We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel let down by restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Inn Carnarvon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hospitality Inn Carnarvon to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Inn Carnarvon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 West Street, Carnarvon, Western Australia 6701, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnarvon
birmingham, england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great motel let down by restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed one night before heading to Kalbarri. convenient location just five minute drive from airport. Great motel room, good size, comfy bed, free wifi and friendly reception staff. As we arrived quite late, we decided to try the on site restaurant for. dinner and breakfast. The food isn't cheap, and is average at best. My salmon was ok, but my partners ' roast' beef was barely edible. Think it had been reheated to within an inch of its life and now had no resemblance to any piece of meat we've come across. Given how slow the service was we should probably have gone for a drive to find somewhere else. My advice, stick to room only, then it would have had a four star rating. Pool area looked nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    53
    55
    7
    1
See reviews for
23
64
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed 1 night on our way to Exmouth. It is a nice, comfortable and clean motel.
Our room and its bathroom were freshly refurbished and surprisingly the room was of good size.
Being WA so expensive, the price we paid was very reasonable including free wi-fi. It was a good deal and choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kallangur Qld
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed two nights at this motel on our two month holiday. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean although a bit outdated and the bed was comfortable. Not within walking distance to town but town is only a few minutes drive away. Had a deluxe King Room which I was told was all that was available and the motel had washing facilities which were easy to access and use. We enjoyed our stay in Carnarvon and the motel certainly didn't deter from this. We did have to lodge a complaint with reception about a dog that bailed us up outside the motel on one of our walks. This was actioned straight away and within 24hours we had heard from the local ranger. Somewhere you could stay again but hope they remodel soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here for one night heading back to Perth from Port Hedland.
The only room left was a deluxe king. Great room with big comfy bed, tea and coffee facilities, reverse cycle aircon, separate bathroom. Includes a desk area.

Park right at the front of the room. flat screen Tv with foxtel.
Looked to have a nice restaurant but I didn't try the food. There is room service as well.

Its right next to the water in a good location. Staff were friendly and welcoming on arrival.

I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The deluxe King was grand !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for one night in Carnarvon and chose this hotel after looking up previous reviews. The reception staff were friendly and efficient and check-in took only a matter of minutes. The room was very comfortable - great bed, nice hot shower, free wifi. The location is quiet - by the water and backs onto the yacht club. The location will be more accessible to town once the boardwalk/promenade along the water's edge is completed. The cooked breakfast was great and also included continental selections. It looks like any other hotel/motel when you drive in, but as they say, don't judge a book by it's cover - we were very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for for about 16 days on business. The rooms were clean, the beds were very comfy, within that time the staff forgot to leave tea and coffee and also didn't clean our cups and glasses for only 2 nights, so I guess that is a pretty good average. Within that time we used the restuarant 3 times and on all occasions was very slow service. One night we had to wait about 70 minutes for our meal. The meals are average and very expensive for what you receive. There is a hotel down the road which we went to quite a lot and would be the best feed in town, although still expensive. Everything in Carnarvon is expensive. The town would be a 15 minute walk away from the motel. And there is a park right next door, and the river also. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The Internet is very slow at times and on 3 occasions I could not connect at all. There is a free washing maching and drier, which is very rare in motels. The area is also very quiet. With staying there for so long I would say this motel would probably be your best bet in the area, from what we have heard, speaking to the locals.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is situated along the water, but not in central Carnarvon itself, meaning that it's quiet and safe. It is a motel more than a hotel; you park right in front of your room, which is handy (no need to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs).
The room was very clean and fresh, although you can see that the building isn't recent.
We had a 3 people room (one queen and a single) which was ample for our overnight stay. Beds were on the firm side but comfortable. Would have been nice if the single bed had a bedside lamp on its own. The bathroom is totally adequate.
We didn't go to their restaurant as we were told it was rather pricey (we went to the Gascoyne Hotel instead, really good).
Cooked Breakfast is expensive, continental breakie is average.
Excellent for an overnight stay, not so sure for long term though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hospitality Inn Carnarvon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hospitality Inn Carnarvon

Address: 6 West Street, Carnarvon, Western Australia 6701, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Carnarvon
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnarvon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hospitality Inn Carnarvon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hospitality Inn Carnarvon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carnarvon
Carnarvon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hospitality Inn Carnarvon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.