We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectations.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Save
You added Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park to your Saves list
Lot 2 Yardie Creek Road, Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

This site was hyped up by lonely planet which created an expectation reality gap for us that caused disappointment. We were camping so I can't speak for the cabins however let's just say I was glad I was camping. There are 4-5 cabins perched on a hill which will have good views but we weren't close to those. The beach, surfers beach, was annoying as it is rocky. Not good for swimming or surfing got that matter. Got back to the site up find the pool had closed at 6. The BBQ area (one for a potential 170 sites) was filthy and smelly. The kitchen pokey with cobwebs. I would recommend either camping in cape range national park or camping in exmouth. This place needs new management.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Front Office Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
Sorry about the beaches not being to your liking but we are in the vicinity of both great swimming beaches, surf beaches and boat launches, you can normally find something close by - we even point you in the right direction when asked.

The BBQ areas/ kitchen are cleaned daily in the morning so if it was filthy as you say it was the culprit was probably a fellow camper. We do expect user to clean it down when finished, however this does not always happen. By the way we do have other BBQ areas but in summer we only have a small section of the park open as we only have a few campers each night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    25
    18
    18
See reviews for
38
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Our orginal booking was for a 3 day stay. However upon arrival it was more than obvious to all members of our group that this would have to be changed. After a long trip up from Monkey Mia, with a quick stop at Coral Bay for a swim, we unfortuanltey had not choice but to stay at least one night, due to the fact that we arrived so late in the day.
We were bitterly dissapointed by the presentation of the caravan park itself, and then our dissapoint was compounded once we viewed our accomodation. The accommodation and the park itself was very sparce. It did not so much resemble a caravan park but a work camp. Concrete and dirt everywhere. No lawn or plants at all. Just nothing. Defenately not family friendly. The only work that really covers it is BLAND.
We slept on our dissapointment hoping that things would be better in the morning. But as the new day dawned, it was apparent that we would have to leave due to the poor conditions and the lack of facilities.
We would not reccommend this caravan park to anyone. We packed up and left for Coral Bay.
On passing our comments onto the staff, they seemed oblivous to the fact that there is anything wrong with their park. And of course we didnt even bother to ask for a refund, knowing that we would probabaly not get one.
We also feel that this caravan park is too far from town. Not that Exmouth itself has much to offer. But at least we would have been near something. Not stuck at the end of the earth with nothing to look at or do.
Avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Front Office Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
After reading your post - I am left wondering if you researched your stay to Exmouth at all - I quote 'stuck at the end of the earth with nothing to look at or do' and 'Not that Exmouth itself has much to offer' the National park is part of Exmouths main attraction with snorkeling, fishing, nesting turtles, Yardie Creek, Turquoise Bay, Shothole Canyon and Charles Knife Gorge to exlpore to name but a few things - there is heaps to do. We have limited lawn due to our water supply but there are plenty of trees and shade around still but you are entitled to your opinion. Hope you enjoyed Coral Bay more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

My husband, father-in-law (who came to Australia from Denmark) booked two nights accommodation at the Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park. On the day of our booking Cyclone Bianca was heading directly towards Exmouth and was currently on a category 'yellow' warning, which means evacuate. As we had not heard from the caravan park managers and could not contact them via phone or email we took the risk and drove from Coral Bay to Exmouth (around 150+ kms!!). On arrival Exmouth was a ghost town as most people had evacuated the area (very smart!) but we continued North to the caravan park to see what was going on. It was VERY windy and the park managers had shut down the caravan park and informed us that the cyclone warning was expected to go to ‘red’ within the next few hours and that we should either head to the Shire for shelter or evacuate the area ASAP, so we turned around and drove all the way back to Coral Bay (a very apprehensive trip!). Obviously we couldn’t stay at the Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, so we asked for a full refund, so that we could book elsewhere in a safer location, however the managers have refused to refund ANY of our money, despite the fact that they were unable to deliver the service we’ve paid for. I can understand that caravan parks do not refund payments when people simply don’t turn up or change their minds, but in this circumstance I think that it is TOTALLY UNREASONABLE to keep our money…. Please whatever you do, don’t book in here, because if ANYTHING goes wrong you’re going to lose your money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We stayed in one of the lookout chalets for 3 nights with 2 small children. Loved the outdoor balcony with the ocean view (kids played out there a lot), there's even a bbq. Great sitting out there at dusk drinking wine and enjoying the view, plus the wildlife that would come out.
It's 20 minutes closer to the national park than anywhere else in exmouth so you can get a headstart to the bays. The beach opposite the caravan park isn't much good to swim in though.
Inside the chalets are pretty basic - self-contained kitchen well stocked, bathroom/bedrooms had seen better days, bed/pillows not particularly comfortable.
The staff seemed pleasant but we didn't have much contact with them.
We were staying mainly for the view which was one of the best we had in WA.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had hoped to stay in the public campgrounds on the beach. But in June, these fill up by 5 am. So, I booked a spot at the Caravan Park in case we could not get in to one of the public campgrounds. We never were able to secure a spot - so I was very glad I had reserved a spot in the Caravan Park. I booked 6 months in advance. Our reservation was all in order when we arrived. The Caravan Park was totally booked. As a result it was a bit crowded. The facilities were very clean. Our fellow campers were very quiet. The location was great for surf fishing and exploring the Ningaloo Marine Park.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We arrived here for a week excited to be in Exmouth and when I saw the bungalow accomodation that we had to stay in for a week I burst into tears. There are no redeeming features in it whatsoever- it resembles shearers quarters- rusty bedframes, stained sagging matresses, TV perched high on a wall, 3/4 walls so no privacy, horrible kitchen, disgusting bathroom- with a great many cobwebs!!, plain white walls whose only decoration was squashed flies or signs telling you not to put yoru feet on the wall!

It was very dark too with no lighting at night and dangerous to walk to the toilets.

This was the only campsite that I have been on that has no childrens payground or facilties at all- there was a lovely playground but that was behind the owners fence!

The pillows were the pits, flat and stained and one per person, crockery was basic, there was no space to move around, dead flies and spiders littered every corner. In summary there was not one part of this accomodation that had the slightest bit of interest in making the clients stay a comfortable one- there was not even a comfortable seat- only hard kitchen ones.

We upgraded to the look out chalets for 2 nights these were slighly better in that there was a television you could watch and 2 airchairs but still suffered the same pillows and same are of total lack of consideration for the customer.

Can think of nothing to recommend this horrible place, the owners did not acknowledge my distress at the accomodation and there are signs everywhere telling you no refunds! My advice would be to the owners to actually sleep in their accomodation (if they can!) for a night and plan huge upgrades.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

This facility is in a good location for going into Cape Range National Park and the whale shark tour companies will stop here to pick you up for your snorkel trips. I stayed in one of the Lighthouse Chalet but the chalet left a lot to be desired. It was dark and dreary - made of brick, with hardly any windows, and certainly no ability to take advantage of the cross-breeze that exists in the evenings. The a/c had a hard time putting out sufficient cooling for the chalet, the windows hadn't been cleaned in ages, and were stacked with dead moths (although it was cute to watch the crows eating them), and the hosts were completely indifferent to me as a guest anytime I went to the front desk for anything. The place does not offer much in the way of food, so definitely be prepared to bring everything that you need. When they say they're going to open in the morning, if you plan to have a cup of coffee there, have a backup plan - they do not open when promised, at least in my experience. For all of the land, there are no real trails to speak of and the chalets certainly do NOT allow you to, as advertised, "kick back around the outdoor setting and check out the views over the sand dunes into the bay". Overall, for the price, I was really disappointed. The only saving grace was to stand at the back of my chalet and catch a glimpse of a roo from time to time, or the emus walking around the lower area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park

Address: Lot 2 Yardie Creek Road, Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a 15 minute drive from the town of Exmouth on the tip of the North West Cape, nestled at the base of Vlaming Head Lighthouse. Protected by the Cape Range and just a stones throw from the world renowned Ningaloo Marine Park. Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park is close to surf beach, boat launching facilities on the West Coast and our magnificent Cape Range National Park. You will truly feel the peace and tranquility of an outback, costal experiences whilst enjoying your stay with us. During your stay in Exmouth you can discover first hand the migration of the playful humpback whales, maybe have a snorkel with the majestic whale shark, witness nesting turtles along our shores, dive the deep blue depths of the world famous 'Navy Pier' or just take in a bit of fun filled sightseeing at the Cape Range National Park. We offer basic 'three star' accommodation to suit most budgets. From the 'Lookout Chalets to a Cabin' we can accommodate your needs. We have accommodation for everyones needs, some with wheel chair facilitates. Our Lookout are our most sort after accommodation types, nestled into the side of Cape Range, offering and ocean view. We have sites to accommodate all size caravans, tents, camper trailers, buses and fifth wheelers. Most sites are with concrete slabs. Due to our limited water supply we can not provide grass sites, however there are plenty of shady sites covered with crushed fines. Please come prepared with water as the water we offer is bore water and is around 3000 million parts salt. We have water tanks onsite for drinking and cooking with fresh water. The town centre of Exmouth offers water tank filling up facilities with the local scheme water. The friendly staff at the local tourist information centre can provide you with more details. We will endeavour to do our best to find the perfect spot for you to enjoy your stay with us. Facilities on the park include a swimming pool, toddler pool, tennis court, seasonal cafe, tackle store, fish cleaning facility, snorkel hire and sales, campers kitchens, laundries, fuel and gas barbecue areas for all our guests. Our small shop offers ice-creams, cool drinks, ice, bait, bread, milk and some basic necessities. We hope to see you here soon! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.