We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halcyon. bay house No20” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halcyon Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunsborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halcyon Bay
Save
You added Halcyon Bay to your Saves list
89-93 Gifford Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Halcyon. bay house No20”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

It was perfect. Everything you needed was in the house. Great relaxing holiday. Terry and Angela who manage the property were very nice and went out of their way to make your stay perfect. Only a minute walk out to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thanks for your review and very kind words. House 20 is really well positioned especially for children - being next to the grassed area and close to the beach. It is also well presented and contains all you'll need for a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Two families (4 adults and 2 toddlers total) shared House #23 accommodation in early December for 4 nights. Our first impression was the house was HUGE and stunning. We felt immediate value for money. Clean, spacious, close to the beach and town shops, plenty of parking for 2 cars, comfortable beds, open kitchen and dining plan which made it feel like a party every day. I could go on! There is a reason why Halcyon Bay receives top TripAdvisor recommendations... it's exactly what a family needs to enjoy a beach and wine getaway in Margaret River!

Room Tip: My only suggestion if you are booking Halcyon Bay with small children is to look at one of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thanks for sharing your great review on TripAdvisor. House 23 really is a lovely contemporary house for small families yet lacks nothing in size. Just a 2 min walk to the water's edge and no roads to cross makes it ideal for children and adults alike. We look forward to hosting you in Dunsborough again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Halcyon Bay Resort is the perfect family Christmas destination in Dunsborough. Hosts Terry and Angela are lovely and were kind enough to put away our Xmas grocery shopping we had delivered from Coles the night before we arrived and were very hospitable. Only 200m from the beach and the azure waters of Geographe Bay. Free wi-if was fantastic to keep the kids happy. Everything provided in each holiday house (we took up 3 with family over from the UK.) A short drive to the town centre which stocked everything we needed. All in all a fantastic holiday spot and highly recommended!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review Bonnie-Jean. As you say, it's a great location and ideal for family reunions with multiple houses in this great location. We're happy you enjoyed the hospitality and will welcome you back if you ever get the whole family together again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River Region, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Halcyon Bay in the Classic house was wonderful! The house had everything one could need to make it a home away from home with a touch of luxury. The location was wonderful. Right on the beach and a short stroll to town. The hosts were very accomodating and allowed my sister and her partner to check in early free of charge. We were also offered late check out (12pm) for no extra charge. It is these small things that sets Halcyon Bay apart from other short stay rentals in Dunsborough. We will come again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks for your great review of House 21 - the Classic. All of our owners take particular care to equip their houses well and anticipate guests needs. As you mention, Halcyon Bay is a great location with easy uninterrupted access to the beach and close proximity to town. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

the house was perfect for a getaway down south. great rooms and close to everything.
the owners were very helpful providing maps of dunsborough, yallingup and margaret river and provided plenty of tips of good wineries and other places to visit. Perfect home and perfect location! highly recommend staying at Halcyon Bay. Tim Sutherland.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review and kind words Tim. We are always genuinely pleased when guests enjoy their stay with us. It is also great when guests enjoy all the things the region and the town of Dunsborough have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the beautiful Halcyon Bay last month. The house was the perfect location for us, and very comfortably slept our group of 10. The house is located right on the beach front in Dunsborough (a mere 10 metres from the backyard) and amazingly close to the Dunsborough town centre-10 minute walk! Our group was down south for a wedding in Margaret River. The two bathrooms are quite large and so were great for us to all shower and doll up. The taxi service down south also really looked after us- we booked a taxi to and from Wedding, and on the return trip the taxi company organized a bus to bring all the guests back to Dunsborough. A maxi taxi to Brookland Valley was only $90, so between our group worked out to be $9 a person! The house was in immaculate condition, and made for a beautiful weekend. We finished the weekend off with a barbeque followed by Margaret River wine and nibbles on the balcony while the sun set on the beach right in front of us! We cant wait to stay again on our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for your great review Vanessa. We are really pleased your group enjoyed their stay with us. It sure is amazing how you are able to relax so quickly once you arrive at Halcyon Bay. The owners of house12 take special care to ensure that the guests experience is a great one and the house includes all the features and equipment that they appreciate when they are here. It is also good that local businesses provide such good service as the taxis and restaurants - not to mention all the wineries just a short distance from your doorstep. We look forward to seeing you again next time you can tear yourselves away from the rat race.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have stayed at halcyon bay multiple times and are always impressed with the service, location and affordability. The houses are clean, spacious and well set up with all the amenities you will need. The complex managers Angela and Terry are welcoming, friendly and always happy to help you out. They do a great job in maintaining the complex and ensure all customers are have a great time. Halcyon bay is right on the beach and just a short 15min walk into town. We will continue to come back and enjoy our stays at halcyon bay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry L, Manager at Halcyon Bay, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for the great review and kind words. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay in House 19 "The Spice House" and that your friends enjoyed all the delights offered in the region. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halcyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Bay

Address: 89-93 Gifford Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon Bay is a luxury holiday village comprising 15 self-contained contemporary 3,4,5 & 6 bedroom houses, ideal for families, wedding guests and girls/guys weekends away.Set in the heart of the Margaret River wine region Halcyon Bay is close to everything this world class area has to offer. Situated on a safe family beach at Dunsborough you are minutes away from the town centre and a short stroll to the Meelup National Park. There are Over 80 wineries, chocolate factories, breweries, surf beaches and family activities within minutes by car. In spite of all the activities available close by, Halcyon Bay provides a peaceful sanctuary in the luxury holiday home of your choice. Halcyon Bay now also offers FREE WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halcyon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.