We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible sleep and meal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Augusta Hotel Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Augusta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Augusta Hotel Motel
Blackwood Avenue, Augusta, Western Australia 6290, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Augusta
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible sleep and meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed in the budget hotel room across the road from the hotel, but it was still $125.00 per night, compared to the rest of the accomodation on our roadtrip south of Perth it was disgusting.
We went to the hotel for a few drinks, and then ordered dinner of fish for my husband and chicken breast for myself. After waiting ages the meals came and the fish was inedible, my chicken breast was supposed to be stuffed with olives etc, but it looked liked a boiled boot and tasted that way. Not normally people to make a fuss and complain, we felt for $30 odd dollars a meal that we wouldnt tolerate it, so sent it back, it seems a few people had sent the fish back, so the bistro staff said they would refund the fish but not the chicken which they hadnt had a complaint about. Ok so then we thought we would find something else in the town, Wrong nothing is open at 7.30pm, so we went to bed in the lumpy bed, to sleep for a few hours and then a party upstairs started at 12.30am and went through to 4am, with them throwing bottle tops, cigarette butts and urinating on our car. Worst night sleep we had in WA and would not recommend this hotel to anyone, although there is not much choice in this boring old town. Oh yes the fridge didnt work and there was no aircon

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimChallis_Augusta, Owner at Augusta Hotel Motel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
We regret your poor experience. On making a thorough investigation, I found that your visit was during the busy Easter period when we were heavily booked. We have a range of accommodation from backpackers to luxury apartments. Unfortunately, you were given motel accommodation that we normally restrict for workmen on various construction projects and this was the only accommodation available at the time of your arrival. Staff have been spoken to over this issue and in the future they will only let it, if the traveller inspects it first. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    16
    11
    2
See reviews for
4
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamlton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Having booked ahead in Pemberton just a matter of two hours earlier there was not a lot of selection. The room was very dated but clean and for a one night stay was perfectly adequate. The meal at the hotel was very nice and the local wine a good one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We happened to finish the Cape to Cape Track (Augusta is its terminus) on the Queen's Birthday long weekend so we weren't sure if there would be any accommodation in all of Augusta (people seem to flood Margaret River on long weekends/holidays). These guys were incredibly accommodating and managed to fit us in (even though they also had a huge wedding on) and even rang us when our room was ready (we arrived around 10am) so that we could have a shower, etc. The rooms are older, but clean and comfortable. The Hotel Motel seems to own a number of types of accommodation around the town; we stayed in the area next to the IGA. They have laundry facilities, BBQ's and are located in the centre of town. The staff is notably friendly. The pub seems to be 'the place' to go on a Saturday night if you want to make like a local.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed here over a long weekend. Only for 1 night - they wanted to enforce a 2 night minimum, we managed to pay just for one.

PROS:
- Central location, on main street.
- Great views across to the river from rooms at rear.

CONS:
- Very basic and dated decor.
- Fridge was turned off upon arrival.
- Uncomfortable mattress.
- Poor value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We arrived at this hotel/motel at 8pm without any reservation and we were lucky enough to find a room. I do not know if they offer different types of accommodation, but what we got was a very basic room, with drab old furniture, a stained carpet and a very uncomfortable mattress. To be honest, the room did not seem dirty, it just needed a complete refurbishment and was not worth its price. The lady at the reception was nice, but if you plan to stay there, ask beforehand which kind of room you will be given.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We stayed at the Augusta Hotel Motel for a few nights. The room was a typical 3 star motel room, nothing flash but reasonably clean and with air con and lcd tv. There is a nice view of the river but ironically the windows are such that you have to stand up to see the view.

It looked like the rooms were being refurbished so I would suggest requesting one of those.

The place was fairly empty which in part I suspect is the expensive rates. I have stayed at 5 star hotels for less than this three star cost.

There were some new lovely apartments being built when we were there and we understand they will be serviced apartments. I would recommend checking them out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Augusta Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Hotel Motel

Address: Blackwood Avenue, Augusta, Western Australia 6290, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Augusta
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augusta Hotel Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Augusta Hotel Motel to your Saves list