We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Buca di Ipo

La Buca di Ipo
Via Pascoli 34, 52025 Montevarchi, Italy
+39 055 982233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 38 Restaurants in Montevarchi
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Nice little pizza restaurant with a family atmosphere, where the care and love for the food and the customers are the main thing. With our 100 pizzas and fish menu we can satisfy any person .....
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Easy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The 2 of us ate at La Buca di Ipo one evening without making a reservation.
An easy trattoria style restaurant with traditional Tuscan dishes and fish courses.
Food wise, no complaints. We ate well and we were quite satisfied.
Slow and kind of stressed service.
Affordable prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    55
    25
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Assen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

we stumbled upon this restaurant because there was nothinh else open in the area. Initially, we thought 'what a shabby restaurant' but after seeing all the locals eating here we decides to give it a try. The antipasti, a mix of differnt chees and meats, was reasonably good. The main course was below average, with cold meat on the tagliate. The place had a strange atmosphere with mob-like types walking in and out. also, the chef must have been out to the street several times to talk to the customers. This seems nice but when he is coughing in his hand and wiping his hands off on his clothes, before walking back into the kitchen, this is not a pretty sight.

I do have the feeling that it could be better in this restaurant seen that all the tables were filled with locals, howver I don't feel like taking the effort to try again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
choppy65, Proprietario at La Buca di Ipo, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Google Translation
Questi signori evidentemente sono abituati a posti diversi dalla Buca di IPO.............. Se mi hanno visto fuori a parlare con i clienti è solo per cordialità, e poi i suddetti devono sapere che le mani le lavo tutte le volte rientro in cucina. Evidentemente nei paesi bassi sono abituati a mangiare in angusti e sterile strutture fredde come sono loro.......... Comunque se la cordialità è un difetto, ci dispiace..... provate a gustare il cibo e godervi l'animo delle persone. IPO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We Come Back Every Year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Every year we come to Italy and stay in Moncioni in the mountains not far from Montevarchi. We frequently eat at la buca di ipo with our friends Bob and Ally. The pizzas are great and there's a good wine list. We usually sit outside because inside it's usually a mob-scene. This place is very popular with the locals and is always crowded. We'll be back when we return to Italy next year.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bargain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great pizza, great atmosphere, great prices. The sort of place Tuscany does so well. Reserve if you want to eat outside.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buca di Ipo also viewed

Montevarchi, Province of Arezzo
Montevarchi, Province of Arezzo
 
Montevarchi, Province of Arezzo
Montevarchi, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to La Buca di Ipo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Buca di Ipo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.