We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gods Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peaceful Bay

Peaceful Bay
Peaceful Bay Rd | Great Southern Region, Denmark, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Attractions in Denmark
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Western Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Gods Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Personally I don't think there is a more picturesque place on the south coast. Beautiful beaches, natural bushland, fishing, protected bay for swimming. Spend a few days here and you'll get to love it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely camping trip with friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I have marked this as average as the campsite and it's facilities are pretty basic, but we did have a lovely time there.

Peaceful bay is exactly as it's name suggests, and the campsite is located just over the sand dunes of the beach (which is a lovely quiet beach and popular for fishing apparently)

The campsite has a shop and reception, laundry area, outdoor washup area and toilet and shower block all of which are basic, and in my opinion in need of some TLC. Even so, it served our requirements. A few in our group commented on the water being dirty....it is a brown colour. The lady at reception said that it was due to tannin in the water and she assured us it was clean!

The outdoor areas are clean and pleasant and peaceful,with plenty of bins to place your rubbish in. Everybody we saw was very friendly. Our group consisted of friends who had small children, and the parents in the group seemed to think that the lack of playground for the children was an issue. In my opinion it wasn't, as the children seemed to be occupied in playing around the tents, climbing the trees and enjoying trips to the beach. If you feel you need a playground, then don't come here.

There is a good treetop walk nearby, and the campsite isn't far away from a town centre and amenities. There is also a bird and reptile park a few miles up the road which is very small but worth a visit if, like me, that's your thing. They do a nice little interactive session with the reptiles where you can hold bearded dragons and snakes, and the tame birds are good for a giggle.

Despite the basic facilities, I really enjoyed my stay here and would possibly return. A word of warning though, if you can't stand flies this is not the place for you. They are relentless. I found them annoying, hubby detested them!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The name says it all!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the nearby caravan park and so were able to see the bay at various times of the day and evening. It is a very quiet place with areas zoned off for fishing. swimming or dogs so everyone is happy! If you venture beyond the headland either over the dunes or via the rocks you will come to an even more spectacular coastal area where you can sit and admire the waves building and falling and crashing onto the rocky outcrops just off land. There is a smaller beach just a stones throw from here and it appears to be very under used- although there is good access over the dunes from the main road and parking areas. The only downfall are the pesky flies that seem to be everywhere at this time of year - you just have to learn to love them or ignore them!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As the mane say”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It was just beautiful. When I went their with my friend, nobody was their it was just perfect and peaceful as the bay's mane say it!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Malaysia
1 review
“Peacefull and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Spend a night at the camp site, night the sky lid up with millions of stars, just awesome.
Next morning had a wonderful walk along the quite and beautiful beach, enjoyed the fishing and the scenery. Still remember it fondly after 5 month back, hope to be able to go again.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peaceful Bay also viewed

Denmark, Western Australia
Denmark, Western Australia
 
Denmark, Western Australia
Denmark, Western Australia
 

Been to Peaceful Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaceful Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.