We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of a let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chimes Spa Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chimes Spa Retreat to your Saves list
Chimes Spa Retreat
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Mt Shadforth Scenic Drive, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Denmark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Kind of a let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We went to Chimes for a special occasion and had to try to recover a bit from a really awful year. We were both exhausted and were just hanging in there by our toenails for this break. I had read on trip advisor that room one was noisy and when we arrived I found out we were in room one. I immediately asked if we could be moved due to the breakfast noise as we really needed the chance to sleep in and we were staying four nights. The owner called me and told me that Trip advisor was not true and all about people trying to undo eachother's business. He was not at all helpful and ended the conversation by saying well you are getting a good deal and you can tell me when you leave if it was noisy. We had a couple of discounted nights but were also paying full price for two nights. I don't think you should provide special deals if you can't provide the same experience as a full price room. There was also building going on. It was very noisy and we were woken at 6.30am every day by the coffee machine and breakfast room. The rooms were average and ours was not especially clean. We couldn't open our blinds because workman were outside the whole time. Our fridge smelt so bad we couldn't use it and we were overrun by ants. As we had been so looking foward to some rest and healing it was quite upsetting.
Good stuff
The breakfast was lovely and the chef was very friendly as were all the staff who were mostly from Bali or other Asian countries. The afternoon tea of fresh baked biscuits was a highlight. The view from the breakfast room was lovely but a shame more of the rooms didn't have a balcony and a view.
Denmark has some amazing accomodation with much more helpful owners so wouldn't tay there again even with a disount.

Room Tip: Make sure you don;t get room one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    46
    16
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
120
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I can advise you that if you are after a tranquil experience with a touch of luxury.. this is Not The Place !!!!! They are absolutely Rude Rude Rude!!!! The owner spoke down on us as if her nose was twisted upwards!!! I kid you not!!!! I have never experienced such Downright Rude Non Service in my entire life!!! I regret this trip with a passion and will never never ever recommend it unless I hate you!

Room Tip: Please Save Your Money! We Regretted The Whole Experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Like other reviewers we found our "suite" damp with musty smelling bedding and a little worn looking with missing grout around tiles in the bathroom leaving sharp edges and jaded fittings . Admittedly I paid a discount price as such but had I paid the asking price I would have been even more disappointed. For the money there are better places to stay in the area. We are not fans of mock plaster rock walls in rooms or exposed bathrooms / toilets where every noise etc cannot be ignored. The noisy fridge in the room didn`t help with sleeping either .
The hostess is pleasant , the gardens excellent . Just left feeling perhaps another location would have suited better .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The last night of our trip south was at Chimes. We enjoyed the facial and steam room as an extra bonus. Our room was attractive and clean and teddy had been nice and left us all four chocolates. We were supplied with plush white robes which were lovely as the nights were getting chilly. Our mattress was a bit hard for my liking but was informed that it was a new orthopaedic mattress. Breakfast was in the glassed in conservatory and the choices were acceptable. The view of the gardens were lovely but we did not have the time to enjofy a walk having to leave early the next day.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWOzChimes, Owner at Chimes Spa Retreat, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We really appreciate getting a review as we can build on them. We think we have located the room you stayed in and have purchased a new bed - when you come back ask for the same room!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

so Typical: very pricy, very showy website lots of $ spend on Goggle ads but poor delivery all the way. Small rooms, not that clean for that sort of money, slimy and sexist attitude from the Ken the owner and the spa just matched the accommodation. we will never be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were given a "Scoopon" Voucher for Christmas and decided to use this over Anzac day, together with an extra night.
On arrival we were a little annoyed when we entered our romm to find that insteaad of four chocolatess we only had two and an emty wrapper. Our first thoughts were that one of the staff had helped themselves but upon reading the comments book in the room we realised thaat the resident teddy bear in room 4 was the guilty one. It appears he gets up to all sorts of tricks and by the time we left he was on his back with three empty bottles of wine surrounding him! He really was a cheeky bear and such a wonderful companion to share the room with.
The room had a lovely outlook over the lawns and in the distance the water could be seen. The same view was available from the Conservatory were a delicious breakfast made a good start to the day.
All the staff were very attentive and another nice touch was the decanter of port and glasses which were left in the Reception for guests to help themselves.
The garden at the rear was beautifully set out with a timber boardwalk leading to the below ground pool. Being cooler weather the pool was much too cold to entice me in!
The Spa where we were given a Steam Bath and Facial for two was unbelievably beautiful and the music being played was so relaxing that I spent most of my time close to sleep.
Michelle and Kane, you are doing a wonderful job and we really appreciated you allowing us to share your Paradise even though it was for such a short time.

Room Tip: If you are booking a King Suite the I would suggest Room 4, even if Teddy is a bit of a liability t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWOzChimes, Owner at Chimes Spa Retreat, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks you for your review. Always satisfying to hear guests enjoyed visiting Denmark and staying with us.
With regard to Ted - apologies - we are trying to obtain better-behaved bears!

Thanks

kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Like many other reviewers, we came to Chimes on a Scoopon, and purchased one additional night at the flat rate of $150. The deal included a couples steam deck and facial. This was nealy 2 hrs and was not only extremely relaxing after a 5 hr drive, but also represented exceptional value. Undoubtedly the best Scoopon deal we've had. Breakfast was included on both nights. Soy milk and gluten free bread were available on request. The cold selection cd be improved with some fresh or plain tinned fruit, rather than the stewed cinnamon mix, but the range of hot options was v good indeed. We both stuck to our first choices - scrambled eggs and smoked salmon eggs Benedict (lovely!).

Dinner was less successful. While the facility of having dinner available on the first (traveling) day was v much appreciated, as discussed with the owners perhaps a simple gourmet platter wd be better than the options presented. This is. Y no means an issue, as town is only 4 km (10 min max by car) away and various dining choices available there.

The Scoopon King Garden suite (room 10) was much more than one wd expect for the price. Airy, spacious, aging gracefully, it boasted a huge king size bed, equally massive LCD tv screen, nice balcony overlooking the bush garden and spacious bathroom - double shower and couples spa. Sparkling wine and chocolates on arrival, with port in lobby each evening. Judging by the guest book, other couples had also spent some quality romantic interludes here, under the benevolent gaze of the room 10 teddy bear, who sees all, but won't tell :-)

To get here: after crossing the bridge into Denmark (Albany end)' turn right at the big Super IGA into Mt Shadforth Rd. follow it for just over 4 km and you will find the sign to Chimes on the left. Bonus - the delightful Lake Hse is a stone's throw further down the Mt S Rd.

Sightseeing - Green Pool and Williams Bay are magic swimming spot off the main highway, along with sundry hidden treasures such as the meadery. However we loved Scottsdale Tourist Drive and. An't wait to return to revisit Madfish, single File and ESP Matilda's with the associated Salt and Pepper Restaurant, unfortunately closed mid week when we were there. Matilda's wine was also excellent - try the sparkling Shiraz!

What a great break. Thanks to our friendly hosts. We shall definitely return many times.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chimes Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Spa Retreat

Address: Mt Shadforth Scenic Drive, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Denmark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chimes Spa Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The southern coast of Western Australia is where the forest meets the sea. It is unique. It is green. It is nature at its best. Tall stands of karri and tingle interspersed with verdant rolling hills sweep down to the most dramatic and picturesque coastline - an idyll providing many natural attractions. It is perhaps the prettiest place in Western Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chimes Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimes Spa Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.