We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Tuscan paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Sassolini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Sassolini to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Sassolini
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Moncioni, 85/88, 52020 Montevarchi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Montevarchi
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A piece of Tuscan paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 5 nights at Villa Sassolini and I have to say it was fabulous. The remote location up in the Tuscan hills makes it feel like a real hidden gem and the gardens and interiors are beautifully done. The food is also a real treat - I would definitely recommend the truffle linguine!

George and Andrea looked after us wonderfully and Andrea even arranged for a special early morning breakfast on the day we had to leave so we could catch our early morning flight.

We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    28
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
82
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband & I visited the Villa in April 2012, as part of a trip to Florence & Tuscany. What a wonderful find - and what terrific staff.

Special mention to George who looked after us beautifully at dinner each evening. Food was delicious. Company in this small, stylish hotel was fun.

Only 2 smallish things could improve the hotel - full size hairdryers and robes in each room.

Room Tip: You MUST request a room with a view / over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I went there for our honeymoon 4 years ago. Located in a middle of nowhere, on the hill of Tuscany, in a little village Moncioni this beautiful hotel is a real gem. The rooms are huge, the bathrooms modern and smart, the decor warm and cosy, the views spectacular. The staff is very helpful and attentive. We will definately come back one day!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

After a week in the Tuscan hills in a self-catering property we enjoyed driving to Villa Sassolini and being spoilt. Very nice renovated building located in a small village outside of Montevarchi. We enjoyed our stay in a Double Deluxe and booked through Mr and Mrs Smith. While the room was lovely, very big and very tastefully decorated, we had no view and the room was quite dark. There was only quite a small window going out to the back of the house. The other guests were mostly honeymooners, maybe that made a difference in the choice of rooms.

The restaurant in the little park is lovely. We had very nice dinners there although beware of the mosquitos! Extremely romantic and great food. As the hotel is out of town in a very small village you definitely need a car to explore the surroundings. It would be a waste not to do so.

Very recommendable for couples if you want to stay in a quiet and romantic place but not too far away from the sights of Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

After driving for what seemed like ages through winding roads in the hills and mountains we arrived at Villa Sassolini... and it was wonderful! The architecture and decorations are at once quirky, beautiful, modern, and ancient - it's beautiful stone, glass, grays, whites, silvers, and textures and the hallways and stairs twist and turn, up and up.

The food and service are impeccable; and to accompany a wonderful dinner comes breathtaking views from the surrounding valleys and mountains. I only wish I could have stayed for more than 2 days!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Villa Sassolini is absolutely perfect!

Location: It's situated on a hill top overlooking Tuscany and situated within one-hour of both Firenze and Siena. You can take a short drive and me immersed in the Chianti region for some fantastic wine-tasting or, if that isn't your thing, the Prada Outlet is just 10 mins away as well.

Ambience: My mother arrived after a long drive in from the Amalfi coast and were immediately enveloped by the warm, earthy feeling of the hotel. You can't help but be relaxed when you arrive. We stayed in Room 6 and the view was beautiful overlooking all the rolling hills of Tuscany.

Management & Staff: Wow! Wow! Wow! We stayed at Villa Sassolini for 3-nights and were completely taken care of by George and especially Andrea. One example of the level of service ... we had traveled to Florence one day and it was a rather cold & wet day so when we got back to the hotel the only thing we wanted were nice big bowls of soup to warm us up. Although this was not on the menu it wasn't even a question for Andrea ... our soup was served within 20 mins and was absolutely perfect!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Tuscany!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Spent the last 3 nights of our Tuscany holiday here and found it a perfect place to relax. The subdues tones, stylist furniture and beautiful and, sometimes, quirky furnishings used throughout the hotel give it a calm and elegant atmosphere. Candles in the dining room and lounges at night added to the relaxing experience.

Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices and as the days were still warm, we were able to eat outside on the terrace. The dinner menu was varied and imaginative and the quality of the food and cooking very good.

Our room (no. 4) had amazing views over the garden and to the countryside and mountains beyond and was very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely with a generous walk in shower.

Best of all were the staff. Andrea, the Manager, and Romeo and George made us very welcome and were excellent hosts. We visited a medieval town recommended by Romeo and were not disappointed. We mentioned to Andrea that we loved fish and there was none on the menu so he offered to go to the market the following day and buy whatever we would like. We took him up on his offer and enjoyed fresh sea bass on our last evening.

This is a delightful boutique hotel where the staff are caring, knowledgeable about the area and treat you as friends. The attention to detail throughout the hotel was stunning and the location, though some may consider it a little remote, was beautiful.

If we have another holiday in Tuscany we will definitely book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views. They don't all have a bath but the showers are large and efficient. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Sassolini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sassolini

Address: Largo Moncioni, 85/88, 52020 Montevarchi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Montevarchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Montevarchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sassolini 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
022 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Escapio, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Sassolini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sassolini Hotel Montevarchi
Hotel Villa Sassolini Italy/Montevarchi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Sassolini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.