We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ruin Beach Cafe

The Ruin Beach Cafe
Tresco | Isles of Scilly, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Tresco
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Cafe built on the site of the Island Hotel, Tresco in 2011/12
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Second visit :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Called in for a mid morning drink and made to feel very welcome the same as last year when we called in. Fantastic location and very good food and drinks. Well worth a visit if you find yourself on tresco.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    40
    21
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knowle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a fabulous meal at the café with tasty and well cooked scallops and lobster and lovely wine. Not cheap but great value for money and the service was excellent. Would definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location, shame about the service (and stale scones)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The most wonderful location and we were really looking forward to an afternoon snack to round off the afternoon. But, alas, we were made to feel totally unwanted by the staff. Maybe they care more about lunch and dinner trade, but they simply didn't seem to be interested in our custom. The website-promised afternoon tea was nowhere to be seen until, after we had ordered a tea and scone, another member of staff mentioned that they do, in fact, offer afternoon tea which came as a surprise to the staff member serving us. And certainly wasn't on any menu or signs.

The staff member serving us was really rather snotty, if truth be told, quizzing us and the customers before about exactly where we were sitting to the point of inquisition; short of giving GPS coordinates, I'm not sure our explanations could have been much clearer!

Having finally sorted out an order and where we were sitting, our drinks and food then appeared - twice! By two separate members of staff! And the scones were just plain stale. And not at all cheap. Trading off the amazing location like this just isn't on. A real disappointment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“All about the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have lunched here over the previous four years and enjoy the stunning view from the outside decking. Unfortunately the food and service failed to match. Having found a table we had to go hunting the menu and eventually try and attract a waiter. The pasta and pizza were adequate but certainly not up to previous years. I can not understand how this got into the Conde baste magazine on this showing. Like most things on Tresco it is not cheap. I suggest you visit but do not expect the good to match the stunning view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We are in the Scilly Islands for a few days and did a bit of Island hopping today. We spent time over lunch on Tresco and on our boat driver's recommendation we had lunch at the Ruin beach cafe. It was fab, it didn't hurt that the sun was shining but the good was great, plenty of it and really delicious and the wines were very good. If you want a good meal at any time during the day then this is a great choice!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ruin Beach Cafe also viewed

Bryher, Isles of Scilly
 
St Mary's, Isles of Scilly
St Mary's, Isles of Scilly
 

Been to The Ruin Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ruin Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.