We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clevedon Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlemaine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clevedon Manor
Save
You added Clevedon Manor to your Saves list
260 Barker Street, Castlemaine, Victoria 3450, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Castlemaine B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Victoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Clevedon Manor last week for 2 nights. What a delightful surprise Clevedon Manor was. We selected the "French Room" with the bay window overlooking the garden. A delicious cooked breakfast was served each morning in the dining room along with fresh coffee, tea, cereals and fruits. The Hosts Phil & Steve were very inviting and full of local knowledge. A short stroll to the main street and all the local restaurants and shops. We would highly recommend Clevedon Manor to any visitor of Castlemaine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here recently for one night only and it were very, very pleased with this beautifully presented b&b which has incredible attention to detail. Stuart & Phil do a marvelous job with friendly, informative and courteous service upon arrival, breakfast-time and departure. We stayed in room 7 and I highly recommend this room especially for an overnight stay. One of the highlights was the breakfast in the dedicated room with the other guests, a really lovely way to start our weekend!
Many thanks & we look forward to returning again soon!

Room Tip: I'm quite certain all the rooms are superb and of high quality. We stayed in room 7 which I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Thanks so much to the local tourist info centre for recommending Clevedon Manor to my friend and I. The property is an exquisite delight. Stuart and Phil have anticipated every possible guest request and requirement and more. It's quiet, cosy, very comfortable, beautifully presented and fairly priced. A very enjoyable breakfast is included. My only regret is having booked just one night. But that just means I'll have to make a return, and longer visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Touring around Victoria from Sydney.
Beautifully presented room. We stayed in the front room with the en-suite looking over the garden. Very cosy.
Easy walking distance from the town. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed here on our way from Adelaide through to Nowra after visiting J Ward in Ararat and also to catch up with a friend who lives in Castlemaine. Located in the main street and about a kilometer out from the CBD of Castlemaine. Friendly welcome when we arrived. Shown to our room and were impressed straight away with the cleanliness and the style of the room.

Went out to dinner and came back and had a shower and laid down on a very comfortable bed and watched TV after a long day of driving.

Didn't realise there was anybody else staying there, until we saw another two couples in the breakfast room as it was so quiet inside. Got talking to one couple while waiting for our breakfast to arrive on where each of us had been and where we were going. Great cooked breakfast...fantastic poached eggs...maybe an extra couple of rashers of bacon would be better...but it was still great all the same.

Room Tip: Any room is good...and really for couples only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We spent three nights here just getting away from it all. So easy to pop up from Melbourne. Only two hours from the far South East and an easy run on the freeway. So nice to just sit back and relax in the garden. Breakfasts were delicious. Phil has the perfect poached egg down to a fine art. The lovely room was so quiet we never knew how many were staying there until brekky next day. We could almost have been the only ones there it was so quiet. Lovely old world atmosphere and plenty of interest in the area. We enjoyed wandering the town and visiting the shops and galleries. Even just a peaceful sit in the botanical gardens helped us recharge the batteries ready for the year ahead. Ask Phil where to eat and you won't go wrong. The pool looked good but laziness overcame the good intentions.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here after camping nearby got too hot. Inexpensive, clean and I loved the old time manor decor. We didn't have the best of the rooms because we booked on the day however even so our rooms were comfortable and had our own bathrooms nearby. Lovely hosts overall although I don't think they liked us staying up late with some champagne in the garden. It was only midnight and a hot night, but definitely got the vibe that it's no party zone even tho we were whispering and it was new years day night! Breakfast was lovely and we loved the pool area to relax in. Would stay again and reccomend it for an easy, close to main town accommodation with more than a hint of history in the walls

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clevedon Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevedon Manor

Address: 260 Barker Street, Castlemaine, Victoria 3450, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Castlemaine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Castlemaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Castlemaine, in Victoria's famous goldfields area and only 120 kilometres from Melbourne, Clevedon Manor is a splendid, fully restored late Victorian residence surrounded by half an acre of magnificent 100 year old gardens offering bed and breakfast and holiday accommodation to our guests. There are seven in-house rooms plus a garden studio, with ensuites, spas, queen size beds, central heating, air-conditioning, a dedicated guest lounge, a formal dining room , antique furnishings and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clevedon Manor Castlemaine, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clevedon Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.