We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Capri” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Carlo a Veterino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anacapri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Da Carlo a Veterino
Via Veterino 10, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful Capri”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My dad and I came to Carlo and Assunta by chance- our original accommodation in Sorrento had double booked our reservation. They kindly arranged for us to go to Capri for the night instead. What a happy accident! The island itself is beautiful, full of delightful experiences and sights. The outstanding hospitality we received from Carlo and his happy family really lifted this adventure to a new level. We ended up staying an additional night and loved every minute. The personal care and attention; the comfortable and well appointed rooms; the million dollar views; the sheer effort Carlo put in to make our stay fantastic! I will tell everyone I know to stay at Da Carlo a Veterino. I know I'll be going back! Thanks Carlo!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
68
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, united Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Met at Marina Grande in Capri by an animated and English speaking Carlo we were made to feel almost part of the family from the first moment. Is this the most helpful B and B owner ever? Quite probably. Advice on anything and free lifts in his Fiat where and when he can. Nothing seemed any trouble. His house is in a delightful quiet location of Anacapri away from the busiest parts. Only the last few metres are a really steep climb; the rest is a pleasant stroll, past the excellent mini market on Via Vigna (famous and amazing sandwiches as others have written). The room was clean, spacious and with air con: nothing fancy but perfectly pleasant, with a decent bathroom and plenty of hot water. The bed was large and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was also very good and included fruit from Carlo's trees, taken on the terrace with that great sea view. Carlo, and Assunta, his charming (French speaking, limited English speaking) wife, are excellent and caring hosts, and I do not hesitate to recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The views are fabulous, the rooms comfy and spacious and the breakfasts great. Carlo is a wonderfull host and character and is always willing to help, so don't be afraid to ask! The place is a walk down from the main centre which some folk would find strenuous but carlo will hapily pick you up from the ferry and pick-up and drop-off if and when required.

Some great walks near by and ask Carlo to recommend eating places

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Out of all the traveling I have done and the places I have stayed, I enjoyed staying here with these people the most- with all my sincerity! They are so wonderful, you are lucky to be a guest here. Carlo gave us so much good information and help, him picking you up at the port IS THE BEST THING EVER! also use the little market store that he points out, they are the cheapest I could find in Capri and they make the best sandwiches. The view is also fabulous, I could go back in a heartbeat. Dont forget to return the room key (unlike myself, whoops!- had to mail it from sorrento)

Room Tip: all rooms are great, bonus there is air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was a wonderful ,cosy B & B place to stay. Carlo treated you like family, picking us up at the ferry dock, and driving us around to show us his favourite places. His insight and information helped us spend our days with the maximum of enjoyment. He was a warm and wonderful host! We will come back, especially to see all the grottos. You need 3 days at least in Capri.Definitely a recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet with beautiful garden, sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Da Carlo a Veterino in spite of the rain and only a one night stay! Carlo picked us up at the port and drove us to his B&B while he explained many things about the island and assured us that we would have a good time even though the weather was bad. (It had only rained one other time since June!) He dropped us off at a local deli to buy lunch items and marked the places to visit in Anacapri on the map and provided us with umbrellas. He drove us to and from the Blue Grotto but unfortunately the water was too rough to swim in. Assunta, his wife, felt bad that we did not get to experience the Blue Grotto so she gave us placemats with pictures of it on them! As we sat on the terrace relaxing with some local wine we bought at the deli, he offered us some of his “green water”—a wonderful liquor that he makes himself as well as a slice of warm homemade cake. Carlo made dinner reservations at a nearby restaurant that was a set price and the restaurant provided transportation both ways. Breakfast was delicious and served in their kitchen since the wind was blowing the rain in that morning. The common terrace offers wonderful views even though it was somewhat cloudy and hazy while we were there. He also drove us to the lighthouse and to Capri for pictures and of course, back to the port for our ferry to Sorrento. The only small glitch was that the air conditioning in my brother’s room was not working. Fortunately, the weather was cool due to the rain and they provided him with a fan, so it wasn’t a problem. I am sure it will be fixed by the time the weather is warm again. We had a lovely time in spite of the rain and brevity of our stay. Thank you so much Carlo and Assunta!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booking a B&B with Carlo means getting so much more than a place to sleep and eat breakfast while visiting this beautiful island.

From the moment we arrived on the island, on the bustling Marina Grande, and met Carlo standing by his Fiat waiting for us, we knew we were in good hands, and had found a host who was keen to make sure we derived as much pleasure from his island as he does pride.
He talked with enthusiasm, as he drove us to the B&B about the best things to see and do on his island.

We were glad of the lift, as we didn’t need to worry about getting ourselves to the B&B under our own steam. There are plenty of buses and taxis, but Carlo’s service takes you from gangway to front door.

The rooms were large, clean, airy and spacious. It was pleasantly cool inside throughout the day, even when temperatures were in the high thirties outside.

Breakfast was served on a terrace with spectacular views overlooking the sea, with the island of Ischia in the distance. The breakfast itself comprised of juice, fresh fruit (figs and Barbary figs, which grow on the island), fresh coffee or tea, croissants, brioche and marmalade. If you are an English visitor, they are only too happy to give you a dash of milk to go in your tea!

Carlo is also prepared to speak to you in English, but I was keen on improving my Italian.
Both Carlo and his wife know so much about the island, that they really give great advice on how everything works. They know where to go, when to go, and how to go, if you want to get the best out of the Capri.

Their welcome is warm and typically Italian, and I shall certainly be staying there again next time I visit Capri.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Da Carlo a Veterino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Carlo a Veterino

Address: Via Veterino 10, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Da Carlo a Veterino Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Carlo a Veterino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Da Carlo a Veterino to your Saves list