We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Temagami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smoothwater of Temagami

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Temagami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smoothwater of Temagami
Save
You added Smoothwater of Temagami to your Saves list
James Lake | BOX 40, Temagami, Ontario P0H 2H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Temagami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The owner Caryn is a fantastic Chef and most of the food is local. Wholesome gourmet! The main lodge and Gathering Hall is great for groups of people. Absolutely gorgeous views from both.
It was a little cold until the hall had warmed fully......otherwise a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms, from private to the bunkie room with several beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Smoothwater did a great job outfitting our 8 day canoe trip this August, 2014 in Temagami. This is my third time using them over the last 10 years and they're reliable, friendly and priced fairly. They also went above and beyond dropping us off at our starting point and picking us up at the end. This year we also had our food outfitted - Johanna did a great job - very tasty!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My husband and I were planing a 3 day camping trip on Temagami before picking up our son from Langskib. Before leaving Toronto we realized that the weather forcast was going to be some of the worst weather the summer has seen with too much cold and rain to enjoy camping. We still wanted to get away from the city and luckily stumbled upon Smoothwater. We wanted a place to stay that would be comfortable and cozy while it poured rain outside and it was exactly that. Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The common room was a perfect place to just lay around and read while still being able to look at the beautiful surroundings through the floor to ceiling windows.

The food Johanna made for us for breakfast, and especially dinner, was warm, comforting and absolutely delicious! I own a successful bakery in Toronto so you must believe me when I say that not only was the dinner lovingly prepared but the dessert was to die for! I rarely eat dessert when dining out but I practically licked the plate from Johanna's flourless chocolate cake!

Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we were made to feel welcome and at home. We would surely return!

Room Tip: Bear Den for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful holiday which was flawlessly handled by the Smoothwater people. John is a truly delightful gentleman. He showed us all the equipment in detail and provided insightful advice and information for our trip. Johanna did an amazing job in providing and organizing delicious, nutritious meals, easily accommodating our request for a vegetarian menu. In general, she does an incredible job executing her considerable responsibilities, which is especially impressive for such a young woman! Our experience was entirely positive and something we will always remember.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was my third stay at Smoothwater (the first two with my family, this time solo) and I am happy to recommend it. The rooms are clean and comfortable (each with its own name and decor), and the food is wonderful. Smoothwater has been preparing meals using fresh, local ingredients long before it became trendy. Johanna's warm chocolate brownie with walnuts and wild blueberries was to die for! Dinners are at a shared table, and guests come from around the world, which adds to the experience. You can relax in a hammock or by the dock, or ask for advice on local day trips for hiking and canoeing. Thanks to all the hard-working staff!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week at Sweetwater. Our experience was awesome (except for that weather!) from start to finish. Johanna made delicious meals, including an exceptionally memorable braised leg of lamb for our anniversary dinner, and gave us great daytripping advice. The dinners/breakfasts we had with other guests had a great vibe and there was lots of excellent conversation.

We stayed in Bear Den, a turqoise-painted room with charming cross-stitched portraits and a retro-awesome tapestry. The room was stocked with extra blankets and pillow, and everything was very tidy and neat. We also enjoyed the sauna, which had a very conveniently placed dock close by.

Loon calls were a daily occurrence, and we saw beavers and other animals from the main dock. The abandoned iron/pyrite mine was fun to check out, and there were many other lakes a relatively short portage away.

We would definitely go back. We really enjoyed our time at Smoothwater and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Francis responded quickly to my emails and gave the advice we needed to plan our 5 day wilderness canoe trip from Florence Lake, down Lady Evelyn River, past numerous waterfalls, and out at Mowat Landing. We went with the complete outfitting package (equipment & food).

My wife and I arrived at Smoothwater Outfitters Lodge. Our room was clean and tidy. We enjoyed an awesome dinner prepared by Johanna.

John did a great job of carefully reviewing and demonstrating our equipment. Smoothwater included outfitting equipment that we didn't know existed (and wouldn't want to do without again).

Johanna prepared our food plan for the 5 day trip, neatly packaged and labelled everything in our food barrel, and went through the printed menu and gave instructions on how to cook the special foods.

Francis made sure we got to the float plane in Temagami on time, and picked us on time at Mowat Landing at the end of our trip.

We enjoyed another fine meal by Johanna at the lodge, a great night sleep in our room, breakfast in the morning, and then were on our way back home.

The atmosphere at the lodge was warm and friendly. We had a wonderful experience and recommend Smoothwater Outfitters to anyone! Go with the complete package, and sure to tap into Francis' extensive Temagami canoe tripping experience and expert advice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smoothwater of Temagami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoothwater of Temagami

Address: James Lake | BOX 40, Temagami, Ontario P0H 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Temagami
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Temagami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Smoothwater Of Temagami Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoothwater of Temagami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.