We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - We didn't want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colossus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Colossus to your Saves list
Colossus
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Pilots Retreat | Isles of Scilly, TR21 0PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect - We didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I had wanted to visit Isles of Sciliy for a while but were worried that because we are a younger couple (early twenties) we would feel out of place, this was certainly not the case. Our short stay at Colossus was lovely, the room was light and airy and absolutely spotless, everything was supplied and Carmen makes a great breakfast and a perfect host. Will deffinatly be staying here again. Couldn't of asked for more. Abbie & Adam

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back one day. Kind Regards Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Friendly, efficient and very convenient place to stay. Tasty breakfasts with all the usual ingredients. Quiet at night and comfortable bed. The bed and breakfast is close to the centre of St Mary's, making it a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back one day. Regards Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just back from a wonderful week in the Scillies. Chose Colossus because our son is a diver, and
Todd's adventures and discoveries sounded very interesting. We were very lucky with the weather, and walked for miles on all the main islands. Carmen made our stay enjoyable with her lovely breakfasts and advice on where to go and what to see, as well as amusing stories of local events. The room was excellent - comfy bed, good en-suite, quiet location. Would happily recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thanks for your comments. We always like to welcome feedback and its lovely to hear positive feedback. Regards Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have recently returned from our first - but definitely not last - visit to the Isles of Scilly. We were lucky with many things, not least the weather. Colossus was a lucky find. It is situated not far from the centre of Hugh Town at one end and St. Mary's Old Town at the other. We had a warm welcome from Carmen. Our en-suite room was clean, spacious and well equipped, including two comfortable chairs (often missing in other places we have stayed).
Sitting around the breakfast table with the other guests and Carmen chatting to us - after she had served us a delicious breakfast - felt like talking to friends we had known for a long time. We are glad we took Carmen's advice about where to eat, what to visit and how to space our visits to the other islands. I am now looking forward to reading Todd's book about 'naughty' Mrs. Cargill, Ghosts of Rosevear and the Wreck of the Nancy Packet.
Renate and Ian

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We did have a fun week with wonderful weather. It's always good to have a chat to guests, it opens my eyes to the big world out there whilst helping guests to enjoy their day out. Thank you Renate and Ian for taking the time and your kind comments about Colossus. Best Wishes Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

A very nice B&B with clean rooms and high standards. Comfy beds, TV, free Wi-Fi, iron board, hairdryer, torch and everthing else you could need is available. The host, Carmen, is really friendly and cooks a great breakfast with a lot of choices including a vegetarian one. She is also an experienced diver. A great choice and location for a holiday in the Isles of Scilly.
Anders and Sally,
Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Wow I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves. It was a lovely week. I was swimming yesterday and was joined by a seal. Sweden sounds wonderful too. Thank you very much for kind words. Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

LIke many others we were unfortunate with the weather this year which prevented helicopter flights on both our journeys. W also had some rain most days but not enough to spoil the enjoyment of the Isles of Scilly.

We had a really good week generally. The room was comfortable, the price reasonable and the breakfasts excellent (particularly the fresh fruit with the continental option!)

Carmen was a really good host. Helpful and considerate at all times, she was a mine of information about the Islands and the local restaurants. She could not have done more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scillysunshine, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. It's a shame you had problems with the helicopter but I am glad once you landed on Scilly you enjoyed your holiday. It would lovely to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have recently returned from the IOS having spent a week walking the main 5 islands,what a beautiful place.I picked Colossus having read its excellent reviews on Tripadvisor,we were not disappointed.The property is well located in a quiet area a short walk into town where most things are located.Carmen is a great host and made us most welcome throughout our stay.Rooms are clean and tidy,bathrooms well appointed and breakfasts excellent and set you up for the day.Carmen is very knowledgable and enthusiastic about the islands,and gave us good advice on what to see, where to eat and what to avoid. Top boiled eggs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Colossus, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you Ian for your kind comments. I did laugh out loud at the boiled egg comment! 8:) Best Wishes Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colossus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colossus

Address: Pilots Retreat | Isles of Scilly, TR21 0PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colossus 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colossus is a detached bungalow with garden overlooking the lower moors and situated in a quiet residential cul-de-sac. Only a 5-7 minute pleasant walk with splendid views brings you to Hugh Town, where you will find shops, restaurants, pubs and three beaches and lastly the harbour - where you can hop on the daily boats to the off-islands. Five minutes in the other directions you will find Old Town and coastal walks.We have B&B rooms as well as a self catering flat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Colossus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colossus Isles Of Scilly, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colossus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.