We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Plainsman Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Plainsman Motel to your Saves list
Plainsman Motel
22 Sherriff St, Forbes, New South Wales 2871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Forbes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Don't expect much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

After driving late from Corryong in Victoria, it was 11.30pm and we needed a bed. Saw people moving in the restaurant and decided to stop here. Didn't want to disturb anyone else at this time. It was the owners watching TV and the sort of grumpy man checked us in. $118. It looks old fashioned outside but tidy. Inside we thought yep, old fashioned but tidy. However, once going in to the bathroom kitchen area we really saw the age and failings.

First of all your fridge, coffee area is sort of in the bathroom. Everything is very old chipboard, it looks clean but the age just makes it feel grungy. Shower was okay but again very dated and old. Towels felt clean and nice as did the sheets. Didn't want to risk looking at the mattress, dreaded the thought of it's age?

The bed was sort of comfy, but very bouncy and low. For the price, I wouldn't recommend it. I have seen better, cleaner Motels in smaller country towns for less than this price. It's just overpriced for what you get. NEEDS an desperate overhaul and reno.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at the Plainsman for 3 nights during the Heatwave and Bush fires of January 2013.
Air Con worked very well 24/7 during this time. Staff friendly, No Highway noise to speak of.
Short walking distance to the Club (special meal deals - Sun and Mon night) and Cafes were open early for Breakfast...Had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

So glad we were only there for one night.

After a 12 hour drive, just wanted food and sleep. No joy on either, the restaurant was booked out for a private function, luckily found a wonderful takeaway around the corner. The noise of the private function and the paper thin walls did not help sleep. The taps dripped all night and the place felt dirty. Very run down.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Unfortunately there were no rooms available in Parkes so we drove on to Forbes. A big mistake. I certainly agree with the recent reviews but had no time to check on Trip Advisor before we booked. The shower and toilet were dirty, the washbasin and taps looked as if they were coming apart and the overall appearance was in need of a complete overall and clean. The air con was noisy and unable to be adjusted. I would suggest to book ahead and depending on the direction of your trip, to avoid Forbes and book in Parkes, Dubbo or Cowra where you will have a mch better choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

This motel was dirty, in desperate need of a revamp. The restaurant which is licensed charged us $12 for a JD and coke, not bad for a dump. I would steer clear of this one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumbi Umbi, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Nightmarish stay one hot night when leaving the, exceedingly noisy, air con on for a few hours while we went out for dinner meant that the room was hotter when we got back. Add to this the surly check in welcome and the generally run down feel of the whole place and this is certainly a place to avoid.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed a couple of nights in this motel and came close to moving out after the first night because of the noise. The noise from the heavy vehicle traffic on the Newell Highway was anoying but more importantly we could hear everything from the adjoining rooms. The motel walls are of a besser brick type construction that allows transfer of noise too readily. As a result of our unfortunate stay in the Plainsman Motel, we have resolved to avoid motels with this type of construction whenever possible.

The noisy air conditioning system was preset and clearly set on economy mode. It was pretty ineffective.

A positive was that our NRMA membership saved $9 per night bringing the nightly tariff down to $99 for a couple without children.

Room Tip: get a room away from the highway and hopefully with empty rooms on either side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plainsman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plainsman Motel

Address: 22 Sherriff St, Forbes, New South Wales 2871, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Forbes
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Forbes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Plainsman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Forbes
Forbes Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plainsman Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.