We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic escape in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ventena Vecchia antico frantoio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montevarchi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ventena Vecchia antico frantoio
Via Di Moncioni 153, 52025 Montevarchi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Bucharest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Romantic escape in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

It is true ! I think that Ventena Vecchia is the best idea of accommodation when you decide to see Tuscany. Location is great - you can go everywhere in Chianti region in maximum 1 and a half hours drive. The great cities of Florence, Sienna and Pisa are not so far as well. Accommodation is very nice - the apartments are very well designed and you can find all the useful things you need inside. Hosts Siggi and Olaf are nice people and will give you a lot of useful hints regarding the area; we enjoy a lot the dinner with them.
Do not miss when you are in this region: fortified cities of Radda In Chianti, Pienzza, Montepulciano and Cortona. Best restaurant : La Botegga , at the entrance in Volpaia (excelent view, service and food)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
124
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at Ventena Vecchia (La Ginestra apartment) for two weeks and it was worth every penny. The owners (Olaf and Siggi) are incredibly friendly and have a great sense of humour.

The villas are a great base for exploring the wider region – as they’re located centrally within Tuscany, Florence is only 40 minutes by train and Siena is only 45 minutes by car. The interior of La Ginestra was beautifully decorated in typical Tuscan style – a huge amount of attention has been paid to every single detail, not just to the apartment but to the whole of Ventena Vecchia. The apartment was equipped with everything you could possibly need.

The surrounding views from every angle are just spectacular – look out of your bedroom window to see an amazing sunset and sunrise across the olive grove and vineyard covered hills. You won’t hear anything but the cicadas and the occasional sound of a bottle of red wine being uncorked (although hopefully not at sunrise!).

If you’re looking for a private terrace, double check beforehand that your apartment has one; most apartments do but a couple don’t – there are still plenty of seating/eating areas in the wider property/shared garden so there’s always somewhere you can go and sit for some privacy.

Ventena Vecchia is quintessential Tuscany. We highly recommend staying there: luxurious, peaceful, and beautiful – a real treat and escape from the hectic lifestyle in the UK.

Room Tip: If a private terrace is important to you, check that you have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaTravel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We really enjoyed our vacation at Ventena Vecchia and can definitely recommend it to anyone. Great setting and wonderful location. Perfect for exploring the beautiful Tuscany and very close to Siena (our favourite city in Tuscany). The apartments are very well furnished and nicely decorated.
But the best are the hosts, that really make you feel "at home". Special thanks to Olaf and Siggi!!! I am sure, we will be coming back one day......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Ventena Vecchia. The appartments are situated in a large well renovated countryhouse on the top of a hill. Ziggi and Olaf are very enthousiastic hosts and we had a great meal with them and the other guests prepared by a local cook from the village. The surroudings are beautiful and trips to Pisa, Florence, Arrezzo and Sienna were easily made (by train or car). The lovely appartment really felt like our home during this week.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Ideal romantic retreat with perfect connections to get to know Tuscan cities and essential vineyards by car.

We could have stayed so many weeks longer, life just seems to take a different pace at the Ventena Vecchia!
Spectacular views overlooking the rolling Chianti hills from your private terrace or garden pool to enjoying fine meals sat under a tree or lazing on your private terrace or garden pool in the sun. Every day you become a little more Italian!

German quality through and through, beautifully maintained garden areal, apartments equipped and furnished to very high standard and full of advice what do do and where to go.

Really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and hospitality! One of the highlights is the homemade Tuscan food evening, hosted by the owners. All guests are invited to join the 'family dining table' for a night of eating, talking, drinking and laughing together! Home away from home!

Actually.... my highlight was the Prosecco & our hosts Olaf & Siggi greeting me to my Tuscan birthday morning :)

P.S. Bilder auf der Website unbedingt ansehen, es ist wirklich so schön dort!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Ventena Vecchia is an enchanting experience that takes one away from the stresses of everyday life. It is a wonderful getaway nestled in the side of the breathtaking olive groves of Tuscany. From the second we pulled through the gate, we knew we had arrived at a special place. When we entered our tastefully decorated apartment, we were simply charmed. We spent the days touring the nearby towns, shopping and sightseeing, and loved getting back to mingle with the other guests. Olaf pointed out lots of nearby points of interest for us to see, including a local vineyard which we absolutely loved.

Though we were Americans visiting Europe for the first time, Olaf introduced us to the others and the meal we all shared was simply magical. Everyone embraced us and communicating in English was not a problem. What a wonderful time we had! We can’t wait to go back and plan to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

From the moment we arrived in November, we loved this place and the hosts. The pictures on the website of Ventena Vecchia did not do it justice. All was better, we were more than pleasantly surprised.

We only had one week in November to stay in tuscany, and we could have easily spent a week exploring. Looking back on our trip, this was definitely our favorite place to stay. I just wish we had time to stay longer, two weeks ;-) ! It was the time of olive picking, all by hand.
Olaf, the staff and other peaple where working in the olive terraces. The biological olive oil they made here is amazing, delicious, short I had never better flavor of olive oil.

The room was beautifully decorated in "Tuscan Country style, and had all of the amenities you would expect if you were traveling. The was a bottle of wine as well come drink and a little bottle of olive oil at our room. Immediately we felt well. One thing I noticed immediately was how clean everything was, just immaculate. And believe me, I notice all details! Nice touch with the quality toiletries. The beds where more as genially, we had alway a deep sleep.

What makes this place shine are the owners. Olaf, Siggi, Bea and Rolf love to share recommendations. We've visiting the museums in Florence and small towns in the Tuscan countryside, we liked Arezzo, Siena, Pienza, Montepulciano and Cortona, all trips neets only one or two hours from here, all of Olaf's tipp-off and recommendations were perfect.

Not only breakfast, every fruit you could imagine, all available and the dinners where delicous and Bea's selfmade "Nicino"-Liquor at the end only great. Everything was fresh made. They even offered us always the best wine. Our favorite way to start the day was one of Pina's unforgettable cappuccinos, the fresh bread and the selfmade marmelade, oooh don't forget the pecorino-chees.

Thanks Olaf and his team for sharing your passion for Tuscany and this place. We will be back soon and have recommended Ventena Vecchia to many friends, because this is a place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ventena Vecchia antico frantoio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventena Vecchia antico frantoio

Address: Via Di Moncioni 153, 52025 Montevarchi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Montevarchi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty lodging in Montevarchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic romantic estate in the Chianti with 10 luxurious apartments and a pool in panoramic positionJust below the small picture postcard village of Moncioni, in the heart of Tuscany, lies Ventena Vecchia the historical farm house and tuscany villa. The farm densely cultivated with olive groves, the origin of which dates back to 1200 century has been meticulously restored, mindful of the typical tuscan architectural style of the period. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ventena Vecchia Antico Frantoio Italy/Montevarchi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventena Vecchia antico frantoio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ventena Vecchia antico frantoio to your Saves list