We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon

L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon
3 Place Philippe deLevis, 09500 Camon, France
00 33 (0)5 61 60 31 23
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Camon
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

One of the best dinners ever. Its a must. The setting is just amazing. Drinks on the terrace overlooking the village followed by dinner in the grounds of the Abbaye with ruins in the background, clever lighting and a beautiful table layout. The food is really excellent, the hosts are so engaging and the service amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I ate here with my sisters and brother in law. The setting is like a fairy tale castle. Beautiful village, lovely gardens to sit and enjoy an aperitif, courtyard dining... And the menu is beautiful. The chef uses local produce, he is obviously dedicated to produce the best tasting food possible. The menu would please everyone, and with notice he adapted it beautifully to cater for two none meat eaters. The accommodation also looks wonderful. I would recommend you try to get to eat here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Outstanding cuisine and dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I ate here recently and had an outstanding dining experience. The Chateau is in a picture postcard village in the rolling hills that lead to the bas-Pyrennées. The Chateau is on a height, slightly above the village and provide diners with a unique setting that combines a sense of monastic austerity with modern comfort.

We had an aperitif sur terrasse before being asked to dine in the courtyard of the abbaye. The food was sublime. It included a pepper stuffed with warm goats cheese, a shot of gaspacho soup, a beautiful piece of cod with sauce julienne, duck breast and a trio of deserts. With a decanted wine, digestifs, coffee and service the meal was just under €145.

I have paid over €300 for similar meals at home. We will definitely return and may stay the night the next time.

It was a sensational dining experience that is on a par with one Michelin star standards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liss
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stunning place, food, and welcome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Quite exceptional on all counts. Only minor drawback are the 52 steps up to our room.
Theo food really was seriously good. The sea food bisque was the best ever.
Breakfast was the most expensive I've ever had anywhere in the world but the joy of all the fresh food from the squeezed juice to the fresh raspberries almost justified the price.
Well done Peter and Katie you have created something very special.
Chris and June Gordon

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great dinner in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just the approach, through the cute village and up the winding road to the Abbaye leaves no doubt that this will be a special occasion. On entering the building the long reception hall confirms that this restaurant with rooms will not disappoint. 

The lounge area, complete with grand piano, is elegantly appointed and there are plenty of squashy chairs and sofas for a comfortable aperitif in front of the roaring fire. The elegant hostess is eager to please, and, soon after drinks arrive, brings the tasting menu (no other choice was available) and minimalist wine list. On both counts this is not to your disadvantage, the menu was superb and balanced, the wine list not daunting and even the most expensive is affordable.

Passing through to the equally elegant dining room, we notice spring blossom decorates the hotel beautifully. The table is waiting, and although the ambiance is good, the room felt a little draughty
 - it's a shame the door wouldn't stay closed. Bread was more Italian than French but very good, and the first course of goat's cheese stuffed peppers arrived - served warm, excellently balanced by pesto and balsamic reduction around the rim of the plate. Next came a delightful carrot and ginger soup served in a demi-tasse with a salmon omelette quenelle. Our modestly priced, locally sourced Chardonnary has worked very well so far, and continues to do so with the haddock risotto that follows.

We then moved onto another local wine with a great blend of grenache noir and syrah grapes, which perfectly complimented the thick slice of pink duck's breast (perhaps a little more fatty than necessary, but that's easily cut away) and served with lentils and asparagus. We finished our food with a trio of desserts, chocolate brownie, tarte au citron and a crime brûlée that was supposed to be lavender flavoured, and although I couldn't detect it some of my companions apparently could.

Coffee was served at the table to finish of an excellent evening's dinner. The set menu is just €42 and represents amazing value for money, and the wine prices mean its really hard to push up the bill beyond affordable. We look forward to a return before too long!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon also viewed

 

Been to L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Abbaye Chateau De Camon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.