We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere near 5 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caesar Augustus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caesar Augustus Hotel to your Saves list
Caesar Augustus Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via G Orlandi 4 | Baia de Napoli, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Anacapri
Washington State
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Nowhere near 5 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2005

To me a five star hotel is a place where you are waited on hand and foot. Where everything thing has been thought of and everything is luxurious and proper. A Five Star Hotel should know who you are when you arrive, have the room you asked for ready to go, and take care of you the entire time. This is not a five star hotel. This is more like the Comfort Inn with a stunning view and setting.
Upon arrival, the front desk made no acknowledgment of who we were and several times tried to give us the wrong passports back - and tried to give ours to others. We got the 50 cent tour of the grounds - which are *incredible*, and then were deposited in our room. During the tour, we were pressed to make restaurant reservations several times and we finally were forceful and said we needed to wait - period.
The room. It was disappointing to say the least. It is not a Junior Suite. It was a smallish room with a fabulous balcony with plastic chairs. The shower is some kind of weird conversion with a window in full view of some of the locations of the hotel. The bed may have been made by a Michaelangelo pupil - carved from concrete. The phone barely worked, the refrigerator never got cold, and the air conditioning hardly worked.
But the bugs. Oh my goodness. With such a beautiful view of the water, we wanted all the windows open to enjoy it. DON'T DO IT! Unless you enjoy having large red welts from who knows what kind of bugs all over your body. There was absolutely zero pest control and it was quite depressing.
The staff. Sigh. They ranged from very friendly and helpful to ridiculously uncaring. Turns out that the staff is like a cruise ship staff - they live at the hotel and work non-stop for a week and then get a few days off. It does not seem to make happy campers. While we did not experience the major problems some of the others did, we never felt like the fit with the environment.
Overall, the hotel is all look and little substance. You pay for the view, and pay alot for it. And to us, laying by the pool (albeit a freezing cold pool) and sitting on our balcony were priorties to us and it served it's purpose. Food in the restaurant was not worth the price, we didn't bother to order a drink at the bar after hearing of someone paying 14 Euros for a small White Russian, and never found the breakfast spectacular (although a nice touch).
If the price were right I may stay here again. But after seeing some of these reviews, I would be hesitant to tempt fate since we didn't have too much to complain about. Perhaps next time the Amalfi Coast will be a better choice. . .

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    74
    48
    26
    26
See reviews for
43
323
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sevenoaks, kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2005

We have just returned from a too short, 2 night break at this fantastic hotel. We arrived with some trepidation, having read some awful reviews re: the service. Thankfully our worries were totally unfounded, the staff could not have been more friendly, attentive or helpful. Franco was positively charming, just ask him about his grandchildren, praise his beautiful hotel - not difficult - and be amazed at how long he has worked there, he's a pussycat!

Words don't really do justice to this hotel, it really has to be seen to be believed. Our room, a junior suite, was truly gorgeous, cool and classically decorated, the bed was divine and we had our own little private terrace and garden overhanging the clifftop, totally breathtaking. The infinity pool is a feat of engineering, perched on the edge of the world! It could, however, do with a good heater, be warned. The terrace restaurant too, clings like limpet to the edge of the cliff, and there can be few better places to eat whilst drinking in that view.

The staff helped us to choose wonderful restaurants, made helpful suggestions regarding places of interest and arranged an amazing private boat trip around the island, a real once in a lifetime experience!

A jewel of a hotel on a jewel of an island. We will defintely return to this little slice of heaven on earth, when we've saved enough money, of course!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2005

My husband and I recently spent a wonderful four days and three nights at the Caesar Augustus for our honeymoon. Happily we discovered the negative reviews to be unfounded. The service was personal, attentive, and always friendly. Our junior suite was spacious with two, floor to ceiling windows that open up to a beautiful balcony that runs the length of the room. The hotel grounds have amazing views from virtually anywhere and charming places to sit or eat away from other guests.

I am not sure why other reviews note the service as unfriendly. We found the service at the Caesar Augustus to be an extremly pleasant experience. Our reception at the port by Franco or maybe his identical twin (yes there are two of them)was extremely friendly. Claudio was always available for suggestions on itineraries, restaurants, and shuttle times.

The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. About a five minute walk to the charming shops in Anacapri where you can get anything from beautiful Italian shoes to hand painted crafts to a delicious inexpensive bite to eat. For 1.30 euro you can take a six minute bus ride down to Capri (the bus stop is across the street and comes practically every five minutes.) Don't bother renting a car the roads are treacherous for eveyone except the busdrivers and scooters. Everyone takes the bus in capri...we never even opted for the hotel shuttle.

We would definitely stay at the Caesar Augustus again and again. Take the negative reviews with a grain of salt and see for yourself. If you are looking for a romantic, elegant hotel in Capri the CA is definitely the only hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2005

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at the Caesar Agustus and were VERY disappointed. Before I give you a laundry list of reasons NOT to stay here, I will say the view is incredible and from our balcony, it was stunning. Also the breakfast was nice in the morning.

That beauty was ruined by terribly rude service (we are American but I seak fluent Italiam): I overheard them many times discussing other guests who had just made inquiries at the front desk. Franco, Amalfi's equivalent to "Tattoo" from Fantasy Island shuffles by you without acknowledging and is a rude little man who shouldn't ever come into contact with people.

We were not allowed to order anything by the pool except and open faced "croque monsieur" sandwich...if you want to eat, you must visit the restaurant. They do not recommend other places to eat simply saying, "You should eat at our restaurant!". Our laundry cost $78Euro (for 8 pieces...not even dry-cleaned!)

In conclusion, spend your money elsewhere...stop in for a drink and the view but don't be fooled by their website or positive reviews, if you like any service at all, stay somewhere else!

SEE my review of Hotel Cimbrone in Ravello for a REAL place to visit!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2005

One of the best views anywhere into the bay of naples and capri. You feel like you're on a plane. Great airy rooms and big baths with whirlpools. But the service....We were left waiting for over an hour for a table at the half-empty restaurant. The waiter first shows 20 mins after we are sitted to announce to us that the kitchen just closed! Then the WORST, MOST UNPROFESSIONAL AND ROODEST "maitre" IN THE WORLD right out insults me in front of my girlfriend for calling him by saying:"excuse me my friend". His exact reply: "I am NOT your friend. I am just a professional who is forced to work for you!" They made us feel as we were a nuisance and merely ANNOYING them with our desire to eat. I have never been treated worst in my life. Furious i chose not to respond, rather to complain to the mngmt. Instead of repremanding him, they tried to explain what a really sweet guy he otherwise is and suggested i just fill out a complaint form! The food was mediocre. The breakfast was never right. This hotel with a little brush-up and comletely different mgmt & staff could be great. The "maitre" needs to be seriously beaten up.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2005

We have been to the wonderful island of Capri many times but we had never stayed in this jewel of a Hotel. Not only are the rooms exquisite but the views are unparaleled.
I had read a couple of negative comments on Trip Advisor regarding the level of service but this must have changed as the service during our stay (5 days) was of the highest quality.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2005

The rooms and view overlooking the sea and the city is beautiful. Didn't have our view that we had reserved but compensated us. Worth it if you can afford it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caesar Augustus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesar Augustus Hotel

Address: via G Orlandi 4 | Baia de Napoli, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anacapri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caesar Augustus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty of a villa suspended between the sea and sky surrounding Capri. The luxury of a 5 star hotel designed to look and feel just like your own beautiful island home. The privacy guaranteed by the secluded location, on the cliff edge, 300 meters above the sea. The only 5 star hotel on the island of Capri with: A breathtaking view encompassing the whole of the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast Six utterly unique imperial suites A restaurant serving zero miles cuisine made with ingredients grown in the kitchen garden that you can visit every day A double level infinity pool facing the sea An outdoor wellness area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Caesar Augustus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caesar Augustus
Caesar Augustus Anacapri
Caesar Augustus Hotel Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caesar Augustus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.