pier' or just take in a bit of fun filled sightseeing at the Cape Range National Park. We offer basic 'three star' accommodation to suit most budgets. From the 'Lookout Chalets to a Cabin' we can accommodate your needs. We have accommodation for everyones needs, some with wheel chair facilitates. Our Lookout are our most sort after accommodation types, nestled into the side of Cape Range, offering and ocean view. We have sites to accommodate all size caravans, tents, camper trailers, buses and fifth wheelers. Most sites are with concrete slabs. Due to our limited water supply we can not provide grass sites, however there are plenty of shady sites covered with crushed fines. Please come prepared with water as the water we offer is bore water and is around 3000 million parts salt. We have water tanks onsite for drinking and cooking with fresh water. The town centre of Exmouth offers water tank filling up facilities with the local scheme water. The friendly staff at the local tourist information centre can provide you with more details. We will endeavour to do our best to find the perfect spot for you to enjoy your stay with us. Facilities on the park include a swimming pool, toddler pool, tennis court, seasonal cafe, tackle store, fish cleaning facility, snorkel hire and sales, campers kitchens, laundries, fuel and gas barbecue areas for all our guests. Our small shop offers ice-creams, cool drinks, ice, bait, bread, milk and some basic necessities. We hope to see you here soon! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.