We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul and Jo had a fantastic time here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iris Hotel

Save Saved
You added Iris Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iris Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindos Avenue, Afandou 85103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Afandou
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paul and Jo had a fantastic time here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wow! From the moment we arrived we were treated to first class service at this lovely hotel! we had been to afandou twice before and wish we had discovered this place before, fantastic breezy location, amazing view, fantastically clean inside and out, great food, but the very best bit, incredible service from each and every staff member, they could not have been friendlier, more helpful or more genuine, we definately will be returning thank you all

Room Tip: the sea view was worth the small extra charge, we were on the top floor (3) fantastic view and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    72
    29
    15
    22
See reviews for
59
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Just back from iris hotel, absolutely fabulous, the first few days I end up being quiet ill, hight temperature, shaking and feeling very cold and had bad tummy too at night one of the staff came to check on me, she took my temperature give me a massage with something and keep me hydrated couple of hours later I got up and start walking around. A massive thank you for helping and caring for me and a big cuddles for you thanks.

FOOD: I do not eat pork so I had issue with pork being in salad and veg and there was lots of pork all time that start getting me upset as I was limited to choices and my kids was not eating, so I approached George and Isabelle and explain about my food issue and am glad to say that it was sorted the very same day and I was please and happy. ANYONE WITH ANY PARTICULAR DIET REQUIEMENT PLEASE LET THE OWNER KNOW ONCES YOU CHECK IN. WEATHER YOU A VEGETARIAN OR NON CERTAIN MEAT EATER PLEASE LET OWNER KNOW AS THEY WONT KNOW UNLESS THEY ARE TOLD AND THEY WOULD DO ANTHING TO PLEASE YOU. BIG THANKS GEORGE AND ISABELLE XXX

BEACHES: Those with kids, especially small children please do not go to afando beach its horrible and it will make your feet very sore and lots of pebbles at beach and its quiet deap for wee one so dont loose your tine there.
Going in the north the beaches are same so I would advice to go strait to agathi its after stegna and before haraki, its amazing but you need to drive there, its one of the most beautifull beach I ever seen and the sand is beautifull but when get there do not go to the right go park the first shop and around the middle best place also wifi can be purchace at a very very resonable price it was a pleasently nice surprise but was too late for me as it was our last day at the beach as car go back same night.

POOL: it got clean every night. Because it was busy time when we were there I personally notice that everyone put there towel to save bed, I must say some people took the piss they keep there towel on and dont come back till AFTER LUNCH AND SHAME OF YOUS WHO DID IT. I personally wait till about 10.30am when they not down yet I took them off and settle myself and family as my kids play at the pool a lot. So dont you be shy taking towel off but be nice about it fold it nicely and put on table.

A car is a must as it can get expensive when taking tours, well some are definetely worth it. may I suggest get to the village for the car. We pay €25 per day and its great x

The hotel have now get wifi but I must admit its no good deal, may I suggest george to try work out better deal please as wihi is very important x

During my stay I found the hotel very comfortable and felt hormy, also there was a multinational people most from Swedish but mix race and I found it very interesting to be mix up again, it make me go back in time for when I was at school as I come from Mauritius and Mauritius is a multinational island so I was very please and everyone was nice xx

I will definetely go back and recommend IRIS TO YOU ALL.

I ALSO NOTICE PEOPLE COMPLAIN ABOUT THE FOOD TIMETABLE WELL I THINK IT'S GREAT AS ITS VERY WELL ORGANISE AND CONTROL SO NO WASTING.
ROOM ALWAYS CLEAN AND BEDDING AND TOWEL GET CHANGE OFFEN.

OVERALL I WOULD SAY I HAD A LOVELY STAY BIG CUDDLES AND KISSES TO YOU ALL WHO MADE OUR STAY FANTASTIC FROM OWNER TO CLEANER AND CHEF, BAR MAN, KEEPER EVEN THE DOG XXXX WISH YOU ALL THE BEST IN FUTURE XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Lorraine and I flew out on Wednesday July 3rd to surprise our daughter and her boyfriend, our fourth time ,my daughters third.
We arrived about 10.30pm , given a very warm greeting by George and Isobel , and very welcome cold drinks, it was very hot.
Within a few minutes our room was ready , the air con already on ......quick change and down to the village to greet our friends in the Acapulco bar.
A couple of hours later we were back in time to surprise Emma and Andy who , like us arrived by taxi to avoid the hill climb,
They were pleased to see their room was ready and the air con had been running a good few hours.
Next morning saw a great breakfast and friendly greetings from George his sis the ever hardworking Poppy, and Isobel.

The hotel was full no spare rooms ,,,,,very mixed couples and families , we heard no complaints about anything all week, and we four had none at all.
George Isobel Poppy and the other staff are all hard working very customer driven, and will always do their best to give top service.

We always hire a jeep, so we are not in the hotel 24/7 Rhodes is for exploring, and anyone using this Hotel should read about it BEFORE whinging on and writing unkind things .
No WI FI NO KIDS CLUB NO 24/7 DRINKING, NO ENTERTAINMENT.......just a fantastic place to base yourselves , good food, fab pool, nice breeze, stunning views, and very inexpensive,

We also note one miss informed writer is dead wrong about the safe boxes.....the money was NOT Missing, it was my daughters , and had slipped down the back of the drawer , as she had not fully closed the pouch it was in, so there was not a problem at all, just a very worried George , who was upset to see Emma in distress,....but a happy ending to that .
The same writer should go to specsavers as the comments on the pool and pool area are NOT correct.
The hotel was full , so the pool and pool area was very very busy, with our European visitors some of whome have no manners leaving empty plastic cups , spilt drinks, and other rubbish all over place.......ALL of this was made very clean very quickly by the tireless dedicated staff,

Don't know how many times I write the same things , some people only go on holiday to complain , so please new readers , do not be guided by these narrow minded people,
Read all my reviews, read how many go back to this hotel year after year,,,,,,,are we all wrong ?
don't think so
Support Greece, in particular Afandou village , thanks to Daniel of Daniels restaurant for two fab meals , and to George at MIMIES excellent chicken , best in Rhodes, and to all at the Acapulco bar ......George and Isobel who have given us 4 trouble free holidays over the last 3 years .
Look forward to going back for my birthday this October.....cant wait.
Love to all see you soon.

Room Tip: any on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Disappointing stay at Iris Hotel, Afandou. Lower standard than advertised, no wifi available. Hotel got multiple complaints regarding this. Manager at hotel made guests fele extremely uncomfortable and at unease. Straff at hotel was clearly uncomfortable. Dirty poolarea and water was in need of cleaning. We observered other guests complain than belongings (money) was missing from the safety boxes. There was shortage of food at the buffets...empty trays after 1st serving.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We checked into this hotel August 2012 and had two great weeks here. The staff are great, nice quiet hotel that's away from any head banging music places. Food was good and couldn't fault it. My partner and I have been deciding all week where to go on holiday for Next month and both agreed that we had a great time here and found the hotel really accessible to beaches, things to do, the town and shops. Looking forward to checking in on the 21st Aug 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Well, just returned from a fabulous week staying at the Iris hotel Afandou, it's been nearly three years since we last visited this great hotel and it just gets better, the hotel sits on the side of a hill so the breeze when it's there is very welcome this time of year ,the hotel is kept in pristine condition with the gardens looked after daily , the all inc menu has been greatly improved and even though we are vegetarians we had lots of food to chose from, Isabel and George work very hard to care for the guests no mean feat considering the hotel was full when we were there, there was a nice mix of guests families and couples enjoying the fantastic pool again immaculately clean
A totally relaxing week and we most certainly will be back, this hotel is becoming a big success story and I can't recommend it enough

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just got back from our second stay at the Iris and improvements have definitely been made since last year!
The hotel is beautifully clean and well maintained and George, Isabelle and all the staff work hard. Rooms cleaned daily and bedding and towels changed regularly.
Meals are cooked freshly and if you want 5-star then you will be disappointed but the food / drinks were adequate for our needs - we have no complaints.
Afandou village is a 10 minute walk away and the bars / locals are so friendly and make you feel part of the family. A little oasis on a beautiful island!
If you want a small family friendly run hotel then we recommend the Iris - we're already looking forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Hotel

Address: Lindos Avenue, Afandou 85103, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Afandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Afandou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Iris Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Afandou, Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.