We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No slips in the Slip Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mermaid Inn

The Mermaid Inn
Bank House | The Bank, TR21 0HY, England
01720 422701
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 25 Restaurants in St Mary's
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Restaurant on first floor.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“No slips in the Slip Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The clever thing about the Mermaid is the use of its three floors to differentiate its three offerings. You get the same food and the same service standards throughout, but the top floor definitely feels like a restaurant, the street level like a proper quayside pub and the lower level, the Slip, like a more modern bar with food. None of them feels like a compromise in the way a pub with food often does. We ate in the Slip last night (23 July), as we spotted a window table free, and ate very well. The authentic moules mariniere may be kept up to scratch by the steady stream of French yachties - certainly faultless. Megrim sole was unmistakeably fresh, perfectly cooked and served on a bed of peppers and tiny new potatoes in a subtle, light sauce using capers and a few Thai spices. They keep a decent Petit Chablis, not overpriced by island standards, that was just right with this meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    62
    26
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Date Night with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Went for a date night meal with my husband to the restaurant upstairs. Nice, clean and simply decorated had a good view, or at least I did, over the Town Beach. Menu is the same as you get in the main bar downstairs ranging from sandwiches, burgers, steaks, salads, fish and chips, scampi etc. we had a mezze sharing plate to start with fresh bread which was more than substantial and would have sufficed a shared light lunch - I had a special off the board gnocchi with choritzo and spinach and husband had a steak he claimed was cooked to perfection - he's a chef so I guess he knows what he's talking about! Not enough room for pudding.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Another nice pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I like this pub.

I'd have adopted this as my local during my stay but it was
100 yards further to walk. Another pub that I will be happy to use
next time I'm there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Pub with a fabulous views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Mermaid is the locals pub, if you want the local atmosphere you must visit the Mermaid. The food is excellent, with three quality Chefs, and a changing Menu, so it is possible to eat there all week without, eating the same meal twice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Mermaid has it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Having just spent 3 weeks on St Marys and experienced several of the restaurants/pubs/ hotels during that time I can only say that the Mermaid came out tops on many counts. The pub has held onto its traditional style and offers a variety of beverages including the wonderful Scilly Ales. The bar food is great and there is a specials board which changes daily. You will find the bar frequented by several of the freindly locals, along with holidaymakers who have come to the islands for many years. Gig nights are busy and fun. For a memorable evening experience try the restaurant upstairs where the decor is light and has a more contemporary feel with fabulous views out over the old harbour. The various fish dishes on the menu are gorgeous, and so appealing its hard to choose. We found the staff to be happy and helpful under the watchful eye of Irene. A great place to go for a drink after a day out on the boats, a lunch time snack or a superb three course meal. The Mermaid has it all!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mermaid Inn also viewed

St Mary's, Isles of Scilly
St Mary's, Isles of Scilly
 
St Mary's, Isles of Scilly
Hugh Town, St Mary's
 

Been to The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mermaid Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.