We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanside Village to your Saves list
Oceanside Village
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   117 Knight Terrace, Denham, Western Australia 6537, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Denham
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellently positioned right on the ocean, these cabins are modern, clean and well equipped. We were very comfortable and had a most enjoybale stay. The staff are very friendly and welcoming from the moment you arrive and I would definitely recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansidevillage, Manager at Oceanside Village, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hello Woo12

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to read your comments and I am very glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Thank you for recommending us.

Regards
Willie & Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    59
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
61
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The only difference between this village and the caravan park is their was no 'wheels' on our accommodation!

We were originally booked into this village room for two nights and made the booking through the 'caravan parks' web site!! We had our dates mixed up with the nights booked at Oceanside Village and had phoned the following morning after our first nights booking. We admitted instantly that it was our mix up and if she could do anything about the mix up, it would be very much appreciated. The response was short and boarder line rude.. I've been turning people away for that room, your mistake isn't going to be my expense!! Wow, customer service at it's best!! I thought country people were meant to be nice, I was wrong!! Once arriving on the second day her demeanor mirrored the phone conversation I had that morning, Rude, arrogant and completely cold. The 'village' looked like we were the only occupants and I mentioned, 'You were turning people away last night?' 'Ohh yes we are fully booked, Flat out!' Really?! We paid for that nights accommodation via credit as the previous nights had already been processed and she handed us both receipts. We then looked at the time on the receipt it was processed the previous day - 11.39 AM, What a joke..

Anyway, The room cost $160 a night and we were about 4 rooms away from the beach. The room smelt like something I could not put my finger on. Very unusual, strong and thick smell. We constantly needed the fans on to overcome this smell. Thank god we brought spare bedding and pillows with us on the trip. Uncomfortable seating and beds, miniature TV and if you don't wash your dishes an additional charge will be debited from your credit card, etc etc I can go on. It was Honestly Horrid!! This is the first time I have ever commented on a web site like this and only felt the need as this was such a terrible experience to warn others. I am a well traveled and have stayed in hotels all over the world this is the worst by far on all levels..

We stayed another night in Denham at the Heritage on the third night and comparing it to the 'Village' this was luxurious!! Honestly, for an additional $20.00 breakfast included, King Deluxe room directly overlooking the ocean, the bed was a king size and so comfy, big TV, 20 or so foxtel channels with the best pub and food in town in your hotel, you cant complain at $180 a night. The owners greeting you at the door with a smile, check in, restaurant, bar staff all with the same happy attitude..

Comparing the two is like chalk and cheese, Book at The Heritage!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansidevillage, Manager at Oceanside Village, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you taking the time to leave your comments. You had booked during school holidays which is ALWAYS a busy period, you received a confirmation as booked online yourselves, you returned my phone call as gave your a courtesy call to see if you still wanted the 2nd night that you booked, your card was charged for the deposit at time of booking which was 5 days before you arrived.
We asked you how you enjoyed your stay when walked passed you at your car while packing it, and you advised it was great. Your negative comments certianly dont reflect our resort or service as you and other guests can see by other comments where 95 % positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with our stay! We didn't get to enjoy our accommodations very much as we were travelling to Monkey Mia most of the time, but when we were there it was great.
We took advantage of the laundry facilities, free wi-fi and the view.
We got there late afternoon, and we found our room key quite easily as the office was closed. I was hoping to see the manager the next morning, but as we had to be in Monkey Mia by 7:30am, still didn't get the chance. When we finally did meet, she was very helpful and very much enjoyed meeting their very well-behaved puppy.
I would definitely stay here again, especially if a trip to Monkey Mia is in the plans. The 20 minute drive is not a problem, and the price was right!
We quite enjoyed Denham.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansidevillage, Manager at Oceanside Village, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello Joanne
Thank you taking the time to leave feedback for us. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay at Oceanside Village and managed to take advantage of the laundry and the wifi and of course enjoy the view.

Kai is our greet and meet expert and he loves it, he loves all the attention he receives from our guests, as you noticed! Great you enjoyed Denham and your time at Monkey Mia, and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trincomalee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were surprise about the peace and quite of this place just 1 minute after our arrival.
We travel there last january and was very windy but the sea in fron the bungalow-villa was amazing!
The accomodation is just perfect to spend more than 1 week in a big and clean room with living room well appointed for cook and prepare food, and ...beautiful sunset view from the veranda.
Just great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansidevillage, Manager at Oceanside Village, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your kind positive comments, yes Denham can get windy and we have lots of days where the water is like glass too. We can have the village full and still it is peaceful and quite which is wonderful for everyone.

Great you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful sunsets that you enjoyed from your veranda, perfect spot to sit back and relax. Thank you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very friendly greeting by Tara who was very informative and helpful. Our accommodation was right on the front so had fantastic views of the sea. Rooms were very clean and had all the home from home essentials I.e. iron, hair dryer, microwave etc. hot water was plentiful, beds clean and comfortable. Ideal location for Monkey Mia and evening strolls along the sea front. We met the resident family dog who enjoyed a swim with us in the sea. Definitely recommend this and hopefully we will be lucky enough to visit again.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the front provided excellent views, even saw two wild Emus walking down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansidevillage, Manager at Oceanside Village, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to leave great feedback for us! The Beachfronts villas have great views and glad it was “home away from home”. Kai says thank you for letting him have a swim with you, as you know how much he loves the water!
Thank you for recommending us and sure one day you will be able to enjoy the beachfront villas again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in March 2013 and had a great time. It's located just across from the lovely Denham Beach. It has a small but very nice pool. It's close to amenities. Excellent management - friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansidevillage, Manager at Oceanside Village, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello

Thank you, for your positive comments and glad to hear you had a great time at Oceanside Village and of course Shark Bay.

See you next time when you’re in the Bay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights in Denham at Oceanside. We had a sea view villa which I now consider better than the beach front villas because we were more sheltered from the strong winds. Our villa was very clean, bed comfortable and it was only a walk across the road to the best swimming beach. The pool area was very clean. The managers at Oceanside were wonderful. So very, very friendly and helpful in arranging tours for us. We went on the 3 hour quad bike tour and loved it. Also took a drive to Monkey Mia and fed the dolphins. While there enjoyed breakfast at the Bough Shed but am glad we stayed in Denham because there was so much more to do. Make sure you visit the Marine Aquarium south of the town. They had great tasting coffee and cake and the aquarium tour was very, very interesting. Also don't miss walking on the boardwalk at Eagle Bluff.

Room Tip: The beachfront villas cop the afternoon/evening wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansidevillage, Manager at Oceanside Village, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello Helen

Thank you for all your positive comments and feedback.

As you found out there is a lot to do in Shark Bay, great that you enjoyed your tours and we know how much fun you both had, you’ll have to come back to do the quad bikes again, and will have a pair of trainers waiting!! Ocean Park is a treasure, with an awesome veranda, great service and food too.

Look forward to you both again when next in the Bay. Thank you again for all your wonderful comments.

Regards
Willie, Tara & Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanside Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Village

Address: 117 Knight Terrace, Denham, Western Australia 6537, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Denham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oeanside Village is located on the beach in Denham, Shark Bay. We offer you 22 Self Catering villas within a relaxed, beach style setting. Our 1 & 2 bedroom villas are spacious, clean and comfortable with all that you would expect from your home away from home. With a stroll across the road you are on the beach and swimming in our crystal, clear waters. Only a 2 minute walk to town and a 20 minute drive to the famous monkey mia dolphins, gateway to Cape Peron we are situated in your perfect location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oceanside Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Village Hotel Denham
Best Western Denham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.