We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only all Bed & Breakfasts were operated like this one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Solaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Solaro to your Saves list
Monte Solaro
Via Monte Solaro 30, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If only all Bed & Breakfasts were operated like this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights here at Monte Solaro, and Costanzo and his family were gracious hosts. Always providing us with refills of water and glasses of red wine in the evening. Even when we discovered a leak in our shower, Constanzo immediately took care of it. The views from the property are breathtaking, and Anacapri is more civilized and less busy than Capri. Even the small plunge pool provided a welcome relief from the heat. If the walk up the hill is too difficult, never fear, because someone from the property will drive down to pick you up. Looking forward to returning here again very soon. Grazie Constanzo!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    31
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
132
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

What can I say? I think most everyone's reviews of Constanzo and Monte Solaro hit the nail on the head- Love it!

We booked two room for two nights at 100 euros per room/per night which also included a bottle of wine.

Upon arrriving in Anacapri, we called Constanzo who promptly picked us up and took us up the steep hill to where the B & B is. Wow, what a beautiful place! Everything about Monte Solaro was so well thought out. The terrace which gives you such a breath-taking sunset each night, to the solarium and pool ( which we unfortunately couldn't use as the weather was on the cool side). As the rooms weren't quite ready, he offered us coffee and then gave us our choice of rooms. Of course my husband and I chose the room with the double shower- how romantic, right? The kids were right next door and their room was equally nice.

Constanzo offered to drive us up or down the hill to Anacapri whenever we wanted and even seemed a little sad when we chose to walk. I know he just wanted to make things as easy for us as he could and we assured him that we really wanted to walk.

Constanzo and the rest of the family was very attentive and friendly offering us coffee and Limocello on several occasions. Constanzo even made me take a couple handfuls of the lemon candies for the kids.

The breakfast was more than enough for us. On our second morning, it was raining a little and Costanzo's mother put the spread out in her kitchen and even added some extras.

I love this place and my only regret is not being able to stay longer. I sincerely hope that one day I will be able to stay here again.

And if Constanzo makes it back to California, we hope he comes to visit us!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Can't say enough about our excellent three-night stay here. From the moment we were picked up by Costanzo (who runs the place) at the bus stop it was like heaven on Earth. The view is phenomenal and the spaciousness of the outdoor areas -- including sun deck and small pool -- are serious bonuses. I had a hunch this place would be special based on the recommendations I had read here and elsewhere and all of my expectations were exceeded. Best hospitality ever. And FREE Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Our decision to stay at Monte Solaro truly sealed the deal on ensuring a fantastic visit to Anacapri. We were there for a small wedding and were delighted to find that friends of ours had chosen to stay there also based on the top Tripadvisor reviews.

Costanza's B and B lived up to the reviews and more. He really gives you a personalized treatment and by the end you feel you are leaving a dear friend. Costanza and his brother picked us up and gave us rides down the steep hill every day and night, with good humor. It would really make the difference after a long day of sightseeing to have to hike up that hill, but Costanza picks you up.

Breakfast on the terrace was very night and the views from the three levels are breathtaking. The first level is the breakfast terrace with the private room terraces, middle is a sunning/lounging level, and the top is a swimming pool with hydro jets. The breakfast is a nice typical Southern Italiian continental with fruit, bread, croissants, coffee, juice and fresh tarts from the local bakery. A few nights he also broke out the Limoncello, which his brother makes.

A huge plus is the wifi service that comes with the room. We brought a little netbook and the wifi access was invaluable in planning the rest of our Italian trip. We learned later in travels to Sorrento and Rome that wifi is a huge perk when traveling in Italy, as internet access generally runs about 5 Euros per hour in most places.

About Anacapri - I simply cannot say enough good things. Contrary to all I've read about Capri on the other side of the island, Anacapri is quiet and can be reasonable if you choose your restaurants carefully. The people are supremely welcoming and Costanzo epitomized the warmth and graciousness of the island.

If you come to Anacapri and stay at Monte Solaro, you are guaranteed the visit of a lifetime. The only month I believe it is closed is November, when Costanzo goes on vacation. You can check Monte Solaro out on Facebook as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Wonderful B&B - the world's best views of Anacapri! Out of the chaos of Capri. Costanzo is amazing and very helpful in picking you up whenever so you don't have to walk up the hill. The rooms are lovely and carefully decorated. So relaxing and a wonderful end to our trip to Italy. Fabulous!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

10 mins from anacapri town, fantastic views - see photo - over the town and sea, front row seats for specatular sun sets. Extremely helpful and friendly staff, nice large and clean rooms, sun lounge area, and small pool again with super views from all areas. The B&B is up a steep hill, will def work the legs however the staff will drive you up or down on request.. can call an they will pick you up from the bottom.. Breakfast is basic, other than that can't fault it, you are 100% going to have a fantasic stay in capri if you stay in monte solaro.. we had a brilliant time. Cheers Gustanso.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Monte Solaro is a beautiful B&B on a hilltop in Anacapri. I say a "hilltop" beaucause to access it, you have to climb a very steep hill. Thankfully, Costanzo, the owner, is always on-call to come pick you up if you feel too tired and obviously, if you have big luggage! Speaking of Costanzo, he gave us an amazing service, offering us Cappuccino on our arrival, telling us what to do & where to go, booking us a boat tour around the island. he is truly helpful. The room was very cute, and the view from the terrasse is simply magical!!! You can see the beautiful sunset and the island of Ischia! WOW! It is also a great place to be away from the crazy action around Capri. The breakfast is very simple, croissant+coffee... Good restaurants around are : Arcate and Renallina's (not too sure of the writing...) Would recommend this for a wkd in Capri!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Solaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Solaro

Address: Via Monte Solaro 30, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming guesthouse from where to enjoy stunning views of the island of Capri and the surrounding sea.An attractive dwelling overlooking the town and the sea, just a few minutes away from the center of Anacapri, on the slopes of Monte Solaro; the mountain after which the bed & breakfast takes its name.A delightful little Bed & Breakfast immersed in the Mediterranean vegetation, which greets its guests from a magnificent panoramic terrace.From the Bed & Breakfast Monte Solaro the celebrated Piazzetta of Capri, the beaches, and all of the island’s principal attractions are within easy reach.Guests sojourn in tastefully furnished bedrooms, each with its own private bathroom and terrace.Costanzo and his family will be happy to provide guests with fascinating insider information regarding the island, thus allowing visitors to experience Capri to the full.A breathtaking view can be admired from the Bed & Breakfast Monte Solaro; a view which extends across the roof tops of Anacapri to the sea, the Bay of Naples, and the islands of Ischia and Procida.The sunsets to be enjoyed from the terraces of Bed & Breakfast Monte Solaro are quite spectacular. At night, the lights emanating from the fishing boats and, across the water, from the city of Naples and the Sorrentine peninsula offer a magical display. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Monte Solaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Solaro Hotel Anacapri
Monte Solaro Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Solaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.