We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer's Winery

Palmer's Winery
1271 Caves Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia, Australia
+61 8 9756 7034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Dunsborough
Price range: $10 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Restaurant now open Thurs - Monday Morning tea 10.30Am and Lunch from 12pm, Dinner Friday and Saturday nights from 6pm. Come and experience our Gold medal winning wines and delicious food whilst enjoying our beautiful restaurant and winery surroundings.BYO Beer. Bookings essential. We cater for all functions including weddings, birthdays or corporate. Contact us for a quote. Palmer Cellar Door Open 7 days
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Have been to Palmers on a few occasions and it gets better and better. The food is always interesting and perfectly excecuted Service was a bit slow to start, with trying to get a glass refill but apart from that the rest of the lunch was great

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of Palmer Wines, we are glad you enjoyed your experience at Palmer Wines and we look forward to having you return again. Regards All at Palmer Wines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    32
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Injidup
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Service let it down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We like to take visitors to Palmers and we're quite embaressed by the service on this occasion. The wait staff were friendly however they were reaching across us with food causing us to have to pull back in our seats when there was no need to, they should of and could of easily moved around us.
Normally you cannot fault the service.

Also unfortunately the Squid on this occasion was over powered by chilli, we could not eat it.

Thankfully our visitors enjoyed their meal and the wine was delicious. We will still be back :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding at Palmers - Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had our daughters wedding here in March 2014. Absolutely outstanding food, wine, service and a beautiful setting for the evening. Every detail was seen to be Head Chef Coby and his attention to detail was amazing. Everyone commented on how fantastic the food was and that's amazing coming from Italians who love their food!!! We had the band outside on the grassed area as a dance floor and it worked a treat. Anyone thinking of having their wedding here - do it - you wont regret it. Thankyou Coby and his amazing staff you were all brilliant!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We are so glad your daughters wedding was a success at Palmer Wines. I will pass your comments onto Head Chef Coby and the Team in the Restaurant. Thank you again for your review. Regards Palmer Winery Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Second time at Palmers, beautiful place! Tasting plate was amazing and full of flavour, the main course were nice but nothing spectacular, hubby had the signature duck which he enjoyed but didn’t rave over, I had the eye fillet which was nice but again nothing spectacular. The desert however was amazing, it sounded good on the menu “coconut bavarois (which is a bit like a panna cotta but softer and more cream like but still set) with chocolate cherry liquer and toasted coconut” … when it arrived it was even better than we imagined, it was absolutely delicious.
The wine here is also really good and very well priced, our bottle of Shiraz was lovely at $30 in the restaurant and only $25 at the cellar door.
Will we be returning to Palmers…. absolutely!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We appreciate your review of Palmers Wines, we are glad your dining experience is one you will remember and we look forward to having you back again. Kind Regards Team at Palmer Wines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Went on a recommendation!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

High expectations! Waited 30 minutes for drinks, the gentleman was trying very hard to keep every thing on an even keel! The Asian taste plate was confusing, too many flavours trying to compete!
My main the Lamb, was divine! However the pasta was very nondescript! We won't comment on the steak!
Value for money was not there with the food, however have to comment on the surrounds, they are spectacular! A few changes would entice me to take others back, not at the present time, as we had an international visitor with us!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer W, Front Office Manager at Palmer's Winery, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we will pass onto our Head Chef. Its unfortunate your experience was not what others experience at Palmers, we hope you will come back again. Regards Palmer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmer's Winery also viewed

Dunsborough, Western Australia
Dunsborough, Western Australia
 
Dunsborough, Western Australia
Dunsborough, Western Australia
 

Been to Palmer's Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer's Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.