We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Burg Wernberg

Hotel Burg Wernberg
Schlossberg 10, 92533 Wernberg, Bavaria, Germany
+ 49 (0)9604 939 0
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Wernberg
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We recently stayed at the castle while visting Germany from Australia. We originally intended to stay one night, on our way to Munich. However, we had such a wonderful time that we stayed a second night.
The restaurant, Kastell, is particularly memorable. It was easily the best restaurant we tried in Germany. The food, the presentation and the service were all first class.
We will definitely visit again!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgWernberg, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you so much for your extra ordinary positive comment.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at the castle.
By the way, Thomas Kellermann is now awarded with the second Michelin Star.
Best regards
Ralf Leidner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    1
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We visited Burg Wernberg in May 2011 with 2 friends whilst we were visiting Europe from Hong Kong and the US. During our trip we ate at a number of highly rated restaurants in Europe. However, the Kastell was the best of them. The food was exceptional and the presentation just as good. We each ordered the special menu and each course was better than the previous one.
The staff was very attentive and friendly and we had a wonderful dinner.
The setting (in a tastefully restored castle) only added to the memorable experience.
It is a "must do" if you happen to be in this area. We will go out of our way to visit it again.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgW, Manager at Hotel Burg Wernberg, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Burg Wernberg and for your warm feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you could enjoy every moment of your stay.

Furthermore, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments.
Your kind words are showing us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay in Wernberg-Koeblitz.

Dear Guest, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Hotel Burg Wernberg soon and remain in the meantime, with every good wish




Sven von Jagemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had a wedding package...breakfast buffet both mornings, dinner at the Wintergarden the first night (4 courses) and at Kastel the second night (12 courses). It was incredible...the best food we had ever eaten...cannot wait to go back for our anniversary!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Burg Wernberg also viewed

Wernberg, Upper Palatinate
Nittenau, Upper Palatinate
 
Wernberg, Upper Palatinate
Grafenwohr, Upper Palatinate
 

Been to Hotel Burg Wernberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Burg Wernberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.