We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, wonderful strudel, definitely stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse to your Saves list
Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sage House | High Lanes, TR21 0NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 40 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly service, wonderful strudel, definitely stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Sabine and her lovely staff made us feel extremely welcome. The guesthouse is comfy, cosy and very much like staying in a home away from home. The added bonus of having a kitchen to use and a tv and eating area to use as you wish meant that we had one night out and the second, cooking dinner whilst watching a DVD. Perfect. Would definitely recommend any one of any age staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
23
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay over Easter, Sabine couldn't have been more welcoming! The facilities are fantastic and everyone was so warm and helpful.
The kitchen facilities are well equipped and the communal areas are very comfortable and well looked after. The bedrooms are clean, tidy and exactly what was needed after a day exploring the islands.
The cakes for afternoon tea are exceptional!! A definite must visit even if you are staying elsewhere.
Looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is our second visit to this lovely welcoming clean guest house. When we arrived in Hugh Town on St Mary's we were both surprised and pleased to hear the familiar voice of Sabine calling after us as we walked along the road. Sabine was doing her bit to promote the Walk Scilly event taking place that week and had spotted us as we were walking past the tourists information centre and had dashed out to greet us. The continental breakfast which consists of a variety of fruits yoghurt, toast, cheeses, meats, cereals and as much tea or coffee you can drink is more than adequate but if required a freshly prepared full English breakfast is available for a small extra cost. The lounge with it's large flat screen television and various board games is a good place to pass the odd hour or two if the weather does turn inclement. The guests kitchen is well equipped and is somewhere to cook the occasional meal if eating out is not an option and the adjacent dining room is a great place to eat it so the smell of food does not linger in your room. All the staff are friendly and helpful and we and our well behaved dog were once again made to feel very welcome in this clean guest house. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, Co Durham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I booked this accomodation around 2 weeks before my trip to the Scilly Isles. It was the sixth choice on my list but the only place that had availability, and I now know why. I had 3 room changes during the first three days of my 5 night stay, for one reason or another. This was handled efficiently but I am afraid shouldn't have occurred in the first place.
I also hadn't realised until I had made the reservation that B&B at this establishment meant bed and Continental breakfast,(The owner isn't English so this could explain why!) you have to pay between £3.50 & £6 extra for an English Breakfast. The price difference depends on how many items you choose for your English breakfast!
I am a very fit and relatively young lady who walks a lot, however, the location was just too far out from the centre of Hugh Town. I would say a 2 mile walk... there are buses, but these are infrequent and stop around 6pm, meaning you have to take a cab on an evening, if not into the centre then certainly coming back as it is all up hill and there are no street lights. I was a Solo traveller so there was no way I would have wanted to hike back up the hill to the accommodation on my own and in the dark!
I am afraid this accommodation didn't meet my standards and it wasn't quite the experience I would have liked for my first visit to The Scilly Isles. Disappointing...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mousehole
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

if you are looking for a peaceful relaxing break in St.Marys this the ideal place to go. It's situated off a quiet country road in the middle of the island. Taxi's on the island are reasonable and always available. If you prefer you can take a walk into town (downhil most of the way) or you can catch the local bus that stops regulary just outside the gate.

We were made to feel really welcome as soon as we arrived. This place has a very lovely homely atmosphere.
The breakfast is lovely, Mmmmm - one of the highlights of our stay - the cook (can't remember her name) was just so lovely! really really friendly, welcoming and informative

The only downside that I can think of is that the shower tiles in our room needed re-grouting, and the cleaner took the welcome pack and magazines away on the second day - which was a shame as I was enjoying reading them.

The room itself was really clean and the bed was lovely and comfortable - I had the best few nights sleep! :)

I would definately recommend this place to friends and family and would definately go again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very relaxing place,Sabine/staff excellent, i hope to go back there sometime in the future.30 minute walk to town or catch a bus from outside guest house.the return bus service could do with with a later service otherwise a return walk or get a cab.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Sabine made us very welcome and helped us with a little problem - resolved it without fuss. Room on the small side but very clean and ample for our short stay. The breakfast was excellent and in a lovely sunny room. Would recommend but does involve a lot of walking as just that too much out of Hugh Town but we did get cabs back after our evening meal with no problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse

Address: Sage House | High Lanes, TR21 0NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse has a range of rooms to suit the requirements of all of our visitors - from large family groups, to couples, through to those exploring on their own. The views from the guesthouse are fantastic, allowing you to truly immerse yourself in the peace and tranquility of St Mary's. Guests are very welcome to come and go as they please (or to stay in the guesthouse all day if they wish), plus there is a guest kitchen with a mini-bar, a comfortable lounge (with plenty of games for the kids), a large dining room, and plenty of outside space (including a barbeque). A full English Breakfast is served between 8am and 9am, and a continental breakfast until 10am. There is also a cafe on-site, the Kaffeehaus, which specialises in Bavarian food and, of course, cream teas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Of Scilly Country Guesthouse England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.