We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Beautiful Beach!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shell Beach

Shell Beach
Shark Bay Road | Gascoyne Region, Denham, Western Australia 6537, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 Attractions in Denham
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazingly Beautiful Beach!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This beach took my breath away!!! Since being in Western Australia I've seen some glorious beaches, white sands, blue/green water but this one just took the biscuit!

There's a wee walk to get to the actual beach but once there it's so worth it (even walking through the annoying flies!). The beach is made up of tiny white shells and the water is so clear. The water itself is so warm, it's like getting into a nice warm bath :).

I loved this place so much I will definitely go back and make sure I take my camera this time for some tuly exceptional pictures.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    49
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A different place to visit - quite unique and interesting. Worth the short walk down to the water (even when the tides out) to see the loose shells being deposited.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“nature at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A long beach of nothing but white shells. Take a slow stroll along the beach and you begin to see different colors and variations in the shells whilst enjoying the peaceful views.
Not a phenomenom I had ever thought to see.

Respect the numerous signs reminding you to leave the beach as you found it, watching ignorant tourist walk away with handfuls of the signs was a definite low point.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Its called Shell beach for a reason!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

No sand, just all white shells. Crystal clear water that is very shallow. And one really annoying thing, I have never experienced sooo many flies as I did at this place. 100's of them buzzing around you in your face and ears, so not pleasant. But apart from that, a beautiful beach to look at.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Shear Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

It would be a shame to miss this jewel in the crown of the Shark Bay peninsula, with crystal clear and bath warm waters. But take a good bottle of water - it gets bloody hot on the beach

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shell Beach also viewed

Denham, Western Australia
 
Denham, Western Australia
Denham, Western Australia
 

Been to Shell Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shell Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.