We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think we would return..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodos Star Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rodos Star Hotel to your Saves list
Rodos Star Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindos Rhodes, Afandou 85103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
chepstow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't think we would return..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Stayed at the Rodos Star Hotel in July this year, thought we had booked a good deal until we arrived. The air conditioning is an extra 7 euros a day and the all inclusive bar closes at 11pm so any drinks after that is charged for..A major issue is that you have to take your empty glass back to the bar before you get another drink on all inclusive which i thought was strange as all the guests there are on the all inclusive tarriff. To use the internet it will cost you 4.50 euros for half an hour which we thought was expensive. The food is very much the same every day. On the plus side the Hotel is very quiet so nice to relax and unwind, no evening entertainment, and the pool was very clean too.The owners sister on reception is very helpfull so is David at the pool bar. What made the holiday for us was the lovely people we met there, hi Tony and Jane, Sue, Brian and Betty and Chris and Sue, thanks for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    188
    79
    34
    28
See reviews for
172
261
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Well, what can I say. I loved my stay here and was really gutted to come home.

The staff were fantastic and could not do enough for you, even though they were going through their own problems. David on the pool bar was an absolute star and we couldn't wait for him to join us for a drink one evening. Moska and her brother were great. Sam and Vasilly (head bar man and receptionist) were ok, they were distracted at times, but always put you first.

The place was spotless, when we went for breakfast each morning, the clesners were hard at their job. I am not a fan of breakfasts in England, so wasn't a breakfast fan on holiday, but that was me, not the choice. Lunch and Dinner there was something for everyone and it was very nice, it was the English guests that spoiled things by being impatient.

Ok the hill to the hotel was steep and I couldn't manage it, however, I did not begrudge paying a taxi driver to the top. I absolutely loved this place and think that anyone who slated it must have stayed somewhere else or are just born complainers!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

This hotel has had some shocking reviews in the past but now those comments do not apply.

The hotel is now run by the Spanos family, Anastastios and his sister Elenia and their young families.

The hotel is spotlessly clean with bed linen and towels changed daily (the five star hotel that we stayed in last year in Egypt did not do that!).

The the entire hotel has been refurbished by the new owners and in some ways, deserves better than its Three Star grading. The only disappointment was the food, which was always prepared perfectly but tended to be much the same most of the time and could have limited opportunity for those of the beans on toast mentality. If that is what you seek there are plenty of hotels that will provide that.

Nothing was two much trouble for the owners and staff including Sami and David the barmen and Fernandez the night manager.

One point to be aware of is that the hotel is at the top of a very challenging hill but taxi's are only 5 Euros.

The bonus of the elevated position is the stunning views along the coast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anglesey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

A group of nine of us stayed at the rodos star for 1 week starting 17/06/09.

location:-
On top of a hill overlooking Afandou and the coast, the hill is steep but can be a nice walk. As we are young we wanted the nightlife of Falaraki which is a 10 min taxi ride away and will cost you about 10 euro. nightlife of falaraki is good but not as good as places such as aiya napa, laganas etc. we noticed lots of place's closed down or for example a 3 floor club with only 1 floor open. Afandou is fantastic, its a lot more traditional , the resturants there are great and very cheap for nine of us with 3 courses and drinks costing less than 20 euro each.

Rooms:
rooms are ok , aircon is a defo, not many power points but clean , spacious and you get a bath tub. balcony is huge. POOL VERY DIRTY one day we witnessed only one side of it cleaned, next day over powering smell of chlorine.

Food:
standard greek all inclusive. although was focused on traditional greek food. meals were good esp at lunch. be aware no snacks are served. mr wippy ice cream avaialable free 10 am

Drinks:
all inc drinks fine, they did the trick, option to buy premium brands is there and also a supermarket is on site.

Staff:
staff are great , sam in main bar is great, david in the pool bar is on hotel managment training from poland , he is good at his job and nothing is to much. anna and sabrina from poland also do a great job. This then leads to our only problem the manager Tasos and his son. Tasos is a local mp in rhodes and trys to run his hotel like a election hall. asking where people are going when they leave hotel, demanding people to sit and wait while waiting at buffet, at night he will patrol the bar, after coming up to us one night he was asking girls in our party how many times a week they have sex, he talks to people like there dirt, i have never seen anything like this. his son is arrogant and rude on the flip side tho the managers sister is lovely and goes out of her way to assist

overall:
hotel is in great location , service is ok, a typical 3 star, the issue with the manager ruined it for us, esp bein called a bullshiter infront of other guests. made up by quality of other staff tho. still go to this hotel just bear in mind our comments

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Myself and my husband have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Rodos Star hotel. We had an absolutely fabulous holiday. The management and staff were all wonderful, polite, and went out of their way to make our holiday a special one. We found the room to be clean and adequate With it been the start of the holiday season, there were only two other couples staying there but as we went for a relaxing time this did not bother us in any way. The food was very nice and always a varied choice as was the drinks selection. Overall, this was the best holiday we have had abroad so far and would definitely return hopefully soon and would recommend it to anybody who wants a peaceful relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

My wife and myself have just spent a week at The Rodos Star and we had a lovely week. All the staff were very friendly and helpfull. The young lady on Reception was very friendly and helpfull, if we needed any information she would do her upmost to help us. David, the lad from Poland, who works the Pool Bar and helps out wherever he can was a lovely guy and very friendly.The food was good. We only saw about 4 Cockroaches, and they were all outside the building. Admitedly there was only 2 problems, the hill (Cardiac Hill) as it is known. I am disabled and I could not manage to walk up it. There was no entertainment, as the season has not properly started yet, so there was only us and 2 other couples. We thought the views from the hotel were fantastic. Thankyou to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

I stayed in Rodaos Star with my mum and a year old daughter.Hotel location is on a quite high hill and we had problem to reach the place with the pushchair-Hotel not for people with young children.Distance to the beach 30min of good walk not 15 min as I was told,beach dirty and unattended!The closest beach is Faliraki beach-takes 10min by cab £10,don't count on buses they come late or are very crowded.Rooms are very basic,rooms on the first floor are more spacious and modern then on the ground floor.Staff was very busy and not very helpfull,except two Russian girls trying their best.
Food was very simple and you had to que to get it or eat whatever was left!Drinks were of a very poor quality(spirits,soft drinks and juices),coke was a similar taste as cheap supermarket cola,juices meant squash and water,awful!They have advertised coffee and cookie time on their board by the restaurant main entarance when I asked they didn't know what I am talking about so I gave up.Maids were nice,but they were not very helpful,after couple of days I asked them only to change towels and take the rubbish.I would never come back,Faliraki is a better choice specially for families and older people.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodos Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Star Hotel

Address: Lindos Rhodes, Afandou 85103, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
#5 Family Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Rodos Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Star Afandou
Hotel Rodos Star
Rodos Star Hotel Afandou, Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodos Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.