We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant canoeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hay River

Hay River
Southwest Highway | Great Southern Region, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 25 things to do in Denmark
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canoeing
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant canoeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My 13 foot canoe has seen a lot of rivers and estuaries - I've fished many of them, but today was just a paddle (assisted by the electric motor against the tide and wind on the return downstream) for my wife and I. It's a peaceful river from around 7 metres at the narrowest to 20 metres, runs for at least a couple of kms northwards from the South Coast Hwy east of Denmark. People evidently fish the river but I wouldn't expect much. The canoe trip was pleasant. As another reviewer said, watch for sudden weather changes including increased wind.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Watch the weather before you go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We took the fishing kayaks out and didn't realise how bad the weather would turn (50km hour winds). So it was hard paddling and not very pleasant. The other thing we noticed was the amount of lawn grass clippings in the water (it was not like this in the Denmark river) which came in after every cast and made it hard to pull the anchors up. Makes me wonder if someone is dumping their clippings in the river.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark WA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A quiet and serene river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

en route to Albany and just a few kms from Denmark- plenty of fishing spots on the banks ( both sides) but more importantly its accessible by boat- good launching spot just across the bridge on the left and ideal for small run abouts , canoeing etc.
We have yet to pass another craft on the river on any of our trips, but we haven't been during a holiday period, when Denmark expands considerably with visitors .
You can potter up river for several kms passing fishing spots on the banks on either side , and eventually reaching farmland - nowhere to really stop and get off to picnic, but a wonderfully quiet river experience with plenty of birdlife. Not sure about the fishing as we have never tried that .
Going down river , the Hay river runs into the Wilson inlet, but access is limited by a sandbar and a low bridge although, canoes can probably navigate happily this way, but it is then quite a long paddle on the inlet to Denmark ( or the Nullaki )in relatively open water, which can get very choppy .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Kayaking, tranquil setting, heaps of bird life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Just 6km east of Denmark is this great under used river, just cross over the bridge and turn left immediately, left again into the car park and launching area. If you go south its just a short paddle up to the Wilsom Inlet. Quiet part of the inlet here, lots of swans and pelicans.

If you go north you can paddle for kms in a beautiful wide river, natural bush on each side. We saw eagles, falcons as well of lots of bird life. This river is much wider than Denmark River and you can kayak much further

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hay River also viewed

Denmark, Western Australia
Denmark, Western Australia
 
Denmark, Western Australia
Denmark, Western Australia
 

Been to Hay River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hay River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.