We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Logis du Roy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Les Logis du Roy to your Saves list
Les Logis du Roy
7 Rue de la Porte Bouqueyre, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Saint-Emilion B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had been to St Emilion many years before and knew I wanted to return. It felt like a bit of a crap shoot when I booked this hotel (there are not a lot of choices within the town limits). What a pleasant surprise. The hotel is conveniently located near a main entrance to town so available parking is very close. The rooms were recently redone and were spacious, attractive and comfortable. The town is pretty quiet at night but even so, we could have our windows open and not hear people carousing at neighboring restaturants. I have family living in France and they had recommended a guide who in turn recommended restaurants, etc. We ended up eating at the Logis restaurant the 2nd night and were very happy (better than our guides recommendation). Pierre is a great host and he and my husband smoked cigars and drank wine together at an outside table. He was the right balance of making you feel he was a local friend and was interested and cared about you and your travels without inserting himself into your business. The fresh breakfast delivered outside your bedroom door was also pleasant. Pierre willingly brought ours early the day of our departure. The hotel is not large, 3 (?) rooms, which I found preferable. The restaurant downstairs catered to guests as well as the public. They also have a little wine shop (the first of the 3 businesses) run by his son and is where you check in. We didn't end up visiting it but looked as though he had a fine selection of wines.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was a nice little flat with a small kitchen and washing machine. The apartment is in the old Medieval old town so, parking is a problem. We were here on Sept 4 so I assume this was after tourist season because the business was handled as a distraction rather than something important. We settled our bill the evening before as no one was around in the morning and we did not have any time to spare as were catching a train in Bordeaux at 1330. Cannot say the same for the German couple that was in a panic about how to settle their account.

Getting back to the title of this saga - the bed was so hard my wide and I could not sleep. My wife stacked sofa cushions on the bed in able to sleep. I played games on my mini computer rather than sleep.

The floor has a floor covering of some woven straw rather than carpet. It hurt our feet to walk on it in bare feet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Les Logis du Roy is a little paradise inside a bigger one! Located a couple of minutes walk from the central square in St Emilion, it consists of rooms above a wine shop and tapas-style bar, all owned by the same friendly guy (who also makes some excellent wine). Our room had the best shower I've come across in France and the decor is very chic. There is a fridge in the room containing quality cheese and ham for breakfast and the fresh baguette, croissants and coffee are left on your doorstop in a basket every morning. Bliss.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Wonderful place to stay! Newly renovated with a wonderful host, Pierre. They provide recommendations, wine tastings in their wineshop, nice and fresh breakfast, and good helpers in Clement and Sidney. Pierre helped us tremendously in boxing up our substantial wine purchases (including his wonderful wine). Very friendly and so welcoming! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at this property in May 2013. The unit was comfortable, clean and clearly newly rennovated. However, the unit below us was under major construction. When morning arrived, the smell and fumes from paint/turpentine products completely overwhelmed us and we had to vacate very quickly. My wife actually felt sick and became dizzy as we were rushing to check out. When we mentioned this problem to the owner, he simply shrugged and seemed completely disinterested. I believe this will be a very nice property in the future, but in the current state, they simply should not rent the unit with such toxicity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you are lucky enough to find yourself in St. Emillion, France the place to stay is Les Logis du Roy. The owner, Pierre, has created a wonderful space, at a reasonable price, right in the middle of this charming town. One suggestion to make life easier; do not try to find the hotel by car, as we did. Instead, park in the lot at the south end of town and walk. Find the hotel. Then make arrangements for your luggage. Everything is close.

Room Tip: If the mini-suite is available, book it.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Pierre, entrepreneur/host/owner/operator has made Les Logis a perfect base for exploring the region. Les Logis is centrally located in the lower town. The Jeraboam suite is light, airy, well appointed, and roomy. Bed is excellent, kitchen fully stocked and operable. No elevator, so that may be a limiting factor for some. Foreign language TV. Each morning, basket of croissant, baguette and cheese delivered outside door. Each day refrigerator replenished with eggs, milk, yogurt, juice. We stayed a week and were delighted. Great value in a great region.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Logis du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Logis du Roy

Address: 7 Rue de la Porte Bouqueyre, 33330 Saint-Emilion, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Emilion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Emilion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To the heart of the prestigious vineyard of Bordeaux, come to taste our wines with the barrel and remain in our rooms of host with Saint-Emilion, with the heart of the medieval city, in a building very out of stone of XVIII, 3 suites flat rooms of very great standing which can accomodate each one 4 people all the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Les Logis du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Logis du Roy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.