We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote Gem in Southern Spain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Torre del Visco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Torre del Visco to your Saves list
La Torre del Visco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road A1414 Valderrobres-Fuentespalda Km 19, 44587 Fuentespalda, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fuentespalda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Remote Gem in Southern Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

La Torre del Visco is a remote gem, a luxurious hotel with splendid service and spectacular views. The rooms are spacious as are the hotel and grounds. Every detail is attended to meticulously. The food is also exquisite. We highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalest, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very beautiful location, great hotel and friendly staff. I was personally not expecting something as unique and was pleasantly surprised by how quickly we felt relaxed. The breakfast is one of the best I have had.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suite and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Torre del Visco is a unique hotel: it is not only set in marvellous surroundings (a valley filled with almond and olive trees) but is itself an ancient building that has been skilfully modernised to a very high standard, and with impeccable good taste. In winter (as well as central heating) there are open fires in all the main rooms, including the kitchen; a marvellous sunny library (both books and music); an open kitchen in which breakfast is served at all hours of the day at a large farmhouse table; and a first class dining room. You can have as much privacy or as much conviviality as you want - on the way up to bed following an excellent dinner it is not unusual to be find yourself joining the owners and chef at the kitchen table for a glass of wine and discussion of the next day's plans. For anyone who likes walking in serious hills/small mountains with astonishing views, this place is a paradise. Take a packed lunch, provided by the kitchen, and walk off the splendid breakfast as well as preparing for a delicious dinner - local produce includes vegetables from the hotel's own kitchen garden. The staff have almost all been with the owners and the hotel since it began around 15 years ago, and consequently the ambiance is that of a large family that enjoys making new friends, without ever being in the least intrusive.

Hire a car, brave the 5.5 kilometres of unpaved road to the secret valley in which the hotel sits, and have a unique and deeply restorative time there. We have been going for ten years now, and plan to go on doing so. Although the hotel is expensive, it is extremely good value for money, in that a magnificent breakfast and dinner are included in the price of the room. It's our annual treat, in which we can let ourselves be entirely looked after - cooked for, cherished, tidied up after and given a beautiful view whereever we choose to look.

Caroline T

Room Tip: The tower itself has steep steps up to the top rooms, but wonderful views; the more modern rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My family spent two days here in between stays in Madrid and Barcelona. It was the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the two cities. Well worth the drive down the unpaved road! All of the staff was very friendly, yet professional, and super accommodating; Gemma the owner is a great host, she is there if you need her but she is not obtrusive. The food was delicious, breakfast was quite the treat at the big common table, and dinner each night consists of three courses, with three options for each course, it seemed like there was always a fish as well as meat. They had a good wine selection and lots of other beverages to choose from in the cellar which you could acess 24/7. We did a spanish cooking class while we were there and I would highly recommend it, it was a highlight of our trip! Caroline is a great instructor and made it fun for all of us. Each of our rooms were very nice, a picturesque view with large beds and sitting areas. This property is just gorgeous, the pictures don't really do it justice and neither will my description. There are plenty of opportunities to spend time outside, lots of seating areas, a lot of different paths to walk down and trails to take including one to a waterfall, and there are roses everywhere on the property (they also offer flower arranging). I would highly recommend La Torre del Visco if you are looking for peace and quiet, there were so many special little things about this place from the location to the people. We didn't want to leave this little piece of heaven, but we were well rested and energized for Barcelona after our stay. It's a little gem that I really hope we get to visit again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Verry quiet hotel. Beautiful lecture roms. Cellar with wide vairety of wines. Take your time to choose the wine you like. Superb breakfasts in the kitchen, in a common table with other hosts. To visit nearby, the beautiful small cities of Valderrobles, La Fresneda, Calaceite.
First night dinner was superb. The dinner in the second day was not the best (they were fully booked, and I believe he kitchen could not afford so many people).
Nice rooms, no telphone and no TV!!!! but it a bit cold outside and the room was hard to warm up.
In summary. very recomendable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Here the nature is an absolute part of your stay.
Beautiful surroundings, wonderful garden and roses. Roses are everywhere. A deliciuos scent.
A perfect place to get in peace with oneself.
Only 11 rooms and several salons garantee you will not be disturbed by other guests.
Wonderful for both summer and winter escapes. You will not want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were a little skeptical while driving the 5 km gravel road to get to Torre del Visco, but it was paradise once we arrived. The hotel is in a beautiful location. Because it is so isolated it is extremely peaceful and relaxing. The owners are charming and Marta was so helpful. We felt at home as soon as we arrived. They offer unique touches that we have never experienced before. For example, instead of a mini bar in the room you are invited to the beautiful wine cellar at any time to help yourself on the honor system. Dinner was excellent. Breakfast was a real treat. They serve it in the kitchen around a big informal table. Our only regret is that we stayed only one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Torre del Visco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torre del Visco

Address: Road A1414 Valderrobres-Fuentespalda Km 19, 44587 Fuentespalda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Teruel > Matarranya > Fuentespalda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fuentespalda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Torre del Visco 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a hidden world of simple luxury. A converted medieval estate set amidst pristine nature, Boutique Hotel Relais Chateaux La Torre del Visco is a genuine refuge of beauty and quiet indulgence in a unique enclave of secret Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your La Torre del Visco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torre Del Visco Fuentespalda
La Torre Del Visco Spain/Aragon - Fuentespalda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Torre del Visco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.