We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a try if the weather permits!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Grotto

Blue Grotto
Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$160*
and up
Capri Day Trip from Rome
Ranked #9 of 11 Attractions in Anacapri
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Activities: Motor-boating, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The must-see attraction on Capri is the magical Blue Grotto, where visitors take a boat ride through a natural cavern that is filled with an ethereal and eerie light reflecting on the (very blue) water.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Give it a try if the weather permits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014 NEW

Capri Islands is one of the most beautiful places in Italy. To visit the blue grotto or not is always a difficult debate- especially if you are short of time.
So here are my 2 cents on this- I did take the plunge despite many people telling me it's a waste of time and over hyped!
Its not over rated- the experience is amazing and one of a kind. You may feel a little claustrophobic when you enter the grotto especially during the tourist season, but 30 seconds later you are in awe of beauty of it. The water is just the most amazing shade of blue!
So do give it a try if you have the chance, incase the weather is bad there is lot to do in capri either way:))

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    274
    195
    147
    176
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 NEW

This is an exceptional place that every visitor to Capri must go to. However, before you go, I would recommend that you check the weather forecast to make sure that there is no current, as sometimes the place could not be accessible due to weather conditions, and people are asked to go back without entering the cave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Touristy but a " must -see"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW

We busted grotto azzura with my husband and our 11yr old twins.we took the private boat tour by laser capri along with a tour of the island and were pleased with our choice.
The crew was very courteous and showed us around the island with brief commentaries.and then we had to transfer to a smaller boat(it takes only 4 people)to get inside the grotto.there is a separate fee if about13€ each .a lot of people didn't like that but it's a small price compared to all the money spent on coming to the amalfi coast!
The boatmen were friendly and didn't badger us for tips..
Getting into the blue grotto can be a bit unnerving and one has to lie down flat in the small boat in order to get through the tiny opening into the cave ,with a lot of loud shouts in italian and fast maneuvering by the boatmen.once inside,it's a strange mix of otherworldly and eerie blue that lights up in the water and the dark cave.add to this the the italian boatmen singing their version of "o solo mio",which some what dilutes the beauty of this natural wonder and makes it touristy.
But the 5 minutes spent in the dark cave fill you with wonder to be sharing the same place as the roman emperor chose for his relaxation..
The blue grotto might be called touristy but hey,you are in Capri which is filled with day trippers and I ,one among them!
Don't miss it !its a highlight of Capri.
A few things to consider before going to the blue grotto:
-Do check the tides before you go,if the tides are high the entrance is closed.
-try to go early in the morning to beat the crowds
-the water can be choppy ,so so think before you go,if you get motion sickness
-the transfer to the small boat requires climbing a small ladder from the big boat to the smaller boat-so people with physical limitations should take that into consideration




Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Electric blue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

The blue grotto is truly beautiful and is of a blue that you cannot compare to any other blue. The actual grotto is surreal. Nature sure does turn on a fantastic "Must See" at this place. Yes there are big crowds and the usual, but we were on an organised tour that went there for the day and stayed at Sorrento. It would be great to go again one day...
PS If you can get a swim in there -ask your Oarsman- just do it!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

I wouldn't recommend this trip, we paid for the trip from the harbour (€13,50), and when we arrived outside the cave, it was chaos. We were told aggressively to jump into these small boats, and then they demanded more money after we believed we had paid for the entire trip. The man rowing the small boat had no interest in our experience, only to continually ask for a “tip”. The caves weren't that impressive, the trip to the entrance of the cave was more impressive. My wife did all of her research on the trip before we went, so I wish we had read some honest reviews beforehand. We were left feeling ripped-off, and it completely ruined our trip to the island.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Grotto also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Blue Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.