We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful meal and fantastic view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Gelsomina

Da Gelsomina
Via Migliera 72, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
081-8371499
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Anacapri
Price range: $0 - $44
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful meal and fantastic view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is fantastic. Traditional Italian family cooking set in the most wonderful setting in Anacapri within a vineyard. We had a combination of pasta and fish dishes and both were wonderful. We also tried the organic wine from the vineyard which was fantastic. The prices are also very reasonable in comparison to many of the restaurants in Capri. Ensure you take the short walk after your meal to take in the stunning views!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    102
    28
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unpretentious family cooking with a terrific view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked Da Gelsomina for Sunday lunch on the strength of the reviews on this site, and were very very pleased that we had done so. The family running this restaurant clearly know what they are doing. We were collected from Anacapri (takes about 20 minutes to get there by taxi from Capri harbour) and whisked up the hillside through twisting lanes high above the Capri coastline. (You'd never find the way to this by yourself.)
The family are welcoming and most efficient. The menu is substantial and the food well prepared. We particularly enjoyed the pasta with tiny courgette/zucchini flowers. (They even tell you on the menu if something is not fresh from market. e.g. seafood) They also serve their own wine, which although unlabelled is definitely better than a lot of the Campanian wine we shared on our trip. Sit outside on the terrace and enjoy a magnificent view of their vineyards and the coast in general.
They also went the complete extra mile for us. Being short of time we needed to arrange a taxi to take us back to catch our boat back to Sorrento, and instead of arranging for a pick-up they kindly took us back to the port themselves. That's what I call excellent customer service.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A recommendation from Villa Ceselle - I had rabbit! Awesome. Beautiful patio - great ambiance. Food was out of this world!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Heaven has a place in Anacapri!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Visited for lunch a few weeks ago. Was happy that they were open during the holidays in late December. We were a party of 4 and had read about this place here on TA beforehand and were looking for the whole Italian experience. Well, we got it. We were the only party in the restaurant for the first hour that we were there. We had the feeling of sitting in an Italian home and being welcomed with a delicious meal. We started with plates of antipasti. Meat, cheeses, olives, grilled vegetables and with their own homemade wine. It was divine - so we had two more bottles! We had homemade breads and pasta dishes that don't taste like what I can get at home....Heavenly! After finishing with some espresso, Pasquale, one of the family members that runs the B&B, told us about some viewing spots on the Island that I'm not sure we would have found without him telling us (see pics). He then offered to drive us back to the bus station so we could get back to the port for the ferry back to Sorrento. Just so, so friendly and kind.

I will not only go back to eat here again, but will stay next time. Thank you Pasquale for making our experience so lovely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“4 for food, 5 for total experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

the restaurant was recommended to us from some foodies we met in Sorrento. we called for a reservation 45 minutes before arriving (best to call, because they'll save you a good table). we misunderstood the directions. apparently the restaurant said they'd send a shuttle for us in the center of Anacapri in 10 minutes, but we interpreted it as being a 10 minute walk. so, we walked, along a charming "street" that one small car could barely fit on. for maybe 20+ minutes. despite octeoginerian parents complaining that the walk was too far and that we should turn back, when we finally arrived it was heaven. the view was fantastic. my pasta was so-so, but perhaps i ordered poorly, because everyone else's was great. they make their own wine there without preservatives, so it's only good for a day once they pull it out of the cask. the white was much better than the red. the homemade lemoncello sublime. but the magic of the place was the serenity. after fighting crowds all day (we only did a day trip) on the ferry, the funicular, the busses, the towns of Capri and Anacapri, it was so peaceful to arrive at the restaurant and receive attentive but unobtrusive service in a patio restaurant with the best view ever. it was such a haven i didn't want to leave. of note, they do have a hotel with a pool. i would love to go back and stay there with a group of good friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Gelsomina also viewed

Anacapri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 
Anacapri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Da Gelsomina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Gelsomina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.