We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Mary's Hall Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
Save
You added St. Mary's Hall Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street | Hugh Town, Cornwall, TR21 0JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Totnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are just back from a week in a suite at this hotel. Location is very good even without views. Accommodation very nice indeed, clean and bright, however milk flask was not refilled every day and there was no body lotion. Lovely hot water in shower at all times. Food excellent but we had almost exhausted the menu by end of week. Continental breakfast table was somewhat chaotic but cooked menu showed good variety and tasty choices. Our first dinner service was exceptionally slow and with long waiting periods for order to be taken and between each course. Thankfully it improved and the delicious food compensated.

The reason why we booked this hotel was it had a spa. This was written in their brochure and in the in-house guest information book in our suite, also this information was given to us by our travel agent. WRONG. No spa --- and we were bitterly disappointed particularly on the two bad weather days when a spell in "the spa" would have been wonderful. I note that you even have a question below asking for rating on the "swimming pool" and the "fitness centre". It is about time you got your printed brochures etc up to date!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    39
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
140
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed on the island in July 2013 the hotel is a lovely historic piece of St Marys, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, delicious food with a fantastic selection for breakfast with a lovely garden for dining or just having a relaxing drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just spent 7 days in this great little hotel. Very clean and comfortable, wonderful helpful staff and fabulous food. The menu was very varied, with five vegetarian options every night. The specials were excellent value, having some of the best lobster I have eaten! Even the breakfast menu was different and imaginative. Unable to find fault with this hotel at all. Even the weather was great which made for a wonderful holiday and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at St Mary's Hall Hotel from 10-17th August having originally thought about staying at the Star Castle Hotel - We are glad we didn't !
We stayed in a family suite (R24) - which was clean, comfortable & spacious (the shower was hot at all times of the day) : We had the added bonus of a shared veranda.
The hotel is superb - A big thank you to Mr Freeman & all of his staff.
Our meals were Wonderful ! (breakfast & dinner) so a big thank you to Phil & his team.
The dinning room staff were very courteous & made us feel very welcome (Alastair, Jan, Petra, Tony, Chole, Sasha, Eszter & Annot) - Thank you Sasha for ensuring I received my early morning caffeine fix !!
Martina and Roger were always helpful & as mentioned in a previous review Roger is a fountain of knowledge...
We had a really great week with you & great weather - Our holiday on this lovely island could not have been better :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to the st Mary's hotel first visit in 2010.we feel that the hotel has lost some of its magic since our last visit.the service in the restaurant has deteriorated especially during evening service waiting 15 mins to order your food,evening menu very repetitive "catch of the day" was always served with risotto why? £8 supplement for steak!,often not offered bread,water or tea and coffee after meal.On our first visit the menu was much more varied offering a number of exciting dishes.Bar lunches also disappointed sandwiched huge but unappetising,big is not always best.We will return to the Scilly islands soon and it's time to try another hotel.Also various areas look tired carpets in bar area need a good clean.

Room Tip: Upgrade room,basic rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel with an excellent breakfast. Nowhere is cheap on the Scilly isles (not a compliant but just a fact and symptomatic of any island as such) but this hotel is by comparison with other hotels on the island fairly priced for what you get. Absolutely spotlessly clean with a lovely lounge area and beautiful gardens. Staff are very pleasant and work hard to make sure your stay is comfortable. When I check out tomorrow I will be booking for next year again - very impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, excellent food, service a little slack at times, during our meal the staff would forget to offer us drinks also forgot veg and chips to go with our main meal, lovely room, excellent breakfast. Generally a lovely family friendly hotel. Alastair was really helpful and was always out to offer us first class service. Would defiantly stay again- thank you

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Mary's Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mary's Hall Hotel

Address: Church Street | Hugh Town, Cornwall, TR21 0JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mary's Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To an elegant, extensively refurbished townhouse, where service and attention to detail are key.St Mary's Hall is situated just 2 minutes from Porthcressa and Town Beaches and only 5 minutes levelwalking from the quay. All our rooms are light, bright and fresh, with large beds, soft white towels and thelittle luxuries designed to make a comfortable and relaxing stay. Our Chef's have created an à la cartemenu for the discerning diner, as well as a great choice at breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Marys Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel Isles Of Scilly, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Mary's Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.