We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colossus a better berth than her namesake!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colossus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Colossus to your Saves list
Colossus
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Pilots Retreat | Isles of Scilly, TR21 0PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jugon-les-Lacs, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Colossus a better berth than her namesake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having chosen the Colossus for a long overdue return to the Scillies we were made to feel very welcome by Carmen and enjoyed her hospitality and insight into Island life. Breakfasts were good especially the kippers and continental breakfast although the full english would benefit from being cooked to order. Our room was well presented and well equipped but was not ensuite, see other comments below.
The location is probably unsuitable for anyone unable to walk up and down hills but most visitors are likely to be able to manage this although the number of "golf buggies" on hire suggested otherwise. The Colossus is a fine B&B with a friendly hostess but its location is "high and dry" with no scenic views and is also close to the municipal refuse site although this is screened from the property itself by trees and shrubs.
Overall an enjoyable holiday especially as we did not suffer the same experiences as the occupants of the previous Colossus!

Room Tip: We booked through a third party site which did not make it clear that the double bedroom and bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for giving us 4 out of 5 for your stay. I would like to clarify that a full choice of cooked and cold breakfasts are freshly cooked to order each day. Lastly thank you for your kind offer of a house swap with your home in France! Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Easy walk down into town every day (and to the little church with Harold Wilson's grave and a quiet bay). Very nice accommodation and tasty breakfasts, but the main reason to come here is Carmen...a very friendly and informal guide to getting the most out of your time on the islands. You can't beat a stay with a native Scillonian!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and I love chatting to my guests each day. Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed three nice days at Colossus. The room was very comfortable and the bathroam was very clean and recent. The breakfast was English standard. The hostess was friendly and gave advices to us each morning concerning the timetable of the boats to the other isles.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited Scilly Isles as a last minute decision and was pleasantly surprised at everything, it is a hidden and often overlooked gem of the British Isles.
There is no doubt that Carmen at Colossus contributed greatly to the enjoyment of our visit, with a delightful continental breakfast and lots of friendly advice on what to do and where to go on Scilly. Having come home, I do miss the chats over breakfast. The B&B is spotlessly clean with a beautiful garden, it's in a great location too for access to the local facilities of St Marys.
I've heard that people who go to Scilly return year after year and I know that we will be back too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. It would be lovely to see you again another year. To clarify we do serve a full choice of cooked breakfasts too. Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

As first time visitors to St Mary's we booked at the Colossus by chance as it was one of the few affordable places still available at short notice. We were happily surprised, our self accommodation room-plus-kitchen was perfect, simple but spacious and comfortable and recently decorated. It had everything we could have needed for a weeks long stay, and the place was very quiet and private. The owner Carmen is lovely and very helpful. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. It would be lovely to see you return here one day. Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Scilly Isles has been on our places to visit list for some time .and a little surprise for Liz . The whole holiday experience was greatly enhanced by the choice of staying at Colossus .Carmen made us very welcome and the breakfast were delicious .Carmen did not mind answering our question regarding the Isles and very informative ,I would not hesitate to book the Colossus in the future . regards Liz and Pete Harding

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks Liz and Pete for your review. It would be lovely to see you return here one day. Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yatton keynell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had been meaning to come to the Scilly isles for years, so this was our first visit, we stayed for five days and we fortunately chose Colossus to stay. Carmen proved to be an excellent host
the room which was en suite was to a very high standard as was the breakfasts each morning. Carmen was very informative and we learnt a lot about the Islands as well as their history and especially about shipwrecks and their contents since both Carmen and her husband Todd are expert divers and well known for their knowledge.
Thanks again for a most enjoyable stay.
Les and Linda

Room Tip: ground floor bedroom with en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. I hope your both well. Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colossus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colossus

Address: Pilots Retreat | Isles of Scilly, TR21 0PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colossus 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colossus is a detached bungalow with garden overlooking the lower moors and situated in a quiet residential cul-de-sac. Only a 5-7 minute pleasant walk with splendid views brings you to Hugh Town, where you will find shops, restaurants, pubs and three beaches and lastly the harbour - where you can hop on the daily boats to the off-islands. Five minutes in the other directions you will find Old Town and coastal walks.We have B&B rooms as well as a self catering flat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Colossus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colossus Isles Of Scilly, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colossus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.