We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning and well equipped” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meelup Beach

Meelup Beach
Meelup Beach Road, Dunsborough, Western Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Western Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Stunning and well equipped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A funny thing to say about a country beach but yes, it is well equipped with modern facilities and very good looking bathrooms and tables, well looked-after grass. Amazing blue water, breathtaking views. There are a few awesome beaches on the way from Cape Naturaliste to Dunsborough and Meelup is one of them - definitely worth making an effort walking!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    23
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dunsborough - lovely beach holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent a week in Dunsborough. We stayed in 'Old Dunsborough' walking distance to the beach and town. We rented a small unit and drove to a different beach everyday. The Meelup beach and Eagle Bay are stunning beaches and a safe beach for young families. Smith beach is an awesome surf beach but only for good swimmers. Dunsborough town has supermarkets, restaurants and plenty of cafes. A great little cafe is called Samudra ( it is also a yoga centre and Eco clothing store) .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“beautiful as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

even though we visit here every year, the stunning scenery and feel of this place makes it worth returning. eating dinner at sunset we counted at least 5 species of birds within 10 minutes of sitting down.we wished we'd bought our bathers as the sun set behind the trees turning the water mauve. then we said goodbye until next Easter

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic beach, beautiful clear water, safe for kids and not overcrowed. We went on the recommendation of a friend and were really glad we did. Have been to many WA beaches over the last 2 years here and this one is one of my top 2

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A truly great WA beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Meelup typifies everything you expect of a top-class beach in WA. A perfect bay that makes for very calm water and safe, sheltered, swimming. Especially good for children. The grass sloping down to the beach is shaded by beautiful big trees, and there are excellent BBQ facilities and tables and seats for enjoying a good meal out. It is usually fairly quiet during the week, but can get busy and crowded at weekends and, especially, on long weekends. Sometimes Castle Rock - next door - can be a lot quieter. Both have plenty of parking.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meelup Beach also viewed

Dunsborough, Western Australia
Dunsborough, Western Australia
 
Dunsborough, Western Australia
Dunsborough, Western Australia
 

Been to Meelup Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meelup Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.