We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mincarlo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mincarlo
Save
You added Mincarlo to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Carn Thomas, TR21 0PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 40 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Although in a single room the view was beautiful even if the weather wasn,t. The rooms are scrupulously clean and have everything you need with even a chair and binoculars to look out over the bay. Bryony is very welcoming and breakfast is hearty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Country
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here with our 5 and 3 yr old, and grandparents. The cottage is down the side of the b&b, it has 3 bedrooms and all are a good size. 1 bathroom, and extra toilet upstairs. Downstairs the kitchen has all you could ever need and more! Lounge and dining room aren't huge, but enough space for us.

A nice touch was Bryony had put extra toys in the cottage for our children, and when we had our wet day, these were very useful, puzzles and cars.

This is a great location, just minutes from the town, and beaches. A wonderful view.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wonderful position for a guest house with great views. I chose this guest house because it has single rooms, and flexible booking days. It was just what we hoped it would be. Comfortable bed, great views, lovely breakfasts, very welcoming and great atmosphere. Will be back.

Room Tip: Slightly limited headroom in the attic rooms, but we were warned of this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here a number of times and never disappointed. Friendly, laid back and comfortable with views to die for, surely must be the best location in town yet only a five minute walk to all facilities.Just being on the Isles of Scilly is magical, staying here really is the icing on the cake.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Having stayed at Mincarlo a couple of times before, I didn't hesitate in booking their new selfcatering accommodation for my family to come over for a family wedding at easter..When I asked Briony if we could bring a sleeping bag for a four year old as an extra, she didn't think twice and offered to rearrange everything for us, making space for the extra child and even made up the beds for the two little ones with appropriate bedding ( a lovely touch). Although three generations stayed,it was roomy and beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, and to be able to go into Mincarlo itself on two of the mornings for breakfast was great, The children were delighted with the books, games and bucjkets and spades Thanks both of you hopefully we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Mincarlo, husband needed to work on the island so I went as well for a little trip. Only stayed one night but found Bryony to be very welcoming and helpful on arrival. The room was lovely and clean with the most beautiful view over the harbour/beach/sea. The fact there was no T.V. in the room was not a problem, as there was a radio and free wifi if needed and to be honest with the setting, peacefulness, tranquility & view who needs it. The bed was very comfy and the bed linen seemed to be of very good quality, that mixed with walking for hours and lots of Scilly fresh air made for a fantastic nights sleep. The binoculars in the room was a great idea as my husband and I had a great time sat in the window with a glass of wine watching the world go by.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious you could tell the ingredients were of good quality and there was no end of toast/drinks to be had. The girls serving were lovely and very attentive.
All in all we were sad to leave and wished we could of stayed longer, if we ever visit the island again which I hope we do then the Mincarlo will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Mincarlo is a family run Guest House with a friendly welcome and a relaxed atmosphere in an ideal location overlooking the beach and harbour of Hugh Town, which is the most significant place in the Isles of Scilly. The room was really comfortable. WiFi was free. Breakfast was good. It is an easy level walk from where the Scillonian docks and the boats to the smaller islands come and go. There are good places to eat in the evenings all within easy walking distance. A boatman calls in during breakfast to let you know what sailings to the other islands are available that day. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the harbour are marvellous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mincarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mincarlo

Address: Carn Thomas, TR21 0PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mincarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mincarlo guest house sits in a quiet corner of the bay on the waterfront overlooking St Mary's harbour in the Isles of Sicilly. We hold a Gold Award from the Green Tourism Business Scheme ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mincarlo Isles Of Scilly, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mincarlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.