We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Days Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Days Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Days Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pernou Str., Afandou 85103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Afandou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

myself and my family and friends went to afandou last summer for a week, we stayed in the golden days and were made feel so welcome! There is such a family feel to this hotel and it is beautiful. This hotel deserves 5 stars in my own personal opinion as yamos, maria and george couldnt have been better hosts if they tried! There was always something fun to do from the greek night, to the bingo night and also to the karaoke night(my favorite one) - It was just great!! For shopping I would reccomend Faliraki which is just 10 minutes away in a taxi, or even better- Rhodes town! which is about half an hour away but is just so beautiful and traditionally greek with the gorgeous old, medieval town and the more modern new town, there is something for everyone! Faliraki beach is also by far the nicest beach I have ever been to in my life and I've been to about 17 different countries! Go to rhodes (particularly afandou-golden days!) - You wont regret it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    41
    14
    12
    10
See reviews for
68
115
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was quite upset to read the rant against the Golden Days as my friend and I had a lovely holiday there in September. Even though we had asked for a quiet first floor room our holiday organiser had requested a ground floor poolside room. As soon as we mentioned this to Maria she very quickly sorted out a first floor room at the back with no problems. It is a two star hotel but was clean and Maria, yianni and Yiorgos were 5 star people. Nothing was too much trouble for them and even though working very long hours they were always helpful and friendly. There was a real family atmosphere and many of the quests had been going for years.On our last evening we were hugged and kissed goodbye and it felt like we were leaving family behind and that is much more important than a missing sink plug!
So thank you to everyone at Golden Days and please don't let one person get you down.
Dot

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter with a view over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

this place is just awful beyond beliefe it needs lifting into the 20th century. the rooms are just dropping to bits. sinks falling off walls. no sink plugs. fridges with no no handles on. if you ask for a sink plug you get shouted at. the owner needs to sell his audi tt and put the money into repairing the rooms. TRULY AWFULL!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIANNIS - MARIA T, Owner at Golden Days Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Terry D,

Since this place is awfull why you told us you had an amazing time here??????
Since this place is awfull and you had so many problems why you didn't ask from your tour operator to change you in a 5 star hotel?????
Couse as we read what you wrote in your mind oviesly Golden Days Hotel is a 5 star hotel.

Dear Terry D Golden Days Hotel is a 2 star hotel and this the hotel you paid for.
A cheap and clean hotel with a family atmosphere.

Now as about the things you wrote....you were checked in a room at the back and as you told us you didn't like to see the trees couse it is like a jungle for you although many people prefer the rooms at the back couse they love the view.
Anyway we had a departure that day and we saw you the room and you said this room is amazing and you changed rooms.

The afternoon of the same day you changed room and you said that this oom was amazing you come at the bar with a very aggresive and not polite way and said to yiannis come in my room.

So yiannis didn't say anything just followed you in the room.
And then you start being very rude to yiannis telling him what is this and what is that.
You have to know dear Terry D , that when you saw the room in order to change and you said it was amazing nothing was wrong with it and sudenly all the things in there were broken??????

So yiannis haven't said anything to you and after you went out he went into the room and fix everything as you said and he put also a sink plug which you never ask from us.
But you have to know dear Terry D, that all these things you say they were broken earlier that day didn't exist and between 3 hours time everything were broken.....??????

Now as about the audi TT, since you have such a big complex with Yiannis couse he owns it, next time you come to rhodes, book first a 5 star hotel to stay and then come in Golden Days for a visit and yiannis will give you the audi TT for a drive.

Golden Days Audi TT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just back from our second holiday here this year. As usual we had a great holiday thanks to Yiannis, Maria, George and all the staff. It feels like going home when we arrive and are welcomed by them. The number of visitors who return year after year after year just proves what a wonderful hotel it is. It is only a very basic typical Greek hotel but is so clean and has all you could want for a wonderful holiday. We will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

me and my wife stayed at golden days hotel in june and september we would like to thank yanni, maria and george for making us feel very welcome and the whole atmosphere in the hotel with all the other guests was second to none.great entertainment, quality food we will definetely be going back next june and september.look forward to seeing you all again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel may only be 2 star on paper, but in reality it is far higher. Yianni, Maria, and George put a great amount of effort into the daily running of the hotel.
The cleanliness is amazing, the food is good, and the bar is value.
There is a some organised entertainment, but if you don't want to be involved then that is ok too.
The village has many good restaurants and bars, and if you want to walk 20 mins it has a beach that is empty every day but Sunday.
All in all, a great hotel, in a good location

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned from Rhodes were we stayed at the Golden Days hotel, in Afandou. As always our hosts, Yianni, Maria and George were diligently providing first class service and friendly hospitality.
This is a hotel that definitely makes you feel at home and part of the family, relatively small and intimate. That cosy feeling but don't worry though, there is plenty of space to enjoy your own company or just join in with all the other guests who invariably always seem to be a great bunch of people, I suppose a case of great minds think alike.
A bigger menu this year and the best English breakfast in the whole village, probably in Greece.
Thanks Maria, Yianni and George for another wonderful stay. See you next year.
Les & Wendy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Days Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Days Hotel

Address: Pernou Str., Afandou 85103, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Afandou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Days Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Golden Days Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Days
Golden Days Afandou
Golden Days Hotel Afandou, Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Days Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.