We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Addictive Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Garden Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tresco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Garden Cottages
Save
You added Sea Garden Cottages to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Grimsby, England (Formerly Island Hotel Tresco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tresco
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Addictive Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have been chasing my dream of paradise by visiting Caribbean and Indian Ocean over the years, until we discovered Tresco, two years ago. After our first visit, we bought a timeshare at Sea Garden Cottages. Five star accommodation, with amazing views. Where ever you are on the island you'll get a piece of paradise. No cars, never crowded, kids are just happy being kids, busy with swimming, making sand castles, exploring the nature, doing water sports, walking, running, going for boat trips..the list is endless. Ok you don't get the warm sea but the shades of blue sea makes up for it. You may get (sometimes) cloudy or rainy days but then again you don't have to travel via international airports, suffer from hours of flights or time differences...Staff are very helpful and cater for your every need (being a gluten, dairy and red meat intolerant, I never struggled with choice of food!) Yes, it's on expensive side but every paradise comes with it's own price. We returned from our last visit 10 days ago and it was sunny and warm every single day.
So, what are you waiting for, just book it, you will never look back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    8
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

They have flattened the Island Hotel and made self-catering units in its place. We were a little uncertain if it was was for us. But the hotel on Bryher was closed because it was early season and we thought we would try it. It was idyllic. If you really need a hotel this may not suit but self-catering doesn't quite describe it because the only cooking we did was popping some fresh croissants from the island deli/shop into the oven and heating up deliciously created meals cooked for us. We did eat out at the Flying Boat Club one evening which was very enjoyable; a slight feeling of art deco and 1930s elegance. The New Inn was being refurbished and is probably another attractive option by now. The spa is a delight both in terms of the art work (Jo Downes glasswork and murals inspired by the 1930s) and facilities. Soft and fluffy robes,changing rooms with a delightful ambience and after a massage or facial one can relax in stressless chairs, enjoy fruit juice/water etc., and read the newspaper or magazine. As always on Scilly the transport arrangements are thoroughly well organised. We felt a bit negative about the loss of the helicopter to drop us in (our third visit to Tresco/Bryher) but the new jet boat delivered us across the bay in a matter of minutes. It very seamless and great fun. I must add five star compliments on the design and facilities of the apartments. Waking in the morning to an uninterrupted view of sea and coastline was magical.

Room Tip: If you choose the self-catering apartments (the New Inn may offer accommodation now) check whether y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It does not get any better than this. The place is magical. The quality of accommodation and cleanliness is unrivalled. Not the cheapest but worth every penny. The staff on the whole island are helpful and courteous from the cleaning girls to the staff in the spa. If you can't afford it save up you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lobster which had a great sea view and is very quiet. This place really is the very bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just returned from a week staying at the Sea Garden Cottages on Tresco and loved every minute of it. The location is stunning with fabulous sea views from the cottage. It was honestly the best equipped and fitted out self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in. Yes it's pricey but in a different league from other seaside cottages we have rented in the past. The island itself is beautiful with fantastic walks and beaches to explore. As its car free it felt very safe for our 3 young children to run around. We took the Skybus service from Newquay to St Mary's and transfers by minibus bus to the quay then by boat to Tresco were seamless and all arranged by the Tresco estates travel team.
We ate at the Ruin Beach Cafe a couple of times and the food was excellent. They also did very good take away pizzas. Our only criticism is that the waiting staff seemed less than enthusiastic and never seemed to smile.

Overall a fabulous family holiday and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped here for a cup of tea when walking around Tresco. The cafe is in a totally stunning location. The prices are equally stunning - very expensive!! The waitress was in a complete muddle about which tea was Earl Grey/ordinary and for this price she should have known who had ordered what.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Yes we are lucky to have a time share on Tresco but we have stayed at The Island Hotel in the past before we bought the time-share so we can make a before and after comparison. I agree with the comments about the dining experience at The Ruin Beach in as much as the old restaurant was a cosier and more inclusive experience but the standard of food served at The Ruin Beach is high, albeit pricey, especially if you are treating a large family party.

The new 'seamless' travel arrangements to compensate for the lack of direct flights worked very well. We were met by the Tresco Shuttle mini-bus and transported to the quay where, after a short wait, the small boat arrived to take us the final 15 minutes. Anyone who is travelling to Tresco and not wearing a waterproof is mad because if the weather doesn't get you the spray from the open boat will!

The island remains a tranquil oasis of stunning beauty that is hard to leave. We took joy in riding our bikes all over the island, never having to worry about traffic, except for a passing golf buggy or tractor. We collected shells from empty beaches, explored ruins, had an endless number of swims and jacuzzis. We compensated for eating and drinking too much by using the gym and three of us visited the Spa.

Of course we felt pampered when we stayed at The Island Hotel but shopping at the Tresco Stores (extremely well-stocked) and cooking in our well-equipped kitchen was fun too. The weather was varied with a cool wind for most of the week. The under-floor heating and log burner in our time-share was put to good use in the evening. When the sun shone the Island sparkled but even when the sun didn't appear the beauty of Tresco could not be diminished.

The joy of the time-share, of course, is that we get to do it all again next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My family were originally from Tresco and we've visited every year for the past 17 years, always staying at the Island Hotel until 2012, when we stayed in the new Sea Garden Cottages. We're a family of four and always stay for 5 nights, so with the demise of the Hotel our only choices are the New Inn and the Sea Garden Cottages, as everything else is for a minimum of 7 nights. We rented one Sea Garden Cottage as we were advised it would be suitable; however it was far too cramped, and renting 2 cottages would be extremely expensive. The rooms were nicely appointed, but we got the feeling everything was rationed, 4 teabags a day etc. The Ruin Cafe was OK, but nothing great. Some of the new buildings are an eyesore, but for us the main disappointment is that the whole feeling of the place has changed. A previous reviewer mentioned the Stepford Wives, and I can't disagree. The old hotel attracted a real mix of clientele, but now it feels like an exclusive club full of people we can't relate to.
The island is as lovely as ever but we no longer feel we belong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Cottages

Address: Old Grimsby, England (Formerly Island Hotel Tresco)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > Tresco
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tresco
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Garden Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Tresco Island Hotel
Sea Garden Cottages Tresco, Isles Of Scilly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.