We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Save
You added Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park to your Saves list
Lot 2 Yardie Creek Road, Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cockroaches”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Overpriced bungalow with cockroaches, spiders and other pests.
Desalinated water for drinking and washing.
Extremely dirty bungalow, was not cleaned for last couple of weeks/months.
Checking in was awful.
Price (135 AUD) for 1 night was really too much for this 'bungalow'.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    25
    18
    18
See reviews for
38
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here for about a week in mid-September 2012. It was the perfect temperature and was not too windy, despite the location.

The facilities are really nice -- not at all run down in our impression. And the mix of people we met was really cool. People from all over the world and all over Australia. Even though water is a problem, the two large tanks on our side of the camp always had more than enough fresh water. There are plenty of showers and bathroom so there is never a line. Oh and the swimming pool was a BIG hit with the kids. nice enough to go into even if the ocean water was still a bit too cool without a wetsuit.

And then there is the location, which is awesome. You are outside of town far enough so the ambient light is low. We saw zillions of stars and even quite a few shooting stars.

And then cross the road and there is your own semi-private beach, perfect for walks or exploring. The fossilized coral is fascinating. Sunsets are beautiful.

There is also a good amount of wildlife to see -- an Emu mother and two babies wandered through the campsite. Kangaroos are nearby. And there are some nice bird species to spot.

One negative is that the enticing shell gallery is only open at high season. They should honestly find someone to staff it, but I hear that Exmouth is really short of people for jobs. If you're unemployed and looking for work, give Exmouth a try. :-)

Room Tip: We preferred the left side of the campground, as you entered it. Just seemed like a nicer crowd and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onslow, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Caravan park was nice, amenities regularly cleaned. Decent equipped camp kitchen. Didn't enjoy the desalinated water for drinking and washing but that is something that cannot be helped due to location. Just take bottled water! Pool was nice and clean. Person who checked us in certainly could have been friendlier but all the other staff were nice and helpful. I would go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have only camped here and didnt have any problems with the staff. They are busy but always seemed to have a smile and be helpful.

The sites are good, only thing is make sure you dont end up at the back in teh camping only (not suitable for caravan) sites as theya re very small and the same cost as other powered sites. Found ablution block and bbqs clean but only used early in morning and late at night, rest of the day spent at the beach.

Room Tip: If its the cooler months much easier to camp and save some money than a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great location if you're heading out to the National Park & nearby beaches everyday, but you'll just have to turn a blind eye to the total disregard that the owners/management seem to have for their Park. No effort or upkeep seem to have been made - no love at all. These (lack of) standards seem to filter back to the offenders themselves, with the (owners?) reception staff that are downright rude and seem to want to be anywhere but in that office. We tried our best to keep our distance from reception and only went out of sheer necessity. A real shame...it could be so much better.

Room Tip: We were camping....try to get a site closest to the beach and under some trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Second time we've stayed at this park and will be the last time. Seriously needs a massive upgrade!! The ablutions are never clean although I Do see backpackers cleaning them, they are never cleaned properly! This park is poorly maintained, over priced and just unwelcoming!!! Shame shame, the Ningaloo reef has so much to offer and the park is in a great location but would be nice to have somewhere nice to camp whilst being there.
Pick up your act and clean the place up, some $$'s need to be spent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The location close to the lighthouse, the beach and the Nationalpark is quit nice, but the caravanpark itself is in a poor condition and under poor management.
The cabins are old and dirty and very poor fitted. It was a tough fight to keep the ants away from our food. Barbecue and cooking are very old and rusty.
The management is not very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park

Address: Lot 2 Yardie Creek Road, Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a 15 minute drive from the town of Exmouth on the tip of the North West Cape, nestled at the base of Vlaming Head Lighthouse. Protected by the Cape Range and just a stones throw from the world renowned Ningaloo Marine Park. Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park is close to surf beach, boat launching facilities on the West Coast and our magnificent Cape Range National Park. You will truly feel the peace and tranquility of an outback, costal experiences whilst enjoying your stay with us. During your stay in Exmouth you can discover first hand the migration of the playful humpback whales, maybe have a snorkel with the majestic whale shark, witness nesting turtles along our shores, dive the deep blue depths of the world famous 'Navy Pier' or just take in a bit of fun filled sightseeing at the Cape Range National Park. We offer basic 'three star' accommodation to suit most budgets. From the 'Lookout Chalets to a Cabin' we can accommodate your needs. We have accommodation for everyones needs, some with wheel chair facilitates. Our Lookout are our most sort after accommodation types, nestled into the side of Cape Range, offering and ocean view. We have sites to accommodate all size caravans, tents, camper trailers, buses and fifth wheelers. Most sites are with concrete slabs. Due to our limited water supply we can not provide grass sites, however there are plenty of shady sites covered with crushed fines. Please come prepared with water as the water we offer is bore water and is around 3000 million parts salt. We have water tanks onsite for drinking and cooking with fresh water. The town centre of Exmouth offers water tank filling up facilities with the local scheme water. The friendly staff at the local tourist information centre can provide you with more details. We will endeavour to do our best to find the perfect spot for you to enjoy your stay with us. Facilities on the park include a swimming pool, toddler pool, tennis court, seasonal cafe, tackle store, fish cleaning facility, snorkel hire and sales, campers kitchens, laundries, fuel and gas barbecue areas for all our guests. Our small shop offers ice-creams, cool drinks, ice, bait, bread, milk and some basic necessities. We hope to see you here soon! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.