We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newberry Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Newberry Manor to your Saves list
Newberry Manor
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 Newberry Road, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Dunsborough B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great weekend in Dunsborough. Huge room, Port, chocolates and friendly service. Sally was welcoming and wonderful. The pool was just put in, looks fantastic! Will be back as soon as we get the chance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Newberry Manor, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Melissa and Aaron, great to meet you guys and fantastic you had such a great weekend! Look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Sally and Serge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
139
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very pleasant stay, I wish it could have been longer as we didnt have enough time to dip in the new pool.. It is incredibly comfortable with enough privacy. Breakfast was delicious and at our preferred time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Newberry Manor, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Julie, well that's one of the loveliest things anyone's called us - thank you for your lovely review! Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Sally and Serge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Finally, a B&B in Australia worth giving a 5 star rating.

It's impossible to fault, and so many positives:
- the wonderfully personalised service and treatment from Sally and Serge. They both make you feel special, and valued.
- an excellent central location for both Dunsborough and the wine region of Margaret River.
- they have bikes and canoes for hire, plus excellent local knowledge to help you in your stay.
- the bedrooms and bed are huge, appointed with all the luxuries of a hotel (and more). The shower and toilets were equally as large, and high quality amenities within.
- breakfast was incredible. Order what and as much as you like off a generous menu list. Quality was outstanding.
- The pool and gardens were inviting, clean and stylish. The new plants going in at the time of our stay only add to this. The new pizza oven will be a highlight once commissioned.

This is a value for money, high quality, high service B & B. You won't be disappointed for one night, or many. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBM2012, Owner at Newberry Manor, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Scott and Sophie!
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write those kind words about our little B&B. It means a lot to us. Stay happy and we shall look forward to seeing you again for more laughs over breaky.
Keep in touch! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Warm welcome, comfortable and spacious room and bathroom, quiet but with easy access to facilities. Thoughtful additions provided to enhance the experience, including books to read and interesting and current magazines. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Newberry Manor, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We adore books and it's always great to share a good read! Thanks for your lovely review - hope to see you again really soon.
Sally and Serge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had an amazing stay at Newberry Manor. The only downfall was that we couldn't stay longer. Next time we will definitely stay for longer than one night. Nothing was too much trouble for Serg and breakfast was amazing. Serg's local knowledge was fantastic and giving us the best advice to help us squeeze in as much as possible in a weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Newberry Manor, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and really glad to hear you had such a great time. Look forward to seeing you again when you have time for a longer break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was our "babymoon" so we wanted a littel luxuary.. and thats what we got! we booked the upstairs Orchid room which came with a balcony overy looking beatifully manicured gardens. the room was amazing! large spaciouse and lux! the spa was amazing! my husband being 6ft4" could fit in there easily! the fresh flowers in the room along with all little bits and pieces that you dont usually get in a room (torches, sewing kit makeup remover etc..) were great! the mini bar was well stocked and we made good use of all the sweeties and snacks. unfortunatly not the wine though due to being pregant but im sure they would have been lovely! breakfast on both days were great! banana smoothies, english breakfasts, crepes.. so much to choose from and all were yummy!

Serge and Sally are wonderful hosts! with plenty of local knowledge about the town and surrounding attractions! couldnt really ask for more! i wish we had stayed longer so we could enjoy the pool (although this was still in its final stages of completion but looks like a great place to unwind! i also spied a pizza stove.. you need more time that a weekend to enjoy everything!)

We would stay here again without a doubt! maybe out next get away when grandma is looking after the baby =)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBM2012, Owner at Newberry Manor, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
So wonderful to read your kind words. Many thanks indeed! We hope that baby will be the most wonderful of blessings. Sally and I are looking forward to seeing you again. The pool has seen a fair bit of action of late and the plants are in! All set for cocktails and relaxing times!
Keep in touch. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

A lovely small hotel / guest house. I had a Huge bedroom and great bathroom with both shower and a spa bath. There's a good selection of teas in the room. Add to this free chockies & port in the lounge. All finished off with a good quality & substantial breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Newberry Manor, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
We're really happy to hear you enjoyed our place so much - hope to see you again, perhaps staying for pleasure rather than business next time! Serge and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newberry Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newberry Manor

Address: 16 Newberry Road, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newberry Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sally and Serge Le Goueff welcome you to Lanterns Retreat formerly Newberry Manor. After three years of renovations Newberry Manor was renamed Lanterns Retreat to reflect the changes that took place during this time. However our little B&B will continue to operate under the Newberry manor banner until the transition to our new name is complete. This purpose-built luxury retreat is located in the South West of WA. Built in the year 2000, Lanterns Retreat combines old world charm of yester-year with every luxurious modern convenience. Located within easy walking distance of both beautiful Dunns beach and Dunsborough town centre, Lanterns Retreat offers the opportunity to unwind and relax among beautiful surroundings.Enjoy being pampered in one of Lanterns Retreat's romantic spa suites, each with private facilities, huge king size beds and the comfort of individual air conditioning. Lanterns Retreat is the ideal haven for those special romantic occasions such as honeymoons or anniversaries.Each spa suite has a verandah overlooking our tranquil cottage gardens and the Orchid Suite has its own private balcony. Experience the beauty of Geographe bay when kayaking or Stand up paddling in summer. Have fun creating your very own art work in winter when taking one of our art classes (painting). Ample off-road parking is available for guests. Lanterns Retreat is the ultimate in quality, luxury and attention to detail, among the very best in the South West. Enjoy our hospitality and leave refreshed after your relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Newberry Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newberry Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.