We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Il Solitario

Trattoria Il Solitario
96 G. Orlandi street, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
+39 .081.837.1382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Anacapri
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We enjoyed a relaxing late afternoon lunch at this restaurant after walking around Anacapri (which I much prefer to the crowds in Capri). I found the outside patio under the trees to be a nice setting. The service was attentive and the food was solid. My wife raved about the stuffed pepper with zucchini and olives. The pasta with clams was very good. My son enjoyed the focaccia bread (but not the meatballs). The price for lunch was reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    77
    19
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Was not pleased”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

After living in Naples for two years I came here for lunch on a visit to Capri, as it was highly recommended. After asking the waitress about what fresh fish was available, I ordered scialatielli agli scampi (fresh fettuccine-like pasta with shrimp) and it was bland and completely lacking in flavor. I barely touched it, which is extremely unusual for me at restaurants in Campania. I highly suspect that the staff actually prepares the food differently for Americans than Italians. The pasta was bland and clearly not mixed or sauteed with the shrimp and olive oil at all, as none of the fish flavor was imparted to the oil.

It is the only time I have ever had a pasta like this in the area -- and, given that some American tourists complain about their pasta being "fishy" when it is prepared the proper way, I wonder if the restaurant purposefully prepares its pasta dishes differently for American customers than Italian ones. Another American friend got an unremarkable, bland and over cheesy pizza during our visit.

Disappointing. I won't be back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service and low quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and had to wait 15 to place the order thoug only 6 tables occupied. Took another 30 minutes to get the pizza. Other tables ordered pizza after us and got it before us. Fod did not taste spessialy good. Generaly slow service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overrated place and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Maybe we four are not lucky, but it was: the worst bruschetta and 4 cheese pizza for all our trips to Italy. Gnocchi with gorgonzola - 3 out of 5. Tuna salad was stale in our opinion, changed without problems to cod cooked with vegetables and it was excellent. I do not recommend the local white wine San Michele, take it from other regions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in dappled sunlight and shade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Il Solitario is a wonderful place; a family-owned restaurant where you dine under the vines in the garden or in the comfortable surroundings of the small restaurant itself. Food is welcomingly simple and always good - grilled fish and seafood pasta being two favourite and often-sampled dishes. The pizza and bruschetta are extremely tasty too, as is the wine! We've been coming to Anacapri for the past four years and always eat here - for us its the best restaurant in Anacapri. At lunch you'll find your fellow diners come from across the globe and in the evenings its often full of italians enjoying a late and leisurely meal together. (There aren't many tables and it can get busy so best to book in the evening). Alessandra and Giulio work extremely hard to ensure that you enjoy your meal - they're great hosts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Il Solitario also viewed

Anacapri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 
Anacapri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Trattoria Il Solitario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Il Solitario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.