We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, friendly and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colossus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Colossus to your Saves list
Colossus
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Pilots Retreat | Isles of Scilly, TR21 0PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 40 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Homely, friendly and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great friendly service, particularly when catering for my 'food issues' at breakfast. Location just 15 mins walk from the quay and main hub of St Mary's. Clean room and bathroom (mine wasn't ensuite but was private). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Colossus is known for two reasons in the Isles of Scilly - one for the Royal Navy ship and one for the guest house and its hosts, Carmen and Todd. Wherever you visit and whoever you talk with, you'll quickly realise they are almost celebrities! Books written by Todd appear in almost every shop and Carmen seems to be involved in many aspects of island life that gives the place its special charm. Anything you need to know, they will have the answer to ensure your stay is a good one. Soon after booking, we'd received a friendly confirmation email, checking we were ok with transport from the airport. When we touched down, the airport buses all know about Colossus and for only a few pounds we had a 15min trip including detailed, humorous commentary by the friendly driver. And that is the word that really describes this whole experience - friendly. Once dropped off we entered the Colossus guest house and found our room - exceptionally clean, comfortable and airy with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for clothes. Most importantly, a proper kettle and tea/coffee making facilities. Our room didn't have an en suite but that was no problem as we had a private bathroom with bath and shower across the hall, and a pair of luxurious robes to wear. Again, the bathroom is large, and immaculately clean. Each morning we had a full English, together with lively and interesting conversation with other guests and Carmen. If you are walking (and we did a lot) you will definitely need it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Excellent accommodation and hospitality from Carmen, Todd and Daisy the Jack Russell! A very friendly environment with Carmen providing a wealth of local information about Scilly - where to go, where to eat, etc.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This was our first stay on the islands and we couldn't have found a better place to stay. The B&B accommodation is excellent, both warm and welcoming. The rooms and facilities are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is first class. Carmen made us feel at home from the word go and was happy to help us make the most of our stay on these lovely islands. Thank you to Carmen and Todd for making us feel "at home" and for the lovely, interesting conversations.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We loved the islands and we loved Colossus and that is in no small part due to Carmen. The B&B is most definitely a home but does not give off the air that you are intruders in anyway. Clean, cosy and with a super breakfast there really isn't anything more you could ask for in a guesthouse. Carmen is engaging without being intrusive and you are not made to feel a stranger whatsoever. All in all we feel that Colossus is exceptional value for money, a lovely gateway to the islands, incomparably restful and we are now totally dispirited to be home. Now that's what you call a good holiday! Thank you Carmen and Tod from a very chilled out Karryanne and Gareth. Ps white chocolate and nutmeg, who knew?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was my second stay at Colossus and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Carmen, Todd and Daisy Dog are the perfect hosts in their super B&B home, all very relaxed and inviting and I was sad when the day of my departure dawned. I know how lucky I was to have had such a lovely week and I hope to repeat it many more times at Colossus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Wow another lovely returning guest review - it has been a lovely summer with more to come I believe. Thanks for taking the time to do a review - they are all so important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our 9th visit to I.O.S. the last 8 as guests @ Colossus with Carmen & Todd. Now enhanced by little 'Daisy', the friendliest pooch you will find. Such a friendly welcome, top quality rooms and facilities. If you do happen to find a more relaxing B&B, then let us know - it won't be on St. Mary's, that's for sure. Colossus becomes magnetic - you won't regret booking here, ever!

Room Tip: Book early, en-suite ground floor preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks Bob. You don't get much quieter than our cul-de-sac. Close to all amenities too. We loved seeing you both again, it's so nice to share our love of Scilly with others that love it too. NB Daisy dog is kept away from those who prefer not to be near dogs or have allergies to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colossus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colossus

Address: Pilots Retreat | Isles of Scilly, TR21 0PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colossus 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colossus is a detached bungalow with garden overlooking the lower moors and situated in a quiet residential cul-de-sac. Only a 5-7 minute pleasant walk with splendid views brings you to Hugh Town, where you will find shops, restaurants, pubs and three beaches and lastly the harbour - where you can hop on the daily boats to the off-islands. Five minutes in the other directions you will find Old Town and coastal walks.We have B&B rooms as well as a self catering flat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Colossus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colossus Isles Of Scilly, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colossus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.