We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful anniversary meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon
09500 Camon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Camon
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful anniversary meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had the most beautiful anniversary meal at L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon. Thought it may have been one of those hushed dining experiences where you only hear the cutlery touching down on the plate -not at all! It was the perfect combination - elegant surroundings, charming hosts and delicious food with the sound of chatter diners.

Katie & Peter shouldn't change a thing.

Thank you for a memorable anniversary

Room Tip: Didn't stay at L'Abbeye -only dined. The set menu was worth every cent- a real treat. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Six years ago my fiance and I discovered this wonderful Chateau indirectly because I read a novel called Labyrinth by Kate Mosse set in the Langue D'Oc region. We we charmed by the history, the views and the peace of the place and the unassuming friendly service of the hosts Peter & Katie and their staff. Five years ago we had our magical wedding and reception there so we went back with a few of our friends to celebrate our 5th anniversary and remind ourselves how amazing the Chateau really is.
Don't expect to sign for meals or drinks or have a phone in your room this is not a formal hotel it is like staying at your favourite relatives where you are made to feel right at home. The exception being the amazing food produced by chef Tom Sleigh. The new style 5 course tasting menu is a delight and worthy of Michelin recommendation; no dietary requirement is too much trouble. we were a party of 7 with 4 different likes & dislikes!
Pater & Katie work their socks off to make sure you feel cosseted but not swamped. Drinks are very reasonable and the wine list divine. They will point you in the direction of the local vineyard suppliers (if you fancy a wine tour).
Camon is very small but the nearest town of Mirepoix is only 15 minutes away with plenty of bars and restaurants if you fancy something different. If you just want to chill then laze by the pool in the lush gardens and ask for the odd beer or too. You are steeped in Cathar history so if you can take a few drives around and see such wonders as Montsegur or the mountain passes then I would do so.
We are now planning our next visit for the end of the summer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual and yes you have to go up the medieval rotunda staircase but this adds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I returned from my stay at the chateau yesterday - my second stay (previous stay 5 years ago) and it was absolutely stunning. Again. The lovely Katie and Peter could not have been more welcoming, friendly or accommodating. Tom's tasting menu was fantastic - and we had a mix of vegetarians, non met eaters and non fish eaters and we were all catered for. Katie and Peter go above and beyond in every way - from loaning me a pair of shoes to visit the local caves to some highly amusing practical jokes.. (Peter of course!). An amazing weekend. Great food, great place, great people.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We only stayed for one night but loved the mix of style, informality and homeliness. You feel as if you are staying in something of historical importance but that is also a home. They haven't wiped away all the idiosyncrasies for the sake of comfort and that adds to the charm of the place. The food in the evening was outstanding. If I could add one thing it would be a second breakfast option of a croissant and a coffee for a cheaper price - it's all we needed after such a sumptuous feast the evening before.

Camon itself is small, pretty and well placed from which to explore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Sept 24-26, 2013

After a thrilling visit to the Grotte Niaux and a tour of Mirepoix, we found our way here in a remote region of Ariege and in the village of Camon. Katie and Peter Lawton has taken on the ambitious task of renovating an ancient abbey into a upscale hotel. Much of the abbey still remains to be restored, but the hotel part appears very authentic and leaves enough to the imagination of the 12th c Order still walking the wide corridors while we are asleep.
A big problem, here more than other hotels, is the lack of a lift. The twisting stone staircase is tricky to negotiate with the dim lighting (if you remember to turn it on). The steps are pie-slice shaped and cannot be taken casually. You should ask for the lower floor rooms.
Besides the dim lighting, there are few other significant niggles. My wife found a used Q-tip in the corner under the shower curtain next to the wall. Though gone the next day, a thorough housekeeper would not allow this to happen. Another important failing was the extremely poor water pressure through the shower head. The water just dribbled over the face of the shower head. I had to hold the handle of the head and let whatever water fall on me. I had two terrible showers. One other thing was a desk lamp light that would go on and off inexplicably.
On the positives, the room was very large with a large comfortable bed. The dinner at the hotel was like eating in a medieval castle room with a huge fireplace and a stuffed boar's head. The 5-course dinner at 42€ was tasty and very satisfying. We did not try the 18€ breakfast.
The village of Camon is tiny with only a sundry shop selling coffee, pastries, and groceries. No other shop seemed open except for the home of a very kind and hospitable couple, Paul and Cassandra Einstein. Within their house, she runs an artist studio and gallery.
This was an experience ones needs to try once in a lifetime.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We got married at the Chateau this Summer and we couldn't have asked for more. What an amazing venue....the location, atmosphere,food and wine were simply magnificant. There is a wonderful balance of french style aswell as having all the mod cons a bride needs on her big day. Everyone had a wonderful three days taking in all the area has to offer. In one word... fairytale!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally beautiful and the attention to detail is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heartsease Sloe Lane, Alfriston , Polegate - E. Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have been dining here for at least five years, and have always been delighted. The setting overlooks one of the "most beautiful villages in France", in an unspoilt countryside. It is an ancient abbey inside a castle, which has retained its sense of history. The current owners, Katie & Peter Lawton, have succeeded in creating an elegantly stylish décor perfectly attuned to its ancestry. Their welcome is warm and friendly - nothing is too much trouble, either for them or their staff. Before dinner, you'll sip an aperitif on the blossom-laden terrace, with its stunning view of the garden with all its trees and a swimming pool and the roofs of the village below forming a backdrop to the chateau. Tom the chef offers a fixed menu each evening from his constantly changing range of signature dishes - these are of mouthwatering quality and full of interest. The tables have been set up in the former abbey cloisters, sheltered but with a lawned courtyard open to the sky. Watching the twilight arrive and the odd hoot of a barn owl add to the ambience. We have not been residents in the chateau itself although we have visited the rooms on the first floor, decorated in traditional French style reminiscent of the C17th. Several of our friends make an annual pilgrimage here in search of tranquillity. The chateau is an excellent base for exploring the Ariege with its Cathar castles, as well as the foothills of the Pyrenees. It is also a stunning venue for weddings as clients have already discovered. This is a place which is remarkably different from brand chains. Our only concern is that such a positive review will make it more difficult to find a reservation there for ourselves in the future.

Definitely a destination not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon

Address: 09500 Camon, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Ariege > Camon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Camon
Also Known As:
l`Abbaye Chateau De Camon Hotel Camon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon to your Saves list