We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb views and a quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Solaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Solaro to your Saves list
Monte Solaro
Via Monte Solaro 30, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb views and a quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Costanzo was the perfect host during our stay, ensuring we had everything needed to feel comfortable. His homemade yogurt at breakfast was excellent, as were his tips and advice on everything from dining spots to itineraries to cab fares in Naples. The location is quite a ways up the hill in Anacapri, but Costanzo does offer a pickup service (which is great at the end of a long day). The view is worth it. His terraces offer a full 180 view of the Bay of Naples, and a stunning location to view the sunset each day, as well as enjoy breakfast. The sundeck was also nice. We would definitely stay in this B&B again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    31
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
136
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This bed and breakfast made our trip through Europe truly unforgettable. Firstly, the price was excellent. When we booked we were a bit concerned with what we were going to get for our money, but boy were we pleasantly surprised. The location is great, with one of the best views of the ocean you could possibly get. It’s close to town and the rooms themselves are superb with big comfortable beds, big cupboards and a great shower built for 2. The owner and his family are great hosts. Costanzo went out of his way to make us feel welcome, from picking us up in the town square to helping us out when we had some forex issues. Capri itslef is hard to beat, but staying in a place like this makes it unforgettable. You must stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place has such a great view of Capri island at the most reasonable price. It was pretty easy to access South/West end of the island (light house) to North/East end of island (Villa Jovis) from Monte Solaro by bus. In walking distance, there is my favorite San Michele Axel Munth's villa, open for the public. Due to bad weather when we were there, we extended our stay one more day than our plan, owner's family was very kind to take good care of all the guests. No doubt, we will go back to Monte Solaro! Thank you~~~

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great place to stay at a great price. Owners were helpful and friendly. Picked us up and dropped us off whenever we asked and they didn't make us feel as if we were bothering them. Plenty to see within walking distance. Restaurants close by as well. Room was clean and adequate. We enjoyed the views (awesome sunsets) from the terrace. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham common
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Arrived on Capri and got the bus to Anacapri and Monte Solaro. Surprised at the distance and location of the B&B from the bus stop we were nevertheless, collected by Constanzio who gave us a coffee and chatted at length on the balcony overlooking the town and the sea. We got the last room which did not have a window but it does have a sky light , the hand basin had a u/s plug, the toilet seat was damaged at the disconcerting genital position. All that said we assure Solaro has earned its very good Tripadvisor assessment. Father and son Constanzio are very amenable. Please don’t damn it with our feint praise because Anacapri is beautiful. Breakfast is served on the balcony and was lacking in variety, presentation and substance.

Room Tip: The best rooms are one of the 3 that are slightly forward of the other 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had been procrastinating for writing reviews in Trip Advisor. Wanted to start first with Monte Solaro because we had some of the best memories of travel here at Capri and Monte Solaro. As people have mentioned again and again we were taken care of well by Costanzo and his family. We arrived as tired and weary travelers to Capri. Am glad we choose this place as it worked for as well in terms of proximity to Monte Solaro, Villa San Michele, to the Anacapri restaurants and the bus stop. The rooms were were comfortable and clean. My husband had a bad knee and could not walk uphill. Costanzo went out all the way to pick us most of the time from the bottom of the hill. I forget to mention that we had some amazing Capri oranges! We missed the blue grotto as there were high tides. So looking forward to going again to Capri and staying again here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Monte Solaro is a hidden gem on the isle of Capri.You are made feel very welcome on arrival by Costanza & family with great advice on restaurants, local transport etc, Costanza is the only one that speaks good english. The B&B appears to be purpose built over 3 levels with pool area, sun lounge area & the 5 accomodation bedrooms. The room we stayed in was excellent with the best bathroom & showers in all the B&B's in italy that we stayed at. Small fridge & safe are provided, as is a daily supply on tap of cold filtered sparkling or still water & a coffee on request. We had spectacular sea views & views over AnaCapri village from just outside our room, with some great sunsets at night. The bedroom is very modern, very clean & was very well maintained during our stay. The breakfast is provided in the breakfast room was okay with a continental provided with cereal, pasteries, bread (sandwich maker provided), jams, meats & cheese, coffee or tea. Free wifi was also provided with a very strong signal even outside our room. Access to the B&B is a very steep climb/walk & not for the faint hearted, however Costanza & his Dad Antonio provide a shuttle service & will pick you up from the Piazza di Pace in their 4 wheel drive vehicule within minutes of your phone call. Monte Solaro is a very solace place after the hurly burly of tourist trap lower Capri with its huge crowds from cruise ships & visiting ferries. At AnaCapri & Mount Solaro you can get away from all of this. A bus strike on one day even made AnaCapri a little piece of heaven as visitors struggled to get to AnaCapri. We recommend you eat in at least once, get a takeaway pizza & a bottle of wine & sit outside your room & watch the sun set. The B&B is very close to the Mount Solaro chair lift, Villa San Michele, & a small bus ride away from Lido del Faro & Marina Piccola all worth a visit. Great value & highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent, inparticular the 3 front units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Solaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Solaro

Address: Via Monte Solaro 30, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming guesthouse from where to enjoy stunning views of the island of Capri and the surrounding sea.An attractive dwelling overlooking the town and the sea, just a few minutes away from the center of Anacapri, on the slopes of Monte Solaro; the mountain after which the bed & breakfast takes its name.A delightful little Bed & Breakfast immersed in the Mediterranean vegetation, which greets its guests from a magnificent panoramic terrace.From the Bed & Breakfast Monte Solaro the celebrated Piazzetta of Capri, the beaches, and all of the island’s principal attractions are within easy reach.Guests sojourn in tastefully furnished bedrooms, each with its own private bathroom and terrace.Costanzo and his family will be happy to provide guests with fascinating insider information regarding the island, thus allowing visitors to experience Capri to the full.A breathtaking view can be admired from the Bed & Breakfast Monte Solaro; a view which extends across the roof tops of Anacapri to the sea, the Bay of Naples, and the islands of Ischia and Procida.The sunsets to be enjoyed from the terraces of Bed & Breakfast Monte Solaro are quite spectacular. At night, the lights emanating from the fishing boats and, across the water, from the city of Naples and the Sorrentine peninsula offer a magical display. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Monte Solaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Solaro Hotel Anacapri
Monte Solaro Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Solaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.