We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a piece of paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Odyssey Hotel Kefalonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Odyssey Hotel Kefalonia to your Saves list
Odyssey Hotel Kefalonia
Agia Efimia, Agia Efimia 28081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Truly a piece of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

From making enquiries of Catherine on reception to booking out at the end of our holiday, this is one of the best hotel experiences I have had. So much kindness from all of the staff; where else would they re-charge your Kindle for you? Make special cocktails for you on your last night (complementary) Offer you the use of your room free of charge on your last day to shower etc as your flight is a late one? Giorgios on reception always had a ready smile and a twinkle in his eye. Gerasimos (the cocktail-maker!) was so willing and helpful to me with a short Greek lesson every day, and we wish his wife good luck when his first child is due in August. Lucas the chef amazed us with excellent dishes on the menu every evening and here's a secret - we always eat out on our last night as an extra treat on holiday but there was no point this week as the fare on offer at the Odyssey was sooooo good! And we will not forget Alessandros, our ever-present waiter who described dishes patiently to us, talked us into trying things we would not have chosen and was extremely pleasant and interesting to talk to. Last but not least the sweet waitress at breakfast - thankyou to you too. Our suite was a delight from the gold/brown decor to the jacuzzi bath and the button by the bed to open the room-width curtains to reveal another glorious day each morning. Everywhere was spotless during our whole stay and I noted that all staff members spoke better English than my Greek - even the charming cleaning ladies. This hotel is in the perfect situation right on the seafront, just a few minutes (very pleasant) walk from the village square with shops, tavernas, restaurants, car hire, GPO, chemist AND an ATM!!
If I have to find fault, it would be the toilet doors in public areas that do not lock and the absence of tea-making facilities in the room; my partner in common with many of the British, loves his cuppa on waking and one just before climbing into bed (plus many inbetween!) but that makes my overall score for the Odyssey 99/100!

Room Tip: ALL rooms are excellent - large, beautifully furnished and sea-facing with wide and private balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
91
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Visited the Odyssey 1st week in May when they had just opened for the season and what a great time to visit - no crowds lovely weather and perfect hosts and staff at the hotel. We were made to feel so welcome by Catherine and the staff and they were so helpful and lovely.
The rooms were magnificent - enormous with amazing views to wake up to (by opening the electric curtains!) over the sea and island of Itheka. Decor is very boutique and you can choose your favourite colour scheme for your room - fixtures and fittings throughout the hotel are top quality.
We stayed half board which was great - 5 course dinners every night! Food was lovely - only ate out once but you could swap dinner for lunch if need be.
The island itself it gorgeous - very mountainous roads but worth the drive to Fiskado in the north and Myrtos beach and Anti Samos beach both spectacular! Sami is nothing to write home about but the cave and lake near there are worth a visit at midday for the sun on the lake.
The village is lovely just the right size with a great harbour with sailing boats mooring up - good election of tavernas bars and a couple of shops for anything you need and only 5 mins walk away.
I couldnt recommend his hotel enough and it will certainly be a holiday to remember for the lovely time we had there and many thanks to Catherine and the staff.

Room Tip: Choose your favourite colour themed suite... fabulous! we had brown/gold room 105 it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

To be honest, I delayed to write this review because I wanted to be sure that we have 2 rooms for 2 weeks available in July in this amazing hotel.... I received booking confirmation, so ....I'm writing. Odyssey Hotel definitely worth more than 4 star classification, especially in Greece where most of the hotels are overrated (and this is better than most 5 stars hotels I've stayed in). The rooms are really big and very stylish decorated in different colors and themes, with a lot of attention for details. The 2 bed are also big (each of that is enough for two normal people, aprox. 140 x 210 cm) and so comfortable. Bathroom is marble plated and has very good quality fittings (power shower works great with a lot of pressure). But the MOST IMPORTANT is this: all the rooms have SPECTACULAR SEA VIEW over Agia Efimia bay and Ithaca island, placed in the east. Due to this position, sunrise is astonishing when seen from room balcony. Hotel has a central air condition system which works perfect, without blowing and disturbing noise.
About the pool, all I can tell about is it is wonderful and spotless, but we never swim in it because Kefalonia has so many amassing things to see and try, even we already spent 4 weeks in this island (probably, most beautiful island of Europe).
The breakfast was O.K., but could be better in diversity, or it is possible to be my guilt because I was just 3 times and at (or after) the finish time :).
About the restaurant: I cannot speak about the taste of the courses included in HB or All incl accommodation, but looks great. Instead, I can tell you we have eaten in 6 evenings (on the pool area, overlooking the sea) and food was really great, traditional Greek cuisine and some fusion, but with better taste and aspect comparing with all bay taverns; very peacefully and romantic moments with my wife and my daughter: excellent service.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpfully (special thanks for Catherine).
I don't know why Odyssey Hotel is rated with 4 stars instead of 5 stars (probably because it is new and the gym room is not a big and complete one - who cares :)), but I am pleased with this because for us, customers, it is a great deal to pay 140 E / room / night B&B in high season. I hope hotel management will maintains quality and prices over the years.
There are lots of things to be said about Kefalonia, Agia Efimia, but......time is over.:)
I'll share you photos soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms have incredible sea view, but maybe you prefer a specific color, as we do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a wonderful, relaxing week at the Odyssey. Katerina and her brother Gerasimos are perfect hosts at this treasure of a family owned hotel which combines the best of Greek hospitality with high spec contemporary style. We had a very comfortable, spacious room with king size bed, efficient air conditioning and well appointed ensuite. All rooms have balconies with stunning views over the bay. The pool area is modern and clean, great for relaxing on loungers by day, enjoying a well deserved sundowner. Our package included dinner, which was delicious and the varied menu felt like we sampled authentic Greek cuisine, a refreshing change from the usual taverna style offerings. Katerina is on hand to help with local information, hire cars etc and the staff are very helpful and welcoming. The hotel is a short stroll from the harbour where we hired a small boat and explored the coastline, visiting tiny beaches only accessible by sea. Can't wait for our next escape to the Odyssey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I found this beautiful hotel by chance this past June-July 2012. The room with its king size bed and spectacular views of the sunsets was simply perfect. Katerina our hostess and owner of the hotel along with her family was so helpful when it came to familiarizing us the area. We quickly felt at home in this wonderful town. A huge selection of restaurants are well within walking distance, which are all enhanced by a magnificent view of the ocean and port to sailboats.We went out everyday to explore this gorgeous island full of beaches, churches, ports and pristine waters, and to return to comfort of our room. Katerina, I truly hope to return to your beautiful hotel and breath-taking island. My boyfriend who is from Greece has declared our vacation here hands down ,the best time he's had while visiting Greece. Agia Efimia and the Odyssey hotel belong together.... they were postcard perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Odyssey for a week in mid-October, just before the 'summer village' of Agia Efimia pretty much closes for the winter - indeed, on our first night we were the only guests! Our room was very comfortable and a very good size, with a furnished balcony overloking the sea, jacuzzi bath/power shower etc. It's quite a trendy and recently-built, high-tech place, with electrically-operated curtains and a fibre optic light show across the front of the hotel at night. If you have walking difficulties then it's worth noting that the hotel is at the top of a steepish drive, though it's only forty yards from the tree-shaded seafront path which runs the whole length of Efimia and a few minutes level walk to tavernas and shops. The pool area is very pleasant, even if some the umbrellas don't seem to actually provide shade from the sun, and there is a modern lounge with great sea views.
All the staff, particularly the two Katrinas, were lovely and couldn't have been more smiley and helpful. As it was late season, the usual buffet breakfast was replaced by Katrina's personal provision of fresh coffee, yogurt, fruit, toast etc. We could have had cooked food too if we'd wanted it.
In late season the roads are pretty quiet so a car would be easy and useful - all organised trips and ferries have finished and there isn't really a bus you can catch. As we prefer not to drive, we negotiated deals with local taxis [there's a little rank by the village square], and found this as cheap as hiring a car. We didn't have to negotiate the hairpin bends either! Kosmas who speaks good English took us to Assos for the day for 40 euros, and did a trip to the Drogorati cave and to Mellisani Lake [well worth a visit] for 35. A one-way trip to Sami was 12 euros and there are lots of taxis in Sami too. Assos is a must, being a jewel of a place with excellent tavernas and a wonderfully peaceful bay beneath the old citadel [well worth the mile walk up to the top, which is now manageable because the hundreds of steps have been replaced by a wide, curving and fairly gentle walkway. The views are great all the way up and from the top the view is simply unforgettable.
We came to Efimia after a week in Fiscardo, which we preferred because of the Venetian bulidngs and the intimacy of the harbour with its [more expensive] tavernas right at the water's edge. Efimia is nevertheless a pretty and welcoming place but with a more linear layout, and quite a large, open harbour. The many tavernas are mostly in a long line separated from the sea by the road [which is pretty quiet in late season]. Efimia has a couple of lovely little shingle bays ideal for swimming, but no beaches as such. There are plenty of mini-markets, two bakeries, a pharmacy, bank, nice cafes and little shops.
We can't comment on Efimia in high season as we didn't go then, but we'd consider very carefully before returning in October when the weather can be rainy. As it happened, we were very lucky - it rained the night before we left and was sunny and warm the rest of the time. If we did come back, though, we'd be more than happy to stay at the Odyssey, which is a very very good hotel.

Room Tip: They all seem to have fine seaviews, but some are decorated in quite strong colours which may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just back from a magical stay at this wonderful hotel. So good to see the hight standards are still maintained and the staff and management as delightful and professional as ever. This is a gem of a place in one of the most wonderful settings on the island. There are few words than sum up the magic and the great time we had. Catherine, you make a great cocktail and I look forward to tasting new ones in 2013!

Room Tip: Just ask! There are 20 lovley rooms to choose from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Odyssey Hotel Kefalonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odyssey Hotel Kefalonia

Address: Agia Efimia, Agia Efimia 28081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Agia Efimia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Agia Efimia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Journey…Discover Your Destination…The ODYSSEY Hotel in Aghia Efimia is a secretive haven in a stunning location with unrivaled views. Inspired by Ulysses’ adventures, ODYSSEY themed hotel is a luxurious and stylist destination, that goes beyond expectations. Located on the serene bay of Aghia Efimia, opposite to Mythical island of Ithaca and just 9 Km away from Sami’s ferry-boat port, ODYSSEY Hotel could be the most fascinated discovery of your journey.Enjoy True Hospitality…Surrender to ODYSSEY superior junior suites. Every suite here is different, following the theme of Homer’s ODYSSEY. Charming elegance meets state-of-the-art facilities. The passionate spirit of Ulysses lives on. Customized with sumptuous fabrics, plush sensual carpeting, original artwork, hydro massage shower or Jacuzzi bath tab, each guest room also incorporates the latest modern enhancements such as flat screen SAT televisions (1000 channels) and High Speed Internet Access. Enjoy the pleasures provided by the most luxurious hotel suites in Kefalonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Odyssey Hotel Kefalonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odyssey Hotel Kefalonia Agia Efimia, Ionian Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Odyssey Hotel Kefalonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.