We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bussola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bussola to your Saves list
Hotel Bussola
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Traversa la Vigna, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Anacapri
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Fantastic hotel we got here in the rain and the staff did so much to brighten our day! (they actually brought hot coffee and croissants to our rooms while we were waiting for our other room to be ready).Cristian and Rita helped us were the sweetest ever, and suggested some great places to see after the rain cleared up. Rooms were wonderful and clean, and was great. Many thanks for your all .
Mary

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    56
    17
    13
    16
See reviews for
27
106
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spend 2 nights at the Bussola Hermes Hotel in Anacapri.
Passionates hosts have received us with a smile and warm welcome and spent time for an extensive tip to visit the island.
rooms are clean and comfy , ours with a terrace with a sea view , bfast is very simple but the went extra mile to ensure me the tea i had requested.

short walk to the main square of Anacapri , to a lovely souermarket to by delicious fruits and greens or simple italian sandwich.

Room Tip: ask for the upper floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were welcomed to the hotel by the owners who could not have been more helpful. While our bags were taken to our room we were shown how to get to the local bus stops and all of the islands attractions.

The hotel itself is in a secluded location which is a pleasant five to ten minute walk from Anacapri's shops and restaurants. The hotel is beautifully furnished and has good facilities for a small hotel (WiFi, vending machines etc). The hotel feels secure; when the reception desk is not manned (i.e. late at night) you can access through a locked side gate which you are given a key for. The room had air conditioning, a safe, fridge, a good sized bathroom with a very nice shower (with plenty of hot water). The room was cleaned to a high standard every day.

Breakfast was very good; we were made very nice fresh coffee of our choice and there was a selection of croissants, jams, bread, meats and cheese.

After a very unpleasant experience in Naples we wanted to arrive a day early. I was really pleased that Rita gave us the same rate on the day for the extra night as we were paying for the pre-booked days. They were also able to take us with our bags to the harbour on our last day which was a real help!

We had a wonderful time at Hotel Bussola; Rita and Christiano could not have been more helpful and pleasant and they really made our time on Capri special - we will be back.

Room Tip: Balcony is well worth the extra €10 per night - in the afternoon it really caught the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here in 2006 when as I now understand they were in their infancy. I wrote to Rita and informed her that I was coming back after 7 years, except this time with my wife. We had a wonderful room with private bath. Breakfast was quite nice and needless to say Rita and Cristiano were amazing. They are continuing to expand the hotel with small details. The place had changed a lot since I last visited and is great to stay in Capri. Easy to get to the Grotta Azzura and I forget the location to watch sunset (at the lighthouse) recommended by Rita. They really are the most hospitable people we met during our stay in Europe and I would definitely recommend the Bussola even just for their hospitality!! They even assisted us to the bus stop which was a by away as we had really heavy bags being on a 5 month trip. We hope to return in a few years.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

What can i say..Rita and Christiano are the best ...NOTHING was too much trouble, the hotel is VERY clean, nice location, very quiet, and the service from both Rita & Christiano was outstanding!
I will DEFINATELY return there soon and tell all of my friends to stay at hotel Bussola...trust me...you will not be disappointed.. thank you so much.
(and the comments about the tv not working in another review....YOUR IN CAPRI !!! why would you be watching a TV ?)
lovely stay, many regards to Rita and Christiano
Tony Covell ( London)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel Bussola was awesome! Everything was clean and cozy and the couple that runs the hotel welcomed us as if into their own home. We loved every second of our stay there. The couple even helped us plan out our whole day in Capri, offering all sorts of advice on where and when to go to the different attractions. Plus, the beds were SO comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I spend four days at the Hotel.
Everything was very beautiful, the room was cleaned well to welcome guest, the bathroom was also very beautiful.
You will see a splendid terrace on the second floor, can be relaxed and will forget about the days in the city where you live.
Madam.Rita and her kind brother had been so friendly to everybody from the world, and They made me realize what the professional is.
Madam.Rita and her kind brother was friendly at all ,made me feel happy at any moment.
You will have tasty breakfast, and cappuccino, and couldn't help having cappuccino at the breakfast.
I think this was the best of the best cappuccino I have ever had in Italy and the world.
I would like to recommend to all of you this beautiful friendly atmosphered hotel.
You will fall in love with the Hotel Bussola, the professional friendly staff at the hotel, Anacaori and Capri.
And also I found the beautiful hand made bags were put in a wooden cupboard at the ground floor.
These were all hand made by Rita, and felt love and Capri ! From the bag cause Rita make the bags from sincere, tender heart!
If you are still thinking about where to stay, it's definitely Hotel Bussola!!!

Room Tip: I stayed at ground floor in such a beautiful room! Security is strict and feel comfortable at any t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bussola

Address: Via Traversa la Vigna, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anacapri
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bussola 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful welcoming hotel, in neo classic style, rooms are furnished with all comfort, some with private terrace overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bussola Di Hermes Hotel
Bussola Di Hermes Anacapri
Hotel Bussola Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bussola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.