We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a peaceful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afterglow Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Afterglow Cottages
Save
You added Afterglow Cottages to your Saves list
259 Kalang Rd, Bellingen, New South Wales 2454, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“what a peaceful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Afterglow Cottages are nestled into a peaceful hill near the Kalang River. We stayed in the Main Cottage overlooking a beautiful forest and swimming hole. Jeff and Agnes are the perfect hosts, leaving a well stocked fridge full of gourmet treats & beautiful fresh eggs, it was a pleasure meeting the hens who laid them. The outdoor bath is sensational for lying back gazing at the stars. The cottage is spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. We had such a great weekend and will be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I highly recommend the Afterglow Cottages to anyone who wants to escape "the busy life". A great place to relax, unwind, de-stress and enjoy life.
A cute, cosy, private and romantic stay with a complementary bottle of wine on arrival, a cheese platter and yummy bacon and eggs supplied for brekky the next day.
A secret hideaway that`s very reasonably priced!
Some glowing features of the dairy cottage are: A modern kitchen with all new appliances, a comfy lounge to snuggle up on and watch dvds, floor to ceiling tiling throughout the bathroom, 2 x shower heads in a spacious modern wet room with a glass panel in the shower for viewing the beautiful outdoor greenery. Also, I must mention how comfy the bed was, a great nights sleep.
Now, the star of our stay was the very private outdoor spa bath on the deck. After exploring the welcoming town during the day, the spa is a great way to relax with a glass of complementary wine and watch the sun set behind the trees. Thanks for the amazing weekend, it was just what we needed! 5 STARS

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Everything about Afterglow Cottages is a delight. We stayed in the converted Dairy Cottage, with a wonderful outlook over rolling green hills. The cottage is very comfortable and cosy with all modern conveniences, but the standouts are the outdoor bath (highly recommended) and the huge floor-to-ceiling window and twin showers in the bathroom. Add to this the scrumptuous antipasto and wine provided on arrival and provisions for the first morning's breakfast. I must also mention the incredibly friendly (but not intrusive) service from our hosts, Agnes and Jeff. The local cows and birds are a delight as well. Whether it's for relaxation, a romantic getaway or just a base to explore Bellingen, this is a great spot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Thankyou to Agnes for the most sensational weekend... We went away to celebrate our anniversary and Afterglow is such a beautiful romantic spot you couldn't wish for more! We bathed under the stars in the middle of winter with a glass of champagne. You have fresh robes and towels, an amazingly comfortable bed, breakfast provisions which we stretched out to two mornings. Agnes was kind enough to book us into the local restaurant which I had heard so much about and also drive us there herself as there is only one taxi in Bellingen. I would stay here again for sure and I WILL be recommending my friends!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked 2 nights at the Afterglow Cottages to celebrate my partner’s birthday, but it ended up being a celebration of our engagement. I’ve stayed in lots of hotels of different qualities, and can honestly say that I’ve never received better customer service from start to finish. Agnes was a wonderful host. She was really friendly during the booking process, and gave us such a warm welcome when we arrived it was like greeting an old friend. The cottage was absolutely beautiful, so peaceful and romantic, and felt like we were at home, albeit a very luxurious one! Agnes had put canapés and a bottle of bubbly in the fridge ready for our arrival, and provisions for breakfast in the morning, as well as some chocolates to congratulate us on our engagement. Her hospitality even extended to driving us into the village for dinner on our second night! I can’t recommend Afterglow Cottages enough – thank you so much Agnes for everything, and we will no doubt be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We loved our stay at the Afterglow Dairy Cottage. Its so relaxing to just sit on the sun lounges and look at the hills in front of you - complete with cows, mooing from the neighbouring farm, kookaburra's sitting on the telegraph wires, and other birds flying down to the deck to feed. While the cottages are close together, the view from the deck is unobstructed, and we were able to have a night soak in the outdoor jacuzzi in privacy. The bed was comfy, and the place clean. I loved the breakfast provisions - gourmet offerings, tailored for my pregnancy diet. The selection of DVD's and CD's was well thought out. And the full windowed bathroom felt quite decadent -with decent fluffy towels. It was hard to get us away from this cottage and drive into Bellingen! Agnes and Jeff were very friendly hosts, and when we had to break our trip to attend an emergency back home, they offered us a free night when we stayed next. A great venue for a couples retreat.

Room Tip: Dairy Cottage was the perfect size for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Afterglow cottages were just what I was after. The sounds of nature, beautiful rolling hills and a place where I could just turn off and 'be'. Hosts Agnes and Jeff were so accommodating and they have provided a well equipped cottage with quality touches and a great CD, DVD and book library for guests. A spa out under the stars completed the package. I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afterglow Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afterglow Cottages

Address: 259 Kalang Rd, Bellingen, New South Wales 2454, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bellingen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bellingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a romantic getaway or relaxing break in an atmosphere of luxury and simple elegance, amid 30 acres of rolling green hills and native woodland. Afterglow’s two spacious self-contained cottages have full kitchen, air-con, queen-size bed, double shower with a view, large deck with BBQ and spa. Enjoy the sunset from your private deck, indulge in a relaxing spa under the stars or just sit back and watch the native birds and wallabies, And lots more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afterglow Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.